How I will be Voting/Flagging under the new system - suggestions for others as well!

in #blog8 years ago

So many people have noticed you can now SLIDE to adjust your Voting Power when upvoting Blog Posts and Comments. You can also adjust your Voting Power when flagging a post!

So with these new abilities I had to determine how to properly (and fairly IMHO) use them.

Upvoting Usage/Suggestions

  • Quality Blog Posts will receive between 50 and 100% depending upon:
        a. Frequency of posts by author
        b. How well the content is divided, amount of imagery (if needed), etc.
        c. Whether or not I have previously upvoted posts from this author (new authors get 100% more commonly than authors I have previously upvoted)
  • New Authors I discover that have lots of Quality Content will receive between 1 and 25% on all their Blog Posts. Depending on the frequency and quality of their content.
  • Comments typically get no vote but if they are really good comments or comments on my own posts I give 25-50% depending on quality.
  • Authors who write quality content but never vote on my content get 25% votes from me.

Flagging Usage/Suggestions

  • Blatant Plaigarism (entire post) gets 100% VP Flagged!
  • Quality Posts with lack of Source/References on quotes, imagery, etc. get 50% Flagged and a comment to add references to remove flag.
  • Quality Posts that include a Youtube Video (without source) get 25% Flagged and a comment to add source link for the video.
  • Obvious scams/scammers get 100% Flagged on every post they put up, even if it isn't a scam post. ** Sorry but these low life's really piss me off! **

If I encounter someone who writes consistently Quality Content but I personally do not like them for whatever reason I still give 25-50% VP votes to their posts. My thinking is "personal opinions shouldn't be a factor in determining the merit and worth of Quality Content" especially when Steemit.com is so young and needs to promote the quality content regardless of personal opinion so as to attract a larger pool of new members.

Sort:  

I always put 100% upvote on everybody so do your post too .
Flagging nah I'm not really type of flagging person , unless it's 100% copy pastor .

i don't see any slide? not sure where to look even.. i did hear about the voting changes tho. but still can't see any slide?lool

You have to have 1 Million Vests (300 SP) for the slide to enable.

Thanks for this comment. Guess that excludes me then. Still working hard to get there. :-)

I just read your response to @doitvoluntarily about when the slide thing appears. Thank you. I was looking for that information last night since I'd heard about the sliding scale.

In the time I've been following you, you seem to be quite fair and thoughtful in your posts and comments. I'm glad to know that your belief is on par with mine with regard to merit and personal opinions and flagging etiquette.

I've been trying to recruit new members to Steemit but so many have been burnt by other sites they won't even take a look. It's frustrating.

Helpful advice - thanks. I didn't realize the slider worked for flagging as well. The plagiarized and/or spammy posts, I agree... well-deserving of a 100% flag.

Interesting. Maybe one day i'll see this slide :)

Excellent! A tool to allow people to fine-tune their expression of value!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It takes a while for me to get a feel for how it works, so any help is appreciated

I'm curious about how frequency of posting figures in your approach. Are you selecting for higher volume of posts or against? I ask because I recently tried to up my frequency and quality suffered so I'm backing off that to favor quality. I think that high frequency posting works well with a lower bar for depth, but might not be realistic for those of us who research heavily and try to provide truly original content rather than just an original post about a classic recipe sort of thing. As a newish user, I'm looking for guidance in my own approach. What's a good frequency to aim for?

I am adjusting my voting according to the post above to be able to vote on more Quality Posts. One of the biggest issues I see with steemit is that Quality Content doesn't get recognized. This is largely because people are reserved in their voting.

I love it. Damn my insecurity. :)

@venuspc, now I can see why you commented on my proposal. I belive it is not enough. The important thing, especially in case of downvotes is the reason 'why'. Feedback to the author, a message visible to the community.
These two things should be complementary. Slider does not solve abuses.

For those who missed it, the proposal is here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@radoslaw/your-feedback-matters-downvote-flag-improvement-a-proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50