@scrooger's 700km+ Cross Country - South Korea - Cycling Trip - Day 2 - 73.3km

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

20171002_094555.jpg

First of all, I know this post is very late. I initially planned on doing these posts while on my trip. Little did I know it was extremely hard to find an internet cafe while cycling and I underestimated how tired I would be. The main cities are littered with Internet Cafe's (more commonly known as a PC Bang). Ask any Korean kid and they can direct you to the nearest pc bang. It's where they hang out most of the time. After finally getting some good rest and being back in my normal routine I can get these posts out and be active again! Anyway, let's get to it. Day 2!


Test 2.png

DAY 2


After cycling around 100km on day 1 I expected to be quite sore the next day. Thankfully, my legs were fine, BUT as soon as I sat down on my bike I knew my ass will be the one suffering the most on this trip. Even though I have a padded seat, sitting for so long on such a small seat takes its toll...

The day started off quite cool with some light rain. Even though I am not a fan of getting wet and cycling in the rain for kilometers on end. I was relieved that it was not sunny and scorching hot.

20171002_090308.jpg

20171002_093005.jpg

The track was still a little wet but luckily not slippery.

20171002_094602.jpg

20171002_095713.jpg

Some lovely scenery of the track and the extremely low hanging clouds. Luckily the rain stopped and I could not be happier about the weather! Cool and calm with a slight breeze, perfect cycling weather!

Finally some off-road trails! Whoohoo!

20171002_115210.jpg

It ended right around the corner, a total of about 20m off-road... pfff...

20171002_121444.jpg

Farms, farms and more farms!

20171002_125817.jpg

Some of these farmers have some really awesome houses! It's quite rare to see such a big beautiful house with a yard in Korea. Was something I really miss from back home.
20171002_122942.jpg

Cool temple in the distance, sadly I could not enter it,
Test 2.png

By now I was really searching for a internet cafe as I knew I had to do some work on Steemit, updating some projects and doing some admin. The first town I cycled through was a dud and I headed for the next one. Eventually found one! This was after cycling a good 30minutes out of my way.

20171002_144915.jpg

Something you might not know about PC Bangs in Korea, they serve food! You have a menu and everything! So it's as simple as ordering and paying and they deliver the food to you within minutes. Most Korean kids go for the easy and cheap Ramen noodles. I was starving already so I went for some fried chicken, delicious!

20171002_154529.jpg

The setup is quite cool, a massive monitor and noise-canceling headphones (trust me you need these, the Korean kids shout all kinds of bad things while gaming). All this for around $1 per hour. Not too shabby!

20171002_154536.jpg

Test 2.png

After the admin and post updates it was time to head out and make up for some time lost, around 2 hours to be exact. The wather was still gloomy but much appreciated! It was hot, but luckily no sun!

20171002_155837.jpg

20171002_162752.jpg

20171002_164524.jpg

Rice, rice and more rice!

20171002_172118.jpg

Whoohoo! Another checkpoint to get a stamp! So nice reaching these!

20171002_173705.jpg

20171002_173711.jpg

It was getting dark and I knew I was not going to reach the 100km I set out to do... bummer... a little behind schedule now. No worries though, it's only day 2. The big Steemit updates are done and I can enjoy the rest of the trip and do what I need to from my phone.

20171002_174425.jpg

20171002_174450.jpg

Spot the duckies!


20171002_175025.jpg

20171002_180029.jpg

No matter how many times I tried, I could not catpure this sunset the way it was in real life. Tried all kinds of camera settings, just couldn't get it. This was the best picture of about 20 taken.

Test 2.png

Now being dark I cycled towards the light, looking for Motel lights in the distance. Finally found one and booked it. The room was pretty cool! Had to sleep on the floor but was just grateful for a place to rest. Most of today was agains the wind so my legs were feeling it a bit... and my ass was still on fire! =P

20171002_192156.jpg

20171002_192204.jpg

This was the computer I used to make the Day 1 cycling post.

Test 2.png

All and all a great day, didn't get lost. Update most of the Steemit projects and enjoyed the PC Bang. Not too shabby. Need to catch up though! Still a long way to go!

Screenshot_20171010-222804.jpg

20171011_133108.jpg

See you tomorrow for DAY 3!

Test 2.png

Camera: Samsung Note 8.

Test 2.png

SSS.png

Test 2.png

Thank you for reading! Steem on Steemians!

Banner.png

Sort:  

Such an adventure! Your photos are great and I love seeing the Korean countryside! You documented the day very well... makes me feel like I was there with you...without getting saddle sore myself!

Haha, this was a pretty chilled day, there is more to come so stick around, my saddle gets a lot more sore near the end. =P hehe

Thanks for always checking in on my posts =)

A nice ride this! Love to see fellow leg-powered Steemians blogging this type of stuff :D

Leg-powered Steemians! Hahaha! Thanks for that! It was indeed a nice ride! Not all of it was this smooth though, Korea has many mountains, you will see them a bit later on! =)

I bet! Mallorca has some pretty good climbs but I doubt I can sway the missus into riding up hill, unless I lie and say there are some amazing shops at the top!

Hahaha, I actually saw a Korean couple where the guy had a rope tied to his wife's bike! Was quite funny thinking he is just pulling her all over Korea. Guess you could go for that option. Then again, getting off and pushing your bike a few hundred meters aren't that bad. =)

No idea where Mallorca is, share some pics!

Its an option! I do push up the occasional hill but no chance is that happening for 30km!

https://steemit.com/travel/@abh12345/travel-cycling-to-cala-anguila-mallorca

Few pics / map / cycling here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.7% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @scrooger
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @scrooger to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Very nice post;)Always wanted to travel to Korea! Everything on your photos looks so pretty)))Make me wanna go there even more and explore, and of course enjoy some delicious korean food😁

The first time for me to be in the country side of Korea. So beautiful and good to get out of the city for once. If you like spicy food then Korea is the place for you. You will fall in love with it! I know I did!

Yeah,it’s always good to get out of the city 😁When I studied Chinese I used to have many Korean classmates, they were all very nice and funny))I love spicy food, it’s my favorite I would sure enjoy my trip there!

korea is beautiful, love the scenery , the sunset. not much of a gamer, you make feel like am part of the journey. and the the way you tell the story is classy. thanks for the post

Thanks so much! There is more to come so stick around, some awesome pictures to follow this post. This is day 2 of about 8 =)

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow! Am enjoying your pics... and travelling along... Like Melinda sasid, minus the sore bottom! Hehehe... Am off to go look for your Day 1 which I missed... :)

Awesome! Thanks for checking them out! Truly was an amazing trip! The sore bottom was the worst of it all, the rest was all smooth sailing, except for being very tired most of the time. =P

Honestly I know little about South Korea. Thanks for showing these beautiful pictures.
Lovely scenery, looks quite peaceful there.
I look forward to day 3. :-)

It was very peaceful! So lovely, I work mostly in the city so always used to loads of cars and noise. Was nice being able to enjoy some peace and quiet. =)

Day 3 will be posted tonight, still sorting out the photos. Thanks for tagging along! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67