The list of books I want to read

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I really enjoy a good fantasy book, so looking up a few today got me excited.

IMG_20170611_093216Medium.jpg

It is my birthday in less than two weeks and that means people generally want a list of things you want as a gift (gifts are so hard). So today, I finally got around to making one (online, how handy).

I never know what to ask for my birthday, so I just end up asking for books. This year, I'm asking for a few books, written by my favorite writers. I also found a few other interesting books, so I threw them in there to get to know new writers aswell.

The writers I'm most excited about and the books I'm asking for:

Michael J. Sullivan
Michael J. Sullivan wrote the Ryria Revelations series, one of my favorite, if not my very top favorite book series so far. He has just released his first book of his new The legends of the first empire series: Age of Myth. I'm very excited to read this one.

Brent Weeks
Brent Weeks wrote The Night Angel trilogy, which is also one of my favorite book series. I have not read his other series yet: Lightbringer, so I'm asking for the first book, called The Black Prism.

Terry Goodkind
Terry Goodkind wrote the Sword of Truth series, which I found, after seeing the series The legend of the Seeker, based on his books. I read all of them. While I didn't enjoy all of them equally and there were some slow parts, I did really love the story as a whole. His latest book, Death's Mistress, is a spinoff from the previous books and it features a few characters we already met before. I'm very interested to see the quality of this book, but from what I've read so far, it's a step up from the last books of the series, so I'm excited!

The two wildcards on the list are:
Juliet Marillier - Dreamer's Pool
Sarah Beth Durst - The Queen of Blood

I don't know these writers yet, but the stories sound interesting and the reviews seem promising. I'm still waiting for Patrick Rothfuss to release the third book in his The Kingkiller Chronicle series, but I've given up hope on that ever appearing by now.

Do you enjoy fantasy books? Which ones would you suggest I read?



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

My recommendation would vary on what length of series you are looking for. If you are looking for an epic 10+ book series I would go with Malazan book of the fallen or anything by Robin Hobb(though read the series in order)

If you just want a trilogy then Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson or the first law trilogy by Joe Abercrombie are both worth it (seconding the earlier comments)

If you just want a stand alone fantasy novel, maybe Neverwhere or American Gods by Neil Gaiman. Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay is really good as well.

I actually just opened up your post about stand alone fantasy books! I don't think I've ever read a stand alone fantasy book yet, but figured I'd check out which ones you posted!

The Malazan book of the fallen first book is actually in my amazon wishlist aswell and Mistborn is on my birthday wishlist right now. Robin Hobb though, I don't think I've read any book yet...

Thank you so much for the advice! I'm always happy to have new book options :D

Always happy to share the books I enjoy. Robin Hobb is probably the best female fantasy author I have read. Her works start with the Farseer Trilogy, followed by another 3 trilogies and a 4 book series all set in the same world.

As far as the solo fantasy books go, if you read American Gods you can catch up before the second season of the TV show comes out :)

Ooh there's a show for that one!

I'm going to wait until my birthday next week to see if I get any of the books I asked for. After that, I now have a nice list to get for myself. No need to get bored any time soon.

Thanks for giving me an idea of where to start for Robin Hobb's books by the way :-)

Seeing the books you want to read and the ones you've read (or, like me, are waiting for), if you haven't, read the Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson. Or, also by Sanderson, The Stormlight Archive, starting with The Way of Kings
Anything by Sanderson is a great read to be honest. The Lightbringer Trilogy is something you'll love I'm sure.
Then there's The Gentleman Bastards series by Scott Lynch. There's more ofcourse but these'll sort you for a good long while.

Seconded on the Sanderson recommendation. Mistborn or Warbreaker is probably a good place to start.

I was actually thinking about getting the Mistborn series, thanks for the suggestion, makes me want to try it more (added to the wishlist)! If I like it, I'll be sure to check out his other books.

I borrowed The Lies of Locke Lamora from my brother once, but for some reason, I couldn't stay interested. Might have just been tired of reading though. I can always borrow it again some day (he loves English fantasy books aswell!).

yeah the Lies of Locke Lamora is a different breed of fantasy to be sure. For me I couldn't get into The First Law trilogy by Abercrombie. Just remembered, if you happen to be into the Space Opera genre, then I can wholeheartedly recommend the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown as well. Most epic read.

Ooh thanks! I haven't read a lot of space books, but reading the summary, it does sound interesting. I'm not really interested in reading about space ships and space fights and such, but from what I read, that's not really what happens in these books. Am I right in thinking that?

You're totally right. Although it's a mixed bag (you can't have space opera without spaceships and fights) it's mostly about a skewed society and how the protagonist climbs up in it. I never read a trilogy this fast I can tell you.

Sounds good! I've added it to my wishlist, so I won't forget about it :-)

Joe Abercrombie!!

Or failing that Patrick Rothfuss, the man is a poet!

I haven't read anything of Joe Abercrombie yet! Yeah, I read Patrick Rothfuss's books, but he still hasn't released part 3 yet :-(

I am sure it's meant to be coming this year. He had probably gotten himself into a bind because it was meant to be a trilogy and is nowhere near done!!

I love Joe's stuff. Dead gritty but really well written

Maybe! I hope it will get released soon. By now, I'll have to re-read the last book, because I can't remember much anymore :D

I actually just noticed I have one of Joe's books in my Amazon wishlist. I'm sure I'll get to that one! Thanks for the suggestion!

Which Abercrombie book do you have on your wish list?

The Blade Itself, I think I found it after I read the Ryria Revelations and Night Angel series and was looking for books that might be a bit like those :-)

Alright, thats a good starting point. It is the first book in the first law trilogy.

I was just concerned it might be one of the 3 novels set after that trilogy and you miss out on a bit if you read any of those before reading the First Law.

Thanks for checking! Yeah, it's really hard to pick the right starting point sometimes. I do try to check out an author's bibliography when I notice a book is part of a series (which many fantasy books are). Though it gets a bit annoying when the prequels are written at a later date, because then I have to pick between chronologically for the story or for when they were written.

Snap, I can't go into reading the third without remembering the second!

Snap, I can't go into reading the third without rendering the second!

Just started in the Name of the wind.
Just Tolkien when i was younger and gamebooks, love Fantasygames, pc etc.

Dune?

I think Dune is a short series too, right?

Oohps, stopped categorising the genres, throw most fantasy stuff, horror, Sci-Fi etc on my escapism shell.
It's a Sci-Fi classic novel, a whole series attached to it by Frank Herbert.

Very fond of Lovecraft, but that also isn't pure fantasy.

I will look into Dune, I have been meaning to for a while but stuff got in the way... just, you know... stuff. I don't really know what!

I'll check Lovecraft!

If you don't know him,
a must,
many shortstories, easy to read full of mythos(Cthulhu), inbreadings etc
:) :)

Alright, sounds good, thanks!

Jacqueline Carey. Start with the Kushiels Dart series. Evil villains you'll hate the most, and written from a unique perspective.

Added to my wishlist, thank you! The reviews seem good, though they say it will take some getting used to at first. No problem once I'm back into reading :D

Its adult fantasy, that's for certain. It is fantastically written.

I enjoy fantasy books, thanks for these tips for reading ^_^

Not a problem! I hope you'll enjoy them as much as I did ^^
I'm actually thinking of re-reading the Ryria Revalations :D

Chris Riddel & Paul Stewart wrote an excellent series called "The Edge Chronicles".... definitely worth checking out.

Thanks! I've just added one of its books to my wishlist :D

Following you for sure, as our bookshelves seem to be identical. Name of the Wind is by far one of the greatest books (and soon to be a trilogy) ever created. In order to feed the need whilst waiting for book 3 in the series I have be reliant upon these.

  1. The Abhorsen trilogy. Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen
  2. Brent Weeks- Night Angel Trilogy.
  3. Joe Abercrombie - Try "Best Served Cold"

Read on my friend!

Ooh awesome! I'm following you too and welcome to Steemit!

Soon to be trilogy? Wait, what have you heard? Is there any news on the last book hitting the stores any time soon?

Thank you very much for the mentioned books, I will keep them in mind (except for the Night Angel trilogy, as I've already read those (and love them)). I just got the Mistborn trilogy, so I'll start on those first :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59