Illegal mining in Bali: we have a RIVER to SAVE!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Today I re-ignited an old account for a VERY IMPORTANT REASON!

Illegal mining in Bali.

It is a subject close to my heart now that I have been living here for two years. And I will be posting about it regularly from @savetukadpetanu (save Petanu River). So please check in there and follow the account for updates on progress towards a SOLUTION.

Watch this 1 minute film (shot from my living room) and you will understand immediately why I feel strongly about this!

Why is this happening?

The illegal sandstone mining along this river has dramatically increased since Bali's tourism boom turned it into such a desirable product:

  • it is a soft rock, which makes it easier to cut.

  • it is very porous, so plants are able to attach themselves to the sides, making any building or temple look organic and natural very quickly.

  • it is desirable as a product across Asia so it is now exported too. Singapore is a large customer.

Esteban adventuring.jpg
Here you can see my son Esteban enjoying the ambience of this porous rock!

Before the tourist boom

Hand tools were used to cut the sandstone blocks for the local temples in the past.

final product.jpg

Today however things have changed. Not only are the tools different but the end destination of the rock is different.

Just 40 years ago a picture from this angle above Kuta in south Bali would have shown you nothing but rice fields and beautiful green perfection.
CK1xMV9VEAAj_me.jpg-large.jpg
Source
Now it looks like this.

The majority of this illegally mined rock is used to construct huge tourist resorts, intent on one goal: MAXIMUM PROFIT!

Since arriving here in Bali 2 years ago it has become clear to me now that something must be done. Before it is too late!

mine 1.jpg

IT IS ILLEGAL YET IT CONTINUES!

Bribery is common practice here in Asia and the mine owners simply pay off the police who permit this rape of the land in exchange for cash. Untaxed & under the table, this is a crime which must be addressed for the benefit of all who live on this little island.

474A6260.jpg

The Effect

We all know you cannot mess with the natural balance of nature.

There is a complex ecosystem at work in this jungle valley.

And it has been working in perfect symbiosis for thousands of years.

To cut away at the side of the valley in such a vicious manner will bring only imbalance to this natural order, leaving the luscious farm land of future generations as a wasteland of rubble upon which their crops cannot grow.

Even the flow of the river itself is being restricted more and more each year as the disregarded irregular shaped boulders are thrown into the water, building up over time.

On top of this, there have been deaths working in these mines because there are no health and safety standards. And the minimum wage they are paid is ridiculous when compared to Western standards.

working conditions.jpg

THE SOLUTION

The building of awareness is the first step towards a solution. Not many people know about this!

I recently walked down to the mine and shot a bunch of footage from which I have made a film.

MY INTENTION

It is my intention that with my soon to be released documentary film in combination with the help of this amazing supportive Steemit community, I will be able to raise money which can be put towards existing campaigns - to be outlined in later posts.

What can you do to help this cause?

Simply RESTEEM this to get the word out there. I'm not going to beg for your upvotes.

I will be posting regularly in the @savetukadpetanu account with images, statistics and progress reports on the SOLUTIONS which are moving towards us even now as i write these words 🙏🏻

14151784_10209657046436286_1840530352_o.jpg
See how they are literally cutting chunks out of the side of the land. This is the cold hard truth of it.

But we must look at it now with SOLUTIONS in mind!

How long can this continue?

It is clear from the above image that if this is not stopped, eventually there will be no more land left to mine!

With your help we will build awareness and put an end to this madness, finding alternative, eco friendly jobs for all those who rely on this type of work to make a living.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and if you feel it stir something in your soul, you must respond to this feeling!

....and share this message far and wide, with your focus upon the SOLUTION.

Blessings to you all from this beautiful yet broken part of the world 🌿

untitled.jpg

Sort:  

Another attack on Mother Earth. I'm very sad to experience such happening. Human greed is boundless, but karma hit back in the form of natural disasters.
I've just came back from Transsylvania. Unfortunately, many of the forests have been wiped out there. Global warming is very noticeable. We were in the coldest part of Transylvania and there was 32 degrees all the time. The normal temperature of that area used to be 25 degrees in summer.

Wow! didn't know any of that about Transylvania. Thank you for alerting me. I feel a post coming on. You should let everyone know!

I am blessed to have knowledge of the solutions to our particular problem in Bali and look forward to sharing them.

Your place looks paradise... But it is mankind that is up for turning the paradise into hell. Corrupt hearts of man are never satisfied...they dont tend to think of other living beings if their interests are met...
I have seen such changes in my state as well...Paradise turning to hell...I understand the concern...But the system needs to intervene on ground zero, imposing laws but not implementing them is just saying abt the corruption of state.

We are pure at our core. Life and it's experiences hold us back from the beauty of this core. We can only see through one perspective. Our own! It's a subject I love to discuss with people. And now that I have two babies I am seeing how the perception of my wife and myself are building their own perceptions of the world.

So, there can be no blame or negative thoughts. Only a focus on the solution.

I appreciate your comment very much and I would be interested to know where you are from?

Simply un-comprehensible how the 'system' can work with bribes... why have laws at all? Re-Steemed and up-voted. Thanks for raising awerness

Thank you. Yes, it is different here in Asia. My father taught me this many years ago. They don't even have a word for bribery in many places because to them it's just standard practice.

Thanks for sharing an issue that I was unaware of. I live in Thailand now, and Bali is a place that I visit often. But now that I know about this, I'll be more careful about my travel footprint.

Thanks for your input. Travel footprint is important but building awareness is more important. Please follow the @savetukadpetanu account and resteem that which is posted there. Many thanks :)

Great post, great issues to be concerned about. I follow palm oil plantations and exploitation myself. Resteeming

Another HUGE subject I am yet to tackle. I saw with my own eyes what they are doing to Java. It's total madness.

The land is literally DEAD after they are done with it.

Thanks for reminding me of the need for posting about this subject. You should get in there yourself and let me know when you post about this subject. I will upvote you at 100% & resteem it to my followers which will help both of us :)

private message me on steemit.chat when you post.

Good idea, I'll put it on my "to do" list.

I posted about palm oil. I'll let you know in chat as well. Have a good one!

oh how tragic! Thanks for bringing it to everyones attention! Resteeming and following you

thanks for the comment. it will not be tragic when we find the solution :)

I'll upvote and follow for the environment!

nevermind... already following!

haha! know that feeling ;)

Amazing... thank you for posting. We are full time on the road with our two young girls in the US for now - considering going across the lake. It's a big world. What made you decide on Bali? We are looking for a new place to live. Thanks for sharing your experience and this eye opening news.

Bali is amazing really. Though not so much the built up area in the south. I was invited to Bali to work for an old school friend. And I like to go with the flow so to speak, so have stayed now for two years and now have two children.... and the energy of this special island has unquestionably changed my life for the better :)

Thank you Excellent post

Thanks very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76