My sexual Identity - or this box has many labels

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

1544437_10202673346295729_2038219447_n.jpg

In a perfect world my sexuality should not be a problem but as we who live on earth know life on this planet is far from perfect. Most of the struggle is human made but knowing this does not always make it better. In this reality however it seems that my sexuality is everyones problem, which used to be a very sore point for me, but now at the tender age of 49 I cold not care less about. I have been labeled, Bi, sexual deviant, lesbian, whore, pansexual, queer, poser, lost, confused, coward, preditor all in account of my sexuality. What am I really? I guess it depends on the prism you observe me through.

I personally define myself as pan sexual and also fall under the umbrella term Queer. Basically I fall in love with people not genders not labels. I have dated Men, Woman born in their gender and not. My first male love at 3 was my cousin who broke my heart when he liked the neighbours girl better and ultimately broke all girls hearts when he married his husband.

My first female love was a singer on the Queen Elisabeth the second. I was 6 and while I do not remember her name I remember a lot about her, she was slender redhead with porcelain skin who smelled of flowers and baby powder. She was British and lived with her boyfriend, who was the ships mentalist, in a tiny cabin in the employee section of the ship. I first saw her in the first class dining hall she was wearing a gold dress and the song she was singing was “you are the apple of my life”. That song will always be irrevocably connected to her. I followed her like a moth drawn to light and she let me. she was kind to me indulged me I will always cherish how sweet she was to the little somber girl who became her shadow. In parting she gave me a stuffed Octopus I had the thing with me until 2015 where it was destroyed by water damage. I remember writing to her for a while but children are not good in keeping up with people I wonder where she is now and if she knows that I still carry a part of her with me to this day.

One of the great loves of my life was a Drag Queen who Identified as Gay and who I shared with a string of boys and men who he all loved and cherished with his incredibly big heart. He was smart , educated fabulously decadent with very expensive taste that he thankfully was able to afford. He had more cloths, shoes, wigs and makeup in that rooftop apartment then I will ever have in a lifetime. He was nurturing and a fabulous cook, but his best quality was that he was genuinely interested in people and strived to make their lives better; be it with advice, a meal or a exchange of currency (for the fly boys who never had money to make rent). He never expected anything in return but was always more than appreciative for anything he was given, be it material, spiritual or a delicious one night stand. He taught me so much, from how to do makeup to how love should be. He taught me that real love does not possess and he strengthened my belief that jealously has no place in a relationship and that there can be room for more than one person in a happy relationship as well. He refined my sensibilities and fostered my artistic pursuits. He was mentor in so many ways and I owe him more than I can say. This was one of my happiest if not the happiest relationship of my life. It ended when I moved out of country, amicably full of love and with unfulfilled promises as fate decided to take him from this earth to soon making it a tiny bit less sparkly and flamboyant.

1930076_1115407366302_1176953_n.jpg

Coming out to my Mother and through her to my stepfather was brutal. My childhood after the age of 7 was problematic and after the age of 10 was pure hell on rocket fuel. I always say if you have seen the movie mommy dearest you have my childhood and youth in a nutshell, with one difference I got to keep the presents. In fact when it came to the material She could be obscenely generous but this generosity came with a price she expected you to sell your soul and mind to her and I was notoriously bad at that. What possessed me to even tell her I don’t even know or remember anymore my PTSD has erased years of my childhood, some completely some partially, but I do remember the aftermath. The insults the slap in the face, her screaming at me for an hour straight. The first thing she said was that I was not gay, as I she knew I liked boys as well, and that this made me a whore who just wanted to fuck whatever came around. The insults and badgering went on for years, she would berate me about it when she was in a bad mood. Once in the car on a trip to our winter chalet for 8 hours almost non stop! There was no escaping it, although I did think of jumping out of the driving car never mind that we were racing down the Autobahn. It was horrifically surreal, my mother yelling at me and her husband telling my mortified younger siblings (who are 11 and 16 years younger than me) the intricacies of female to female oral sex. My step dad head red as a beet under his combover yelling and yelling “your sister does this disgusting stuff she puts her tongue in other peoples pussyyyyyyy” (it always amazes me how my so prim and proper parents get so vulgar when they talk to me or about me). At the time this happened I was 19 and had just moved back from America (dumbest move I ever made) and was pregnant with my daughter. This episode scarred my then 3 year old sister so much that she was in denial about her own sexuality for most of her life and only came out as gay the last 5 years. Last year she married her wife and thankfully my parents were more, yet not totally, accepting of her choices (My mother is on record saying it is a make believe wedding my stepdad always the better person is supportive). They have evolved some, although I have never once received an apology for the nightmare they put me though.

My relationship to the “community” has been problematic as well. In my younger years I had some really harsh experiences in the Cologne Lesbian scene. At the time being Bi, as I identified at the time, was frowned upon in a big way. If I got a penny for each time I was told that I was either confused, just wanting to fit in with “normal society” or refusing to commit I would be a millionaire by now. The reception I received at the time made me retreat out of the community and to the fringes with a few LGBT and Cis friends, dipping my feet into the major events like pride, or rallies/protests, but staying away from the community as a whole. Time passed and overall it seems that the community is more accepting then in the times my 23 year old self received such frigid welcome. Society evolves even that of LGBT that is now the more inclusive LGBTQIA. At 49, soon to be 50 on April 13th, I am finally ready to maybe come in from the woods and fringes, we will see how it goes.

310928_2549425575861_402494513_n.jpg

Sort:  

Even though i'm not part of the LGBT community i think everyone should be whatever the hell they may want to be, as long as their are happy and don't interfer with other ppl's happiness, i'm happy... When i was a chield i was a little homofobic, but when i entered university and actually started talking with ppl from the LGBT community i must say: "What a fucking dumb chield i was", some of my best friends are part of the LGBT community...

Good on you that you were able to be open in college, so many just refuse to even try to open their mind :)

I’m glad you were open to relationships with LGBT people 😊 the first step and it’s all simple after that once you get past the bedroom banter.

Open to be friends with them... i enjoy girls too much xD this post actually reminded me that i haven't spoken to one of my best friends in while, damn asshole changed country and now i only see him once per year... need to get more steem to actually go visit him in the UK
My only "problem" is when my gay friends actually tell me a guy is cute... still feel a little weird with that one...

Definitely understandable that it can feel awkward! 🐢 🐢🐢 Where in the UK is your friend? I spent a good amount of time in Manchester and visited London quite a bit!

Sheffield i think, he is a vet, he is actually my university godfather, don't know if you guys have that in other countries, it's basically the guy or girl that helps you through college with everything (study or non study related)

Friendships are also relationships in the english language just not sexually intimate relationships. That being said what do you think is the reason that you feel strange about that ? And don't worry not judging being honest about your feelings even if they are not always good or stable is a good thing. It means you are able to be honest about yourself.

Because i'm not used to it, it's just that, after my friend told me that the guy was cute i stood there for like 20 seconds with a error 404 on my brain xD after that my sense of humor finnaly shined and i said : "Yeah his girl friend is cute too, want to go double team on that XD " he laughed and we went to talk to them xD my friend actually ended the night with the guy, i didn't because the girl had a boyfriend and i respect that way to much

Nods it will probably get easier the more you are exposed to it.

I'm starting a (hopefully) weekly curation project for #lgbt content, and this came across my feed just as I was getting to the meat of it. I've resteemed this because it's powerful. We all have our heartbreaks. We've all lost loved ones. It's not all rainbows and unicorns. People need to hear these stories because unfortunately we still have to convince too many that we're human beings with the same blood and sweat and tears as anyone else. <3
If you're on Discord, I help admin the Steemit LGBT+ server for @sykochica. If you would like to join us, you can do so by clicking on the flag.

steem-pride.jpg

I have been on your server for steemit chat I have discord but have not used it yet. I will look into it :)

I’m glad you’re sharing your journey with us. It’s really interesting to imagine the LGBT community NOT being inclusive! I’m so appalled that you had to go through those early experiences. But I’m glad that you can attest to progress in the LGBT community in your lifetime. That gives me hope for future progress.

LGBT people like everyone else coloured by their cultural and societies views. Some of us more some of us less. When I was young there were places where interracial relationships were frowned on in the community, or trans people were not welcome and treated as freaks by quite a few. As society evolves so does our community thankfully we might always be a tiny bit ahead of the crowed but some times not by much. When I was a kid my grandmother had Gay friends and they could be just as misogynistic as their hereto counter parts and very gender role conscious. The community and every individual in it is here because every generation before us fought not only for our rights but also to understand the human condition better and what makes us all tick. We like the rest of the world are still a work in progress.

This is a beautifully written and thoroughly engaging piece. Thank you for putting it out there. The parts from your childhood especially can be tough to write about.

It never ceases to amaze me how much people seem to feel it's any of their business/ somehow affects their lives what other people identify as... It amazes me even more when people within the already marginalized queer community discriminate against other members of it. Bi/Pan people have got a much rougher time of it, I think, as there are so many negative stereotypes surrounding their sexuality.

Personally, most of the women I've dated have been bi/pan (I identify as gay) because I've met some very open-minded and interestingly complex people falling within those identities and these are key traits for me.

A question I'm always curious to have answered by people who identify this way (sorry, it's the scientist in me 😅): Do you find your attractions fluctuate over time between men/women/non-binary or do they stay fairly proportional? (Obviously only answer if you wish)

Thank you for your kind words, and that is a fairly complicated question. I think when it comes to serious relationships it has been pretty equal when it came to sex for sex sake it was in most cases men as with women I tend to have more scruple and there is usually just always a bit of heart in it (god that makes me sound like a monster .. sigh) It is not that I don’t care for men it is just that men are just better with non committed sex. Truthfully though I have had long periods of abstinence between engagements and am now hitting 10 years of abstinence again. Not because I am not interested but because I tend to get involved with partners who have some if not all of my mothers neurosis and behaviours with very few exceptions and at some point you realise that it is just saner to go without.

No, this isn't that unusual actually. I've met a few women who can have easy 'no strings attached' relationships with men, but find it harder to do with other women. There's a theory that two women together go into a kind of 'oxytocin overdrive' (the chemical in your brain that makes you want to bond/nest) - so perhaps that has something to do with it :)

:) I know what oxytocin is lol ;) and quite possibly so :)

Lol, sorry - I tend to explain terms in my science articles so I guess it's just becoming automatic 😂

Get out of the effing woods RIGHT NOW! I was a bit problematic in my local transgender community too because I didn't bother to train my voice to very high pitched feminine, I just want to speak naturally and comfortably, but because I appeared in the media, part of the community thinks I tainted their image. To quote the great Taylor Swift, Haters gonna hate! But there's no need to hide in the woods because of those bitches, it's scary in the woods, there are witches, spiders, werewolves, normal wolves....

LOL on the other hand I can Quote granny Weatherwax who says there is nothing to fear as nothing is scarier then I am ;)

nnnnnooooo don't go down that road thinking you are scary.....

I don't mind being scary the monsters have cookies and pie ;)

They are decadent they have both tea and coffee :D

hahaha tea cookies and pie, it's actually a great way to spend a sunday afternoon

P.s I am sorry they treated you like that :(

It wasn't as bad as it sounds and I would treat it as a productive life experience. Even cisgender people go through similar things as I do, so....

Thank you for sharing such a deeply personal and inspirational story. I look forward to reading more. I do agree with some of the previous comments on how hard it is to understand how the very community struggling to find acceptance could shun you for being slightly outside their own perceived norms.

It is sadly human nature it seems in any community

OMG. Almost like reading the story of my life. Long ago tho I decided it was simply best to just hide in my closets keep "me" from the rest of the world. Only now, thanks to this platform do I even dare to share what little I do share. Bless you!

Every human has made a mistake. But we have to change for the better. Let others judge. At least we've tried to better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16