Why Is It So Hard To Be Consistent?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

"Where have you been?"

Once I sit down to do it, it's never very hard at all. Writing, graphic design, my boss' taxes -- once I decide it's time to do what I need to do, the do-ing is always the easiest part.

The hard part is, and always has been, consistency. Here today, gone tomorrow. I am and then I ain't.

The self-criticism doesn't help. It manifests as visions of mean texts from ex-boyfriends, dirty looks from old friends. Rude tweets that don't exist yet.

"What if I don't want the Internet to know anything about me at all?"

When I'm not writing, it's not because I don't have anything to say. It's usually because I have so much to say I can feel it bursting from my fingertips and I know if I let it all out I'll have probably said too much.

Creating is the easy part.

I'd like to have my own little place here on the Internet. Somewhere I can talk about the design of old Mac computers, how pretty sneakers are, the crazy plot of this romantic comedy you forgot about.

Unfortunately (and I mean truly unfortunately), I feel pressure to rack up page views, earn unique visitors, seek approval from strangers in a made up world.

"Nobody talks about e-social anxiety."

I think I'm meant to start a magazine. Lately I can feel that in my heart. I don't think I was meant for a "personal brand" that isn't at least a little bit out of focus. I think I was meant to tell stories.

Style Mood Board 01.png
Pretty Decent Mood Board 001 -- I've been trying harder on Instagram lately. Follow me? <3

12 Things I Want To Do With My Life

  1. Interview Chance the Rapper
  2. Publish my own magazine
  3. Look at the Eiffel Tower
  4. Fall in love without getting bored
  5. Direct a music video
  6. Write a book
  7. Buy my mom a house
  8. Go to a live taping of SNL
  9. Talk to Frank Ocean
  10. Tell an important story
  11. Learn to make homemade pasta
  12. Please God

Breaker.png

I move to New York City in two days. :)

Thanks for hanging out with me online! Sorry for disappearing. I'll have a lot more to talk about soon.

Signature.png

P.S. My mom @gatorlynne just published the fourth chapter of her Steemit-exclusive novel. Check it out!

Sort:  

Everyone who’s anyone is moving to New York these days.. I feel left out. But, best of luck with the coming changes.

I hear you. Consistency is hard for me for my doctoral work as well. That's why it's taken me longer than I'd like.

Yesterday I was listening to a podcast by Tim Ferris where he interviewed Jocko Willink, one of the most decorated Navy Seals ever. He just recently retired. In the podcast Tim Ferris asked him what his central maxim in life is and he said this: discipline equals freedom.

What he meant by that is when you discipline and schedule your life, you get a lot more done.

sigh

It's something I often struggle with, but I'm trying to get better at.

Especially since I have a goal of submitting my dissertation by June :)

Blessings as you transition to NYC!

Congratulations @prettydecent! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @prettydecent! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91