Fun at the fair

in #blog7 years ago

funatfair.png

Last weekend my family and I attended the largest fair in our county, which is held by a really well known Catholic church. This fair is huge. When I say huge, I mean it. Tons of rides, tons of food vendors, it was awesome.
pizza.jpg

treats.jpg

We arrived quite early, right when it opened. It was nice because we got there before it got really busy. We found out how busy it was going to get after a couple of hours as it got really full. We spent a total of about 5 1/2 hours there. See how there are barely any people? It was cool to see it all in the light of day and with no one around. As you can see there are wonderful "bad for you" fair food.

  • Pizza? Got it
  • Soda? Got it
  • Fried foods? Got them
  • Funnel cakes? Got them
  • Salads? Nope, only thing you couldn't find in these little places

gamesday.jpg

watershootgameday.jpg

pictureprizes.jpg

Of course, a fair wouldn't be a fair without places to pay to play silly little games. We played games and both were the pop balloons with dart ones. One my daughter one a stuffed animal, the other she won a pictured frame of her choice. She chose a cute little kitty with the words Love You above it. She originally had her eye on this stuffed Pikachu but when I asked how much we would have to spend to get it, I was told $40 and the small one $25. Needless to say, we decided the money would best be spent elsewhere.

whirlyrideday.jpg

ridesday.jpg

carosel.jpg

funzone.jpg

parkedbumpers.jpg

bumpersrunning.jpg

Some of other rides all around. The bumper cars were fun.

panoview.jpg
Why not just give you a panoramic view of the area I was in. Do not get the wrong idea, this was maybe like 1/3 of the area this fair took up.

mariolandfull.jpg

mariofunhousebottom.jpg

This is where we spent a lot of time. This Mario fun house was my daughters favorite. It ended up being quite a favorite for other kids later in the night as there were 3 different slides within it and lots of climbing.

Realizing you are way more afraid of heights than you used to be

Oh yes, that is so exciting when that happens...NOT. I have known that I started to become a bit more cautious, and realizing that death is out there, a lot more after I had my daughter. Trust me, I have done some not so smart things as a teenager but now I am a tad bit more risk adverse, at least in terms of our safety. Well, of course, my daughter begged us to go on the Ferris wheel. We obliged. Once.

It looked down at me, looking so pretty, but high and scary. There was not a long wait as it was still within the first hour or a bit more after being there.

ferriswheelbelow.jpg

viewoftampa.jpg

It was cool though because even though we got stopped at the top screaming inside of course, while others got into the seats down below, we sat there looking at this view. That little bit of city far away is actually downtown Tampa. I am about half an hour away from there so it was cool to see it from so far away and up so high.

spinridedark.jpg

slidelights.jpg

ferrisnight.jpg

The night falls upon us. The crowds finally come. It was really pretty with all of the lights on. Finally, the night was almost over as we had a ton of fun and walked around for nearly 5 hours, but we were all getting a bit tired. We just needed one more thing.

funnelcake.jpg

We needed to get a funnel cake. I admittedly haven't had one of these is so many years. I think the last time I actually had one was when we lived back in Toronto in Canada. So that has been nearly 6 years. I got this as it has been a while and I barely ate otherwise while we were there. I remember them tasting a lot better though. I had maybe a few pieces of it and then ended up honestly wasting it. It was just so oily and I really did not enjoy it. Good news is, I think I have grown out of that phase.

That was our whole time. It was a ton of fun. We are glad we were able to go and support not only the Church but the Private Catholic School that actually gets the funds from this event. This event runs about 5 days so they can definitely bring in a ton of dough.

That was my fun time at the fair. Hope you enjoyed the post and the pictures. Thanks for checking out my blog.

Do you enjoy to visit the fair?

What is one of your fondest memory of a fair?

As usual, Stay Awesome Steemians!

muchlovesig.png

nicedivider.png

Check out some of my others posts

Giving Thanks. I am thankful for...BTS took America by storm
thanksful.pngbtsamapost.png

nicedivider.png

usafootertop.png


alphabanner.jpg

Sort:  

I want some of that funnel cake, but, then I remembered the discussion that it wasn't as good as they used to be. You can have my piece.

As far as heights- don't ask me why, but, the minute you give birth, you are no longer invincible. I thought it was only me. Something to do with wanting to be around for the rest of their lives or something. I am not sure.

I love your shot of the Ferris Wheel. So classic, yet so awesome. A day at the fair. Life doesn't get any better than that when you are a kid.

Haha well that's ok my dog got a few of my pieces lol. He loves oily stuff. Yes! That is exactly it. I don't want to risk myself anymore because I want to be around, haha yes right when I had her. I love that you were able to put that into words. Also good to know I'm not the only one that happened too. Life is awesome as a kid 😀

And beyond!!!! :) We are all little kids dressed up as adults!

Awesome! I love a good fun fair :) especially at night with all the lights from the rides lit up :)

Fully agree on that! It is so fun to look at at night 😀

Looks like a fun day I bet your daughter especially had such fun

The size of this fair looks amazing

I don’t have a fear of heights as such have climbed and built radio towers but I do hate Ferris wheels

She absolutely did. I am so glad she enjoyed herself so much. Ya, the Ferris wheel situation is definitely freaky. That was the first time I had been on one that had circular seating like that, usually it was just the only fashioned ones where you were more so exposed. Did I mention that I hated sitting at the top? Haha oye

I do not go on them either they scare the heck out of me

What? No salad? I'm shocked TopK.

I'm not. It's a fair. Not much healthy food is served at those places. There were separate vendors in a tent which was the food tent so I was able to get a veggie quesadilla but it wasn't that good.

I know. I was being sarcastic. However, doesn't always come through in writing form.

Glad you got a veggie quesadilla though. That's something I guess.

haha part of me was wondering if it was sarcastic lol. We need like a different text to infer sarcasm I tell you. Where are those techie nerds that can accomplish it. It could be a whole sarcastic text in markdown..haha if only.

I actually had to ask someone what a funnel cake was as I read the post, how my mother described it didn't appeal to me... till I saw the picture and now I want one.

That is too funny! Ya they definitely can be amazing. All depends on where you get them. Well, now you have something new to try eventually 😀

I truly feel one hasn't lived until that have had funnel cake!!! MMMM.

Oh dear! I love the ol' bumper car rides! It has been ages I went to a fair, well it kinda gets replaced with a fun zone inside shopping mall but that's different atmosphere and experience. Nothing beats the fun fair with soft cotton candies , bumper rides and sometimes extreme shows !

Yes, I hadn't been to a good fair in ages either, but it was a great time. We probably should've gotten some cotton candy, but didn't this time around. I will say it was missing any extreme shows though, those are cool.

I get so much nostalgia when I looked at your post! I love the photographs and all the color you captured at the fair! I didn't really go to the fair a lot but growing up I lived near an amusement park (Great America!) and I can recall LOVING that ride Drop Zone and the games were always a blast. I wasn't really much of a winner though hehe.

Great post! I love the fair, especially the food. As I get older I tend to wonder more into the convention centers and checking out all the local artisans and interesting contests. I wish I was pie judge! lol

Oooh I pie judge?! I would totally jump on that! I like venturing into buildings too when the fair I got to has them. This one didn't since it was run by a church on their property. However, there is a fair at the florida fairgrounds yearly I think and there are a ton of attractions. A lot of plant vendors, artisan vendors, and for some reason a lot of animal competitions (goats, cows, chickens, etc)

Amazing place to visit, I love a fun day at the fair. Haven't done it in years tho 😆
But like you, I have a scare for hights and it's gotten worse in time... Lol
But I always force myself to do things anyway 😉
Beautiful environment and seem like you had a great time. And good food😋
Thank you for sharing your fun day at the fair. Talk soon darling!
bitmoji823127927-159x159.png

Love you that much too darling! Yes I made myself go up and was nearly hugging the the center pole lol..but playing it off like I was brave. We had a deal. One time lol.

WoW lucky you... It looks really huge when comparing it to ones in my country...

If felt huge! But then again I haven't been on one in a long long time. Would you want to be on a bigger, higher one?

Yea I would really like to try some bigger roller coasters... There are no really big ones in Croatia ;(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55838.64
ETH 2285.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33