Congratulations....It's a Girl!

in #blog7 years ago

Today, I found out I'm going to be a mom....in two months! You guessed it. I'm adopting.

This is my first child, and it will be a girl. Ever since high school, I've always imagined and hoped my first child would be a girl. Adopting is one of the best and least expensive ways of ensuring that, so my husband and I looked for a girl from the beginning. 

My husband has his own reason for wanting a girl....of his four kids, only one, the eldest, was a girl, and she died in 2002 when she was only 24 years old (leaving a granddaughter and a grandson for him, at least). He would like another chance to have a daughter in his life.

My Young Marriage, Complete With an Array of Step-Children

Ah, yes. My husband's kids. When I got married at 22 years old, I had a ready-made family, with four step-kids, and the first step-grandchild on the way. Today, I have three living step-children and five step-grandchildren (I've been a step-grandma since I was 23, actually). 

All of those step-kids except the middle step-son have had kids before me....even the youngest, who I met on his 8th birthday, now has an 8 year old son of his own. I'd be lying if I didn't say that irked me for a long time. I've mostly gotten over it, though. Did I mention, I'm going to be a mom?

The Mystery of Not Conceiving

Like many women having kids was something I always just assumed I would do, but with a ready-made family, it wasn't a priority right away. It even took me six years after I quit taking birth control to realize I hadn't gotten pregnant yet, and I might have a fertility issue. 

It just wasn't at the forefront of my mind. I was doing other things, and figured I had plenty of time to get pregnant. And, I still felt too young to have a kid. I kind of still do, but I think I may always feel this way....if I don't do it now, I may never, and I know I'd regret it if I didn't have at least one child of my own. I waited another three years after this realization before I went to the first of what would be four fertility doctors, to determine what was keeping me from conceiving.

The Fertility Game (aka Money Down the Toilet)

After years of tests and treatments, and tens of thousands of dollars, it was finally discovered I can't carry a child to term myself. Complicated auto-immune issues, apparently. 

To have a biological child meant getting a surrogate, and surrogates are insanely expensive unless you have a volunteer. Those are hard to come by, but I did have one, my husband's niece, who is three years younger than me. Last year, her doctor told her she had some health issues that were just arising that would make another pregnancy dangerous for her, so she couldn't do it. There went my volunteer.

While I still have a desire for a biological child, and have hope that this can happen one day, I also didn't want to just sit around and be bitter that I wasn't a mother (as much as I love my step-kids, they have other mothers who are very much a part of their lives, which makes me a secondary consideration to them).

Babies? Cute! But, Likely Not My Thing

I also realized that taking care of babies is probably not for me. Even when I was going through the fertility treatments and desperate to get pregnant, I still dreaded the infant and toddler years, where I would be getting up all night to feed them, losing precious sleep and being tired all the time, soothing them when they cry for ages for no reason, changing diapers, potty training....I wanted the baby, but all the work that came with it actually upset me to think about. 

I assumed I would just get used to it when I had my own kid, and maybe I would (or will). Honestly, though, I think if I ever do have a biological child, I'm also going to have to have a nanny. 

The universe is doing the right thing in making sure a biological child doesn't come my way until I can pay someone to take care of it until it can walk, talk, go to the bathroom on its own, and feed itself. The universe is wise. I would be miserable otherwise, and so would the baby.

In a way, I've been getting clues that babies aren't for me for years, but I've ignored them. That biological urge to reproduce is strong, and it can cause real desperation for pregnancy and childbirth (though, honestly and objectively, neither one of those things sounds like a barrel of monkeys, either, and I'm kind of glad now knowing I won't have to go through them). 

But, relatives have been telling me for years I don't need a baby, even people you would think would want me to reproduce, like my grandmother and my mother. My husband worried from the beginning of our relationship that if I got pregnant, I'd die in childbirth and leave him alone to raise the kid, which he said would be the worst thing I could do to him. I mean, who worries about an otherwise seemingly healthy 23 year old, as I was at the time, dying in childbirth in America? His psychic powers are not to be trifled with, however, something that took me a few years of being with him to realize.

My mom even recently said I never wanted to play with baby dolls as a child....you know, the kind you push in a stroller, feed, and change their diapers. I apparently showed no interest in those, even from a young age. But Barbie dolls, I loved. They were teenagers. Even before I was a teenager, I wanted to play with toys that were made to look like teenagers.

Older Kids, Though....I Have Experience With Raising Them, and I Enjoy Being Around Them

I love kids, so I always thought I'd be a good mother. The reluctance of my family to support me getting pregnant was insulting. They did help out financially with the fertility treatments, but they really weren't on board with it. They helped because it meant so much to me. 

I've worked with kids from age 4 through 18 as a teacher and "house mother" at a group home for troubled youth, and I loved them all. I had so much fun with them at those jobs. And, of course, I helped raise my three step-sons, one of whom lived with us full time for the first three years of my marriage. 

But, crucially, I've never worked with babies. I have no experience with them, and often have to be coerced into holding them. 

Could Adopting an Older Kid Be the Answer? My First Instinct Was the Right One

Maybe the whole baby thing really isn't for me, and that is why my first inclination, on realizing I may have a fertility issue, was to adopt from foster care and get an older child. I went to the orientation, but ultimately decided to do fertility treatments. When it became clear nothing was going to come of those treatments, I went back to the idea of adoption. 

At first, I went to a private adoption agency that adopted newborns to families. After a few months of pondering it, I realized that was the wrong decision for me. So many older kids need and want families, it seemed kind of selfish to go for an infant. I also realized the thought of caring for an infant really did freak me right out. 

I went back to my original idea of adopting an older child from foster care. 

Because my interests, and my husband's, are outside the norm, we both work from home, and are very much laid-back, hippie people who would rather go to a museum than the beach, and who would prefer to go to an organic farmer's market than the mall, it took a while after we completed our mandatory parenting classes and home study to be matched with a child our social worker thought would be a good fit. It took more than a year, in fact, at least for the "official match" to be made.

Even though I checked the available children for adoption on all the foster care adoption websites in the closest counties to us almost every day, I knew patience was the key. My daughter was out there. Spiritually, she had always been mine; it was just taking us a while to find each other. She would come. And, she did.

The first time I met her in person, I knew she was mine. She was always meant to be mine.

Did I mention, she's 17? She is, and she's been looking for the right family since she was 13, and in foster care since she was 11. Her social worker was so excited to find us, and wondered aloud where we'd been hiding all this time. She says we're the perfect parents for her. After meeting her and reading her file, I think so, too.

She was excited about us adopting her right away, and began asking if we could call her long before we were actually allowed to do so. She felt the match was right, as well.

Now, when I look at her picture on the county foster care adoption website, I don't just see a child looking for a family. I see MY DAUGHTER.

And, next weekend, I will get to spend my first un-monitored afternoon with her. By the end of July, she is scheduled to move in with us (hence the "I'm going to be a mom in two months" statement at the beginning of this post). Three months after that, we can finalize the adoption and make it official, but she is already our daughter in our minds and hearts, and in hers.

Finally, I can honestly say, for the first time ever: "I'm going to be a mom!"

How awesome is that?

If you enjoyed this post (and I hope you did), please take a moment to follow me here at @stephmckenzie to get more articles from me on life, the universe, and everything. Thank you!

Sort:  

Congrats! I have 2 girls myself!

I always wanted my first child to be a girl. Two girls and a boy was always the dream. Between my three step-sons and the kids at the group home for troubled youth where I used to work as a house mother, I've helped raise about a dozen boys. I NEED a girl. Lol! And now, thanks to adoption, my first child is actually going to be a girl. I just need to get her to agree to change her middle name or add a second one to it, which I've been told she's amenable to, so I can fulfill my dream of naming a girl (besides one of my girl cats, of course).

I have 2 girls and 1 boy, 4 months old. I'm good now lol.

I jumped right into a marriage to a guy 13 years older than me when I was just 22, and he already had a 17 year old girl who was pregnant with her first child, a 12 year old son who lived with him full-time, a 9 year old son, and an 8 year old son. I had a ready-made family, and a full-time kid in my house who was only 10 years younger than me, and I was still in grad school. So, kids of my own weren't an immediate concern. They've become MUCH more important as I've gotten older and those step kids have all grown up and had kids of their own (except the middle step-son). I'm really eager to be a mom. My husband is basically just doing it because I want to, and he wants to make me happy, but he's stated he feels to old too be a dad again, even to a teenager like we're adopting. But, he also said he will do his best, and will love her.

What an open, honest writeup! All the very best! I wish you, your daughter and your family all happiness... :)

Thank you so much. It's an exciting journey we're about to begin. I got my first phone call with her yesterday, and I just kept saying, "I hope you like us, I hope you like us." She laughed, because she's probably never had potential parents who felt like THEY were auditioning for HER. She told me it was okay, and that she already liked us. This is a wonderful thing. :)

Yes, it definitely is!! Very happy for you. :) Do keep posting.

Thank you, @sandzat. I'm pretty excited about it (and a little bit freaked out about how it will change my life, though I know it will be in a good way).

Maybe I'll teach her to use Steemit. It's a great way to make some extra money for a teenager, without having to go out and get a minimum wage part-time job. I'll teach her about cryptocurrency, too.

It will definitely change your life. You can bet on that. But, in a good way, once you find that you are really responsible for someone's growing up, education, etc.. etc.. and you start spending some quality time with her. Haha... yes, why not? I think that's a great idea! Come to think of it, I have a 7 year old girl, when she grows up some more, I'm also going to introduce her to the world of cryptocurrency. Meanwhile, till we talk again... all the best! Enjoy. :)

Congratulations on becoming a MOM! I know that road of infertility all too well, Its definitely not for the faint of heart. I will look out for updates on your new journey as a mom. Good luck to you!!

Thank you, @mchavarriaot! It's a happy time, and also a slightly freaked out time. I've been wanting to do this for so long, and now I can't believe I'm actually doing it. Good times, and a wonderful adventure.

Threw me off when you said you were adopting a 17 year old, but that's great. People really don't understand just quite how bad it is to grow up in foster care, yet alone be released as an independent with nothing but maybe a diploma, and you probably saved her from that horrible fate.

I've wanted to adopt/be a parent since I was literally 13 or so, and it's the one thing I'm sure I'll be using money for it I can acquire it.
You may say what's the money for, but I'm sure it costed you a bit to adopt, now try doing that as most likely a single person and a male. Sadly that means it costs more money, and unless I find a mom/woman who has similar gentle-parenting views, that's probably go to be the route I'll have to take essentially bribing and agency to approve me.

But hey, whatever it takes, there's nothing I want more (personally) and nothing I could do better for whatever baby I one day adopt, and I'd say don't fear the baby-ages, I had no experience with babies till my cousin had a daughter and I begun babysitting her (with her older brother), and I must say I never had a bad experience with her and haven't all the way up to the age she is now: 4, despite me babysitting her regularly.
I think people just don't understand babies, once you understand them and simply listen to them, as silly as it sounds, things are just wonderful.

I'd be more than happy to adopt older than a baby, but sadly unless I do find a woman to pair up with then that's much harder for whatever reason.

Happy momming :)

The older kids really want to be adopted, too. People often forget that. A friend of mine used to be a social worker, and she said teenagers are the most overlooked group when it comes to adoption, because people think they're "too old." So, she's very happy we're adopting a teenager. Also, foster care never puts teenagers up for adoption unless they have expressed a desire to be adopted. Some would prefer to age out and go into the military or something else they have planned, so those kids aren't brought out for potential parents to meet. If they're available for adoption, it's because they want to be. The girl we're adopting has said she just wants to feel normal, like any other teenage girl, and to have parents who love her. We can do that.

And, at least where I live, adopting from foster care costs almost nothing. The only expense is an attorney to finalize the adoption when the time comes, and the state even reimburses you for most of that. You get a monthly stipend to take care of them until they're 18, they have their own state-issued health insurance, and they get free tuition to any in-state college for as many degrees as they want until they're 28. The financial barrier to adopting from foster care, as we are doing, is ridiculously low, so anyone who has a heart for adoption can do it. Now, adopting an infant from a private adoption agency is crazy expensive, and can cost as much, or more, than IVF and other fertility treatments. But foster care adoption is something anyone can do. You just have to take the (free) parenting classes and pass the (free) home study, and you're good to go.

The girl we're adopting is still pretty naive about the real world, having been in foster care since she was 11, and her social workers were concerned if she aged out without getting adopted, the outside world would eat her up. They're very happy she's getting a home with us, and so is she. Her only other plan if she didn't get adopted was to go live with her biological dad hundreds of miles away, who she hasn't seen since she was eight, and who voluntarily gave up his parental rights long ago. He started calling her a year ago, and they get supervised weekly phone calls, and she knows she COULD go stay with him, but also knows it would be a path to nowhere, as he isn't able or willing to offer her the opportunities she needs to follow her dreams (she currently wants to be a professional chef and go to culinary school). We don't mind if she keeps calling her bio dad, and we're willing to help her keep up visits with her younger brother, who was adopted by another woman as a single parent.

That's another thing. You can be single, married, gay, straight, any religion, race, or nationality to adopt from foster care here. As far as age goes, you have to be at least twenty-one, and there is no upper age limit, as long as you are physically, mentally, and financially able to care for the child.

There are a lot of foster kids in need of a forever family. Even as a single man, you could do it. Consider it. It's incredibly rewarding. :)

Congratulations! It's really great thing in you life!

congratulations! navigating fertility and what way a woman wants to have a child or whether she wants to are such big questions, and I appreciate learning about how other women come to their answers, thanks for the post!

It was hard giving up on the idea of having a biological child, and I haven't actually entirely given up on it. But, if it doesn't happen, I'm okay with it now. It took a while to get to that place. I'm just as much of a mom by adopting a teen as I am if I give birth to a baby. :)

That's great news! I just added you to my AutoSteem. Maybe it will help boost some of your payouts (a little) and help pay for those diapers! Congratulations!

Thanks! I appreciate it. I was getting some pretty decent payouts on just about every post before I took my Steemit break, but it's taking a while for my former audience to find me again. A few have welcomed me back, and I've found some new followers, but it's not like it was. I used to get at least one whale vote on each post, and I haven't had a single whale sighting since my return. Maybe the whales are doing things differently now. Anyway, any extra post promotion I can get is good. And, I'm sure the 17 year old who is about to become my daughter will appreciate the diapers. Lol! I mused on Twitter recently if I could get a baby shower for adopting a teenage girl. She'll need a car, a phone, a computer, and a prom dress, after all. ;)

Congratulations on the news @stephmckenzie!

Thank you for the honest and beatiful way you shared that important moment of your life with us here.

About the payouts, it may be a consequence of the Whales-No-Voting Experiment (take a look at @abit's page) but don't worry about it, they will come back after hard-fork 19.

Wish all the best to you and your familly!

Greetings from Brazil =)

Thanks, @akro! I'm really happy, and a bit freaked out at the same time. Lol! It's a big change, but one I definitely feel is the right thing to do, and this girl in particular. Everyone on her social work/adoption team, as well as me and my mother, kind of feel like we were guided to her, and it's meant to be. I think it will be extremely rewarding.

I JUST bought my first crypto, literally moments ago. I'm planning to trade it and get myself a good enough portfolio and balance to use to get her the things she needs, and maybe pay off my house and/or car while I'm at it. The less debt, the better, and I've been educating myself on crypto enough lately that I know it's the way to go. Look at how Steem has been going through the roof. It's definitely an exciting time to be involved. So, if the payouts here aren't what they once were, for the time being, I can still trade other crypto based on what I'm learning here and elsewhere. It definitely feels like a better investment than the stock market. In fact, I just moved my very meager stock holdings to Bitcoin, then used that to purchase some other crypto coins I've read about and feel are good investments. I actually think Bitcoin is safer than stocks right now.

Thank you, @stephmckenzie!

I do not have kids and I am not sure if I will have someday, but I found refreshing and very interesting to read that you wanted kids but not babies. Actually, it gave me a new perspective that I've never considered before.

About investing in cryptocurrencies, it's was a bold move to make. For sure it's very exciting to be involved in the revolution that is happening and most people here on steemit are crypto enthusiast, including myself. Therefore, most of us are super optimistic and belive blockchain applications are the not only the future of money but also the future of all services/relations that need trust on a non-trust enviroment.

That said, this future we can see may be just around the corner or very far from now,. That is something we can only guess since it depends on many factors no one control nor can predict with confidence: when will it gain mass adoption? How will the banks and legislatores react? What are the next technological advances and how they will influence blockchain technology? There are some anwers, but no one can be 100% sure.

For that reason - and I am a very positive person but also realistic about that - I belive that moving all your reserves/investment is a very risk although promissing move. On the other hand, if it all happens in the best way possible, the way I belive and hope it will, then even a small investment now will give massive returns in the future. In my case, I invest no more than 20% of my savings in crypto and 80% in more safe/traditional choices like real state funds.

Just to be clear: I am not telling you to do the same or saying I disagree with your decision. I just want to give you a different perspective to consider as much as you gave one to me today.

All the best!

Glad we could be of benefit to each other. :)

congratulations ... And its a girl

Congratulations! Coming soon

Oh yes. Thank you. :)

Congratulations! We are four girls in the family and I am the eldest :) Btw, we have the same name too lol! @stephmckenzie

Thank you. It's nice to meet you, @hellolylo. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42