Sort:  

Thanks! I appreciate it. I was getting some pretty decent payouts on just about every post before I took my Steemit break, but it's taking a while for my former audience to find me again. A few have welcomed me back, and I've found some new followers, but it's not like it was. I used to get at least one whale vote on each post, and I haven't had a single whale sighting since my return. Maybe the whales are doing things differently now. Anyway, any extra post promotion I can get is good. And, I'm sure the 17 year old who is about to become my daughter will appreciate the diapers. Lol! I mused on Twitter recently if I could get a baby shower for adopting a teenage girl. She'll need a car, a phone, a computer, and a prom dress, after all. ;)

Congratulations on the news @stephmckenzie!

Thank you for the honest and beatiful way you shared that important moment of your life with us here.

About the payouts, it may be a consequence of the Whales-No-Voting Experiment (take a look at @abit's page) but don't worry about it, they will come back after hard-fork 19.

Wish all the best to you and your familly!

Greetings from Brazil =)

Thanks, @akro! I'm really happy, and a bit freaked out at the same time. Lol! It's a big change, but one I definitely feel is the right thing to do, and this girl in particular. Everyone on her social work/adoption team, as well as me and my mother, kind of feel like we were guided to her, and it's meant to be. I think it will be extremely rewarding.

I JUST bought my first crypto, literally moments ago. I'm planning to trade it and get myself a good enough portfolio and balance to use to get her the things she needs, and maybe pay off my house and/or car while I'm at it. The less debt, the better, and I've been educating myself on crypto enough lately that I know it's the way to go. Look at how Steem has been going through the roof. It's definitely an exciting time to be involved. So, if the payouts here aren't what they once were, for the time being, I can still trade other crypto based on what I'm learning here and elsewhere. It definitely feels like a better investment than the stock market. In fact, I just moved my very meager stock holdings to Bitcoin, then used that to purchase some other crypto coins I've read about and feel are good investments. I actually think Bitcoin is safer than stocks right now.

Thank you, @stephmckenzie!

I do not have kids and I am not sure if I will have someday, but I found refreshing and very interesting to read that you wanted kids but not babies. Actually, it gave me a new perspective that I've never considered before.

About investing in cryptocurrencies, it's was a bold move to make. For sure it's very exciting to be involved in the revolution that is happening and most people here on steemit are crypto enthusiast, including myself. Therefore, most of us are super optimistic and belive blockchain applications are the not only the future of money but also the future of all services/relations that need trust on a non-trust enviroment.

That said, this future we can see may be just around the corner or very far from now,. That is something we can only guess since it depends on many factors no one control nor can predict with confidence: when will it gain mass adoption? How will the banks and legislatores react? What are the next technological advances and how they will influence blockchain technology? There are some anwers, but no one can be 100% sure.

For that reason - and I am a very positive person but also realistic about that - I belive that moving all your reserves/investment is a very risk although promissing move. On the other hand, if it all happens in the best way possible, the way I belive and hope it will, then even a small investment now will give massive returns in the future. In my case, I invest no more than 20% of my savings in crypto and 80% in more safe/traditional choices like real state funds.

Just to be clear: I am not telling you to do the same or saying I disagree with your decision. I just want to give you a different perspective to consider as much as you gave one to me today.

All the best!

Glad we could be of benefit to each other. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33