Saying Goodbye to Kosh (2002-2019) - The Friendliest Ginger Cat

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

This week @mrlightning and myself lost one of our cats - the first one I adopted (or adopted me, depending how you look at it). His name was Kosh, and he was old, ill for a while and died at home after having lived a long life with the humans who loved him.

I adopted Kosh from the street when he was kitten. I was pretty young too - only 19 at the time - but he was a kind of catalyst (get it? cat-a-lyst?) for me to leave my mother's home; one of the smartest decisions I ever made.

Kosh was one of the most loving pets anyone could have. He would always greet me with a Meow-meow that sounded like a "hello", and would always come looking for cuddles and fuzzles (fuzzle - the action of petting / squishing / spanking / scratching a cat according to cat's preference). He was also one of the only cats I knew who really really really loved having their bellies rubbed. He would start purring and flip onto his back like a dog and never stop you. Ever. He'd just doze off then woke when you stopped.

Many cats are the kings of "if I fits I sits"...

... But Kosh took it to new extremes:

Kosh never scratched or bit, unless he was being taken to the vet or the fuzzling stopped before he was done. This attention loving monster would literally claw your hand back onto his belly. I have videos (somewhere).

Among his many talents, he had the ability to jump onto door handles to open doors to rooms. He once managed to lock me out of our apartment by somehow jumping on the latch (don't even ask). 

Kosh was a fan of human food. If we had it? He wanted it. Having cat food within reach at all times did not help as the little terrorist would flip over garbage bins, steal chocolate from my drawer and even drop whole pans of food onto the floor from the stove.

Taking selfies with cats is hard, but I still have the last photo of us together on my phone. I look a bit sad, as though I know it's the last time. You can probably also see how skinny Kosh looks here compared to his past photos as a chubby devil.

I will always miss you, my fluffy purring ginger terrorist.

Sort:  

Ohhhh!!! Those gingers are the BEST cats!!! I'm so sorry for your loss. May Kosh romp in the meadows of a happy afterlife with my own beloved ginger tom, Tommy. It's crazy how much I miss that cat. Yes, there are other cats. Yes, life goes on. But that little furball is forever in our hearts.

Ohhh Kosh.. I didn't know you've been in each other's lives for that long. Not that it makes it easier either way.

Wish I had the chance to meet him, he sounded like such a special cat. Love and hugs <3

I am so sorry for your loss. I unexpectedly lost my Kosh(also a ginger!) last year very suddenly--I truly feel that pain of loss every hour of every day since and it makes me tear up a bit knowing you are going through this now. I will remember you in my heart and my thoughts. And I will remember your friend Kosh.

Awwww... what a sweetheart. Big love to you and @mrlightning as you do the grieving thing. Never fun to lose a fur baby, but they're worth it.

Also, I love the way you write. Even in such a sad post you've made me smile and I can feel your heart. Hugs!!!

nothing worse than losing a beloved pet. especially when you’ve had them so long.

condolences for the loss.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sorry to hear that he is finally gone. They leave such a huge hole

Losing a loved pet is very horrible. I wish you all the best and lots of strength :-(

Hi @techslut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.166 which ranks you at #251 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #71.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91