"The Stranger - Papa's Advice for Newer Users" ....Throwback Thursday of a Fellow Steemian's Post

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

thurs throw papa2.gif

Throwing some highlight on superb Posts in the past here at Steemit. Here's an excellent one from none other than @Pappa-Pepper himself. I thought it was a worthy post to discuss a bit with some of my own commentary. Here is the link to Pppa-Pepper's blog post The Stranger : Papa's Advice for Newer Users Part 1

So who is @Papa-Pepper ?

Well, he was probably one of the first Steemians I started Following when I joined in December 2017'. He is a true Blogger in every sense of the word. Detailing his Life as a Homesteader everyday, (multiple times a day) he has amazing energy and you can see it as it comes out so obviously in his writing and videos.

He is also a very deep Thinker and articulates very well his own Beliefs and how he applies it to his own Life. And ,imho , seems to be a person who constantly demonstrates a lot of empathy to people and the World around him.

Source Photo Bottom Right

His advice for New Users at Steemit ...

I'll just bullet some of his main points ...
  • @Papa-Pepper talks about how some new Steemians say "hey I can do that" no problem. And he agrees. But what they do not realize is he had spent well over a year ( and still does) posting EVERYDAY ( Yes EVERYDAY, folks) 3 or 4 times per day. And making tens of thousands of Comments and Replies interacting with other Steemians.

  • He makes a point to tell newbies that NO ONE including him makes it after just a month or two at Steemit !

  • He notes that it seems simple but you have to "exist". In other wards, you have to let people know you're around. And you need to be consistent in posting Content. So many Steemians write a few posts and then stop , he's observed. Or maybe they post and then come back a month later to post again. That won't work, he points out

  • Papa goes on to talk about how important it is to introduce yourself. If you missed the intro post at least drop by and give an Upvote or Comment to other Steemains and let them know you have "moved into the neighborhood ".

  • Making a first impression is so important, Papa says. When you go to someone's blog be sure to leave a relevant and well thought out reply. Do NOT just go there say "Upvote ME" or "Follow ME" in your Comment. That is a horrible first impression :(

Is what @Papa-Pepper Advises something that is Doable for Newbies ?

Absolutely !! But I think it's important to note that to be able to do it and have success you must have a conviction and commitment to really want to put the work in. And do it for months on end with the distinct likelihood that you will not earn a whole lot starting out. And also be consistent as he repeatedly points out. Does that mean doing it 3 or 4 times per day like him ? No, I do not think that is for everyone. The most important thing is to make sure you interact enough to where other Steemians will "know you exist". And they will begin to appreciate what you bring to the platform.

Source Right

Conclusion...

This blog post was just Part 1. Here's Part 2 to check out... Stranger 2
and Part 3 ... Stranger 3
I think EVERY Steemian should make it a point to read overall these three Posts.
Also I would encourage if you haven't already to check out and definitely Follow @papa-pepper and his Blog.

Some really top quality stuff.. And I do realize you may not be a Homesteader , and you may not be able to relate to him in this capacity. But what you can do is observe some of the principles of high quality writing and good communication and effective interaction in nearly everything @Papa-Pepper does.

Cheers to great Content,
Robert Andrew


Below is his most recent Video where he talks about certain phrases and how they originated and applying it to his Homestead Life,

Sort:  

Oh @papa-pepper is my role model steemian. He does it too well. He also inspires me to dream of a simple homesteading life back home soon.

Wow, thank you for that!

Sounds good, @arrliinn. Thanks for visiting and for your Reply

This is totally spot on, I like that you are sharing the wisdom of this amazing content creator - I have enjoyed many of his posts but now as I become so busy on here myself I try to just focus on the accounts I need to support the growing ones. It's a shame because I have enjoyed so many posts from established accounts. All of this is spot on though, starting out on here is tough and you are never just going to pitch up and starting getting big rewards - this a long game and you have to be committed to create regular content - and just like you have here put as much as you can into a post - some people do very well out of single photo posts - but they are often incredible photographers and not everyone can pull off an amazing shot - me for example! The best advise I ever had on here, find the content you enjoy and make your own content similar to it.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you @c0ff33a for such a well thought out and thorough Reply :) I totally get what you are saying. It is tough when you are trying to Focus on that and the smaller accounts. Thank you and I'm sure Papa can appreciate that !!

This was a clever idea @robertandrew; who doesn't like a Throwback Thursday?!?! And, I've heard @pappa-pepper's name but never knew anything about him, so it's cool to meet someone new. Thanks!

thank you @coachjj. Yeah, wish I could take credit as being clever for that phrase . But I figure if America's Funniest Home Videos could do it on Sunday Nights (yep they do Throwback Thursdays on Sundays) why not me ?? LOL

This is a wonderful summary! Just started following @Papa-pepper! Wonderful advice!

Glad you like it @mcoinz79. Thanks

This is an amazing reflection and summary of that post. Thank you so much for your efforts in encouraging others and sharing this advice. I appreciate it, and hopefully it'll bless others.

Hey man thanks for dropping by. Appreciate what you're doing !! And that Article was one of the best pieces of advice when I first joined. It's kept me going and motivated all this time

@papa-pepper was one of the very early ones I followed also so generous and a great ambassador for Steemit

This was a clever idea @robertandrew; who doesn't like a Throwback Thursday?!?! And, I've heard @pappa-pepper's name but never knew anything about him, so it's cool to meet someone new. Thanks!

Very good story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23