A Cat's Visit To The Vet

in #cat6 years ago (edited)

Our cat, Kosh, is 16 years old and has something wrong with his digestive tract. We're not sure exactly what. A few months ago he started loosing weight rapidly and dropped from 9 kg to about 4.2 kg. He also vomited a lot, diarrheted and both urinated and defecated outside of his box.

We took him to the hospital and after many tests we figured it was hyperthyroidism and possibly something else in his digestive tract. Since the biopsy was several thousands we started symptomatic treatment to see if we could get him stable to be able to do a more through checkup.

Taking the cat to the Vet is always a big deal. He hates the Vet and fights every second of the process. He will usually vomit and defecate in the cage on the way there and, if he's awake, then on the way back as well. He will not allow any checkup or test done unless he's under some sort of anesthesia.

Since the cat is currently on steroids and some other pills twice a day we need to bring him in to do a checkup every few months.

His last appointment was on Wednesday.

IMG_20180425_092704.jpg

Here's the cat, angry and feeling betrayed, as we got him to the Vet.

Next we had to put him under some sort of anesthesia so that he will allow the doctor to look him over. This involves moving the cat to a squeeze cage, holding him immobile and giving him the shot. Then we put him under a blanket and waited for the shot to take effect and for the cat to stop crying and hissing.

IMG_20180425_093419.jpg

This took way longer then expected and after 10 minutes the doctor gave him a booster shot. Eventually the cat fell asleep and the doctor could start checking him while we did our best to clean him up of the various foul liquids he was covered in.

IMG_20180425_100012.jpg

This is where the doctor took some blood from his carotid for various tests and later she took some urine directly from his bladder as well.

After all the tests were done he was given the wake up shot and put back into his (our) original cage. (We cleaned that one up while he was being tested).

IMG_20180425_101424.jpg

This is Kosh starting to wake up from anesthesia and feeling weak and confused.

Coming home we had to clean after the cat again and then wash the floor where he walked since there was still that pervasive distinct smell of an incontinent cat.

The blood tests were mostly normal and he did gain some weight since his last checkup so he no longer looks as emaciated. We have to keep an eye on his drinking to make sure he's not developing kidney problems or diabetes. We were given some anti parasite pills for his gut and if these do not help for the diarrhea we'll have to send his blood tests abroad for a more comprehensive panel and possibly do an ultrasound.

At this point if it's not his pancreas there is a solid chance it is some sort of lymphoma in his digestive tract.

We hope not.

4 months until his next checkup. I hope he survives, no matter how much damage the damn cat can cause (like peeing on my wife's computer's power supply [@techslut] - killing the computer).

How are you dealing with a sick old cat? Let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

My cat had kidney disease for four years and that meant giving him subcutaneous fluids every day, as well as blood pressure pills and various other meds, depending on his symptoms at the time. Luckily he was a very obliging patient. He was so good that the vet used to do the jugular blood draws with just me holding him. He didn't like the fluids much in the beginning but he got used to it. It gave me 4 extra years with him and I was glad about that. He was finally tired of life at 16 last December and I let him go. It was demanding and expensive to take care of him but I don't regret it.
From what you describe, it does sound like Kosh has lymphoma so enjoy the time you have left but don't put him through too much if he hates the vet so much. I have another one who is also very badly behaved at the vet and needs sedation. I already decided that I will never put him through extensive treatment regimes. He doesn't get incontinent in the car but he has attacked the vet when she tried to treat him. He's bad tempered at home and growls like a dog if you do anything that he doesn't like

He doesn't only not behave, he has a full blown panic attack the moment he's in the cage. He stress-poops and vomits immediately. He then hisses at the vet and cannot be touched unless sedated. I hate seeing him suffer and I honestly do not want to lose him but I can't decide which is best. Continue tormenting the poor thing with shots and pills and vet visits, or just put him to sleep peacefully. He's old and sick and I just don't know. It's depressing.

It's a gut-wrenching decision to have to make. I can also imagine what is going to be like for you to take him in that fearful state to the vet to be put to sleep. Not a good way to end his life.
If it were my cat, I wouldn't put him through any more testing, just treat with what you are currently using so long as it appears to improve his existence and when you see quality of life reducing, get the vet to do a home visit to put him to sleep. The vet should be able to give you a tranquiliser that can make him more relaxed before they get there.
Even though my old cat was relatively well-behaved and relaxed at the vet, I still hated taking him in that last time. Putting his sister to sleep when she was incurably ill was just as hard, although she was already in hospital at the time.
It's important to bear in mind that animals live in the moment and he has no desire to prolong his own life, that is our human desire. All he knows is that he feels unwell and afraid. It's terribly hard to let go of them but that is an inevitable part of the relationship that we have with our beloved pets

I know it’s totally useless info now but I think the key is to travel with the cat as young as possible. I took my cat Lilith out to cafes in her bag and long car journeys from the age of 3 months when I got her she’s now a seasoned traveller at one and happily walks into her travel bag as she knows she’s probably off somwhere cool. I think maybe when they only know the carry case as going somwhere they don’t like like the vets it’s more of a panic? Sometimes you can’t help it as get the cat as an adult but defo if getting a kitten I think it rly helps to just subject them to everything as early as possible when they are still developing. I hope your cat gets better they are a part of the family 💕💕🐈

I wish I knew all this when I adopted the little terrorists when I was 19. I did not. They're the housiest house cats there are. Spoiled fucks. And next up are kids - kinda like cats, but even more responsibilities.

yeah My cat has fulfilled all my maternal needs lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42