My Next Camping Trip - Me n the Stars

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Camping Under the Stars

I just love camping, out in nature with the fresh air.

I have not been able to go on a camping trip for a while, so I'm excited to go again this Christmas.

As I enjoy my amateur astronomy, I have decided to go somewhere remote this time.
The Australian outback has some of the best views of the milky way, so I'm really looking forward to going for the first time.

Looking at the orbit of the moon I shall be in for a treat, as the moon won't be visible for much of the night. This means I will have a great view of the milky way :)

I found this neat little site Which shows the movements, times and co ordinates of the moon. So just by chance I have picked the right time for some star gazing.

I'm still not sure where I will be going, but I have a month to decide. All I know is it will be remote.

Why I love Astronomy

About 10 years ago, I was camping on a remote part of the River Murray in South Australia.
While I was enjoying a few cold beverages and looking up at the sky, I noticed this object start glowing at about a 45 degree angle.
As I continued to watch it, it kept getting brighter and brighter.
I had no idea what it was as it didn't make any sound I could hear.
Then it exploded like a firework, with the loudest sonic boom I've ever heard.
At that point I knew it was a meteorite. I will never forget it, one of the best things I ever seen.
The raw power of it was just incredible.
Due to there being no one around I really felt like the universe put on a show just for me. This is what started my fascination with the universe and science.

I will share some photos and the experience when I get home :D

 

steemit-banner1.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Recent Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
💀 Player Unknown's Battlegrounds Review
💀 Getting Started with jQuery

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 56.0% @steps upgoat, thanks to @thevillan
It consists of $0.58 vote and $0.06 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thevillan to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Resteem by @jossylink

Resteem your post at SBD 0.001

Resteem by @jossylink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45