Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 05/17/18> Throw a little dust on here if you will…

in #blog6 years ago

Most people don’t care much for dust and I use to feel the same way about dust until just the other day. Dust is just one of the things that we kind of let build up and then we take a dust rag and maybe some furniture polish and give things the once over and clean the place up and make things presentable again.

Lots of dust in the air can even make it difficult to breath for some people and it isn’t uncommon for dust to trigger those sneezes. I have heard that when a person sneezes the air is coming out of you at like 200mph, I don’t know if that is true or not but I have heard that more than once. I am a three sneeze guy; if I sneeze once, get ready because two more will be coming in short order. Most people I know are also three sneeze folks, I wonder why that is that we sneeze three times?

But that isn’t the kind of dust we are going to talk about today, and that isn’t the dust I’m looking to have tossed on here either. If you have some gold dust to throw around that would be great, I would take all of that you can throw on here but that isn’t likely either.

The dust I am talking about is known on here as “dust votes”, those tiny little comment votes that don’t add up to a hill of beans if you had a bunch of them. The votes on comments that barely register a value and up to just below $0.03 are considered “dust vote” because those get cast aside when the rewards are calculated for payouts. They kind of fall away never to be seen again, they just disappear like dust into an old shag carpet.

Well some good folks on here have decided it was about time to clear the air and protect the carpet and came up with a service that is known as @dustsweeper . I found out about this from a post I read over in baggage promotion @thesteemengine and it was placed there be @maverickinvictus , he explained just what the “dust threshold” was and how dustsweeper would allow you to actually collect on the mini sized comment votes rather than just let them fade away, “waste not, want not”, is a saying that might could apply here.

Granted that isn’t a lot in the grand scheme of things, but talk to any gold prospector who pans for gold and they will tell that they save every little fleck or speck of gold that they pan because it all adds up in the end. We should be doing the same with the steem we are prospecting.

Each post we make is like a pan of black sand that a gold prospector works to find his gold. The gold prospector doesn’t work the pan down to just about where he can see what he has and throws it out and grabs another pan of sand and we shouldn’t either when it comes to dust votes.

So I have signed up and sent $1 steem to @dustsweeper, they in turn set me up an account with them and credited my account with $2.481 of SBD from which they will up voted those little dust votes to where I will get a payout from them. They wait until the six day, right before payout calculations are determined in case the value of steem changes and what may have been a dust vote might have gained enough value to be counted and paid on, conversely if steem drops and what had enough to begin with is now below the threshold it sees that and up votes it as well to the just above the threshold where I get something for it. Either way, the vote is going to be where I will get something from it and it just won’t end up as dust in the old shag carpet.

When my initial $1 worth is used up they will send me a notice and I will send them another $1 of steem and continue the process again. None of us really know where the price of steem or sbd will end up being in the future but one thing is for sure, once that 7 day period is up where the post can earn money, it isn’t going to be able to earn anymore. If steem ends up taking a trip to “the moon” as some people think and we all hope for, why not have all of it you could have had coming too you?

Most of you know I have never been a big fan of bots, but bots like this and the @schoolofminnows bot are helping to change my mind as to their usefulness in some cases. In fact, I use to complain about the bots that would come from their camps over in Czechoslovakia and the Ukraine in the middle of the night and put 20 or 30 votes on my post with little or nothing showing up as earnings, bring them on now fellas; I am thinking I might need to go find them and offer an apology and see if I can’t get them to come visit me some more and leave a comment when they do.

I once did a daily dose that had 101 up votes one morning when I got up after posting it at 11:00PM the night before, it still had $0.00 earnings at that point, @abbak7 said that it looked like the cast from the 101 Dalmatians Disney Movie liked the post real well or something to that effect. If those little puppies knew how to type a comment and dustsweeper would have been available that could have added up pretty quickly.

So I thought that I would mention the @dustsweeper thing to you folks, in case you weren’t aware of it. I think that between it, @schoolofminnows, and @steembasicincome I am doing the best I can to maximize what potential exists at this point in time without spending an arm or leg and just going out and buying some votes. I also don’t know that I am actually doing it for the money either, since I give away plenty all the time too. I guess I just like good ideas and like supporting good people when they do something good for the little guys like me.

Check it out for yourself and see what you think, there just might be some flakes of gold in your pan of black sand.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=43f11540d8

Full disclosure: the sola & mannabase links are referral links, I do receive a benefit should you decide to join either of these sites thru these links. Thanks.

Sort:  

i just recently heard about this too. have yet to do it. the thing i dont understand is what is the benefit to the dustsweeper app builders. how do they earn. i git that you send them like a bank for them to send back to you... but i cant quite wrap my head around the mechanics of what they get. i love the concept though.....

Since they are up voting the comment from their account, they will catch a little piece of the action, the author of the comment will get the bulk of it, but the author should since he's the one "funding" the vote.

I will go over and check this out. I usually stay away from bots as it takes away from real engagement.

This bot doesn't take away from engagement at all, it just makes sure that the engagement gets monetized if it doesn't reach the threshold level before the earnings period expires.

Sent my 1 SBD! Thanks, @sultnpapper!

Your welcome, Now I'll throw a little dust on this comment of yours. Damn, that slider, it went haywire and you got my full up vote instead of dust.

Thank you, @sultnpapper! I appreciate it!

I also signed up with @dustsweeper and I've already seen some benefits.
To my understanding if I have say 4 votes spread across 4 posts that would normally be dust then it votes one of them up to a value where I get the 4 post equivalent.
It's voted up 3 of my comments in the last three days.
The major irony is that people with 0SBD are probably the ones that need @dustsweeper the most.

Here is some dust brother, we'll let the sweeper clean it up for an example if no bumps it above the threshold. I too have seen a couple votes from the sweeper thus far.

Well, I've transferred my 1SBD and I'll see what happens. This platform is full of mathematical geniuses!

Well since I know you are in, I just dust this comment for you. I think you will agree in the end it is a good idea.

Excellent - thanks!

That’s an interesting concept and I will have to check it out
I do see the logic behind the dust vote concept to stop those that create multiple accounts and group together voting automatically on their crew All dust votes but add together to small amounts for each account which they pool and cash out

But it also hurts new arrivals who could get dissolusioned with the platform and leave

So not sure what a good solution would be

Do check it out , this solution on dealing with dust votes made a lot more sense than some witnesses were proposing which was to raise the level of the dust vote threshold up to even higher values where even most of my posts wouldn't even be above the threshold let alone comments,
That would surely affect the new arrivals and lot more than just those.

Yes that is so true I will check it out for sure

Yeah I've seen it being mentioned by some other people as well. Will join it once some of my pending rewards are paid out. I'd rather see those little upvotes turned into a couple of bigger ones ;)

I see it as just being responsible, this place could get really hard to breath in if all the dust just keeps hitting the floor.

Your dose is still powerful, love this @sultnpaper

The power is frightening @tfame3865 ,old men shouldn't have this kind of power, at least not me.

I seen that new bot the other day and I think it is a great thing. I just learned about dust votes and it is great to see knowledge spread about this topic. It is hard to believe that anything less than 0.03 just disappears but it is great to see something done about it.

Yes, I just checked and it up voted four comments I made that I would have gotten nothing on so, it is better than a stick in the eye or a thorn in the backside.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 23 SBD worth and should receive 78 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #140 (5/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83