Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 03/10/18> Questions leading to more questions.

in #blog6 years ago

Do you ever stop and wonder about what your mind does when you are sleeping? How about sleep, what is the real purpose of sleep? Those dreams that we have at night, what are they really about? I know what we have been told but, can we really trust that what we have believed all this time is accurate?

For clarification, I am not a doctor, researcher or do I have any “special powers” , although I sure wish sometimes I was all of those I mentioned, that way I might have the answers to the questions I asked or at least be thinking I did have them.

I travel a lot on business and when I am staying in hotels I have a tendency to dream more than when I am sleeping at home. I don’t know why that is, it just is the way my system works I guess. Thursday night I had some weird dreams and while that isn’t unusual this one particular dream that actually caused me to awaken and sit straight up in bed was especially weird. That dream is what prompted me ask the opening questions of this daily dose.

What if I told you that our dreams are not dreams at all but is our lives, it may sound crazy but let me finish my thoughts before you run off thinking that I have lost my mind. In this dream I found myself sitting on the side of a mountain with a monk at a monastery and he explained to me that what we call and experience as life here and now is actually not life at all, but is the down time for our minds that experience “real life “ when we sleep.

It is in a sense two altered realities, which are opposite of each other, and our dreams are just one reality that is sort of bleeding over into the other reality. He explained also that the realities are not necessarily on the same time line so that is why sometimes our “dreams” might be from years past or maybe of something that hasn’t even taken place yet, but will.

What essentially is taking place is that our minds or spirits can never be at complete rest so they move back and forth between the two realities. When we are sleeping in this reality we are wide awake and active in the other reality, conversely when we are wide awake and active in this reality we are aware of, we are asleep in the other reality.

He also explained that meditation we use here in this reality is used to trick the mind or spirit to allow us to spend more time in the other reality. Meditation slows the body metabolism to mimic more or less a sleep like condition of the physical body, allowing the mind and spirit to then head over to the other reality of our dream or sleep world.

The monk said that even more than two realities exist, but in each reality either sleep or meditation has to be a part of the reality in order to gain access to other realities, the mind or spirit can’t be in more than one reality at one time. So, you could essentially be in a meditative state in these two realities that we are aware of, and experience a third reality.

According to the monk, this is how we can see some monks can be in a meditative state of mind and body for years at a time, without food or water. They have learned to slow the body metabolism down to such a slow speed that it is almost like they are deceased when you look at them, like statues frozen in time.

I asked him just how many realities there are and he told me that no one knows the exact number, but he himself had firsthand knowledge of four realities. He was also directed back to this reality, which was my dream world, to share the information so that others could learn the process and master the movement of changing from reality to reality.

I’m not into meditation but after having this dream I need to seriously consider thinking about learning more about it. How neat would it be to learn there are more realities that exist and that meditation is the vehicle to explore them with? That could certainly explain “deja vu “moments we sometimes have. It is no wonder people have such high praise for meditation if this is in fact the case.

Could it also be that young children experience this more than most of us but as we get older and “learn “ we have tendency just to dismiss dreams as wild imagination while sleeping? The other question would be how about when folks get older and experience Alzheimer’s or dementia? Could it be that the mind or spirit just decides that it likes one reality over the other and decides to spend more time in the “other” which would normally be our “sleep reality”, even though the body clock has them awake in the reality that you are reading this in?

Maybe the reason our brain mass is so large because we only use about half of it in each reality, or it is like a computer that has programs residing in it that aren’t used in this reality that is why there seems to be no activity in certain areas of it on cat scans and mri’s. The medical community admits that we don’t use anywhere near all the area of the brain. The portion not used in this reality might very well be active as can be in other realities.

Hell, for all I know I might be writing this daily dose in the other reality and thinking this makes sense, but when you the reader put your eyes to it and read it; it will make no sense at all.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 72 (3/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you for taking the time to read and deem this worthy for a train ride, very much appreciated.

Well I don’t know much about meditation 🧘‍♀️ and it’s purpose..all that I came to understand regarding it is that it calms the spirit reduces stress at first hand. I know a person that used this kind of method to clear his mind and calm down..and somehow it worked..Now regarding the dream issue you might have something there about different realities but I personally tend to think that all is a state of mind..there are no other dimensions it is just the brain creating everything. I am a big dreamer and when I say that I mean I have constant nightmares and sure hope that they are not a reality I lived or will live any time soon..the post is interesting and I will have to get back to you on some issues maybe a discussion on discord would be more fitted in this particular subject! 😁

Most dreams I have I don't recall in such detail, but this one woke me, as if to let me know it was important information.
I'll catch up with you in discord and we can discuss further.

Very good post friend greetings I follow and vote from Venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64