You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The list of books I want to read

in #blog7 years ago

Seeing the books you want to read and the ones you've read (or, like me, are waiting for), if you haven't, read the Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson. Or, also by Sanderson, The Stormlight Archive, starting with The Way of Kings
Anything by Sanderson is a great read to be honest. The Lightbringer Trilogy is something you'll love I'm sure.
Then there's The Gentleman Bastards series by Scott Lynch. There's more ofcourse but these'll sort you for a good long while.

Sort:  

Seconded on the Sanderson recommendation. Mistborn or Warbreaker is probably a good place to start.

I was actually thinking about getting the Mistborn series, thanks for the suggestion, makes me want to try it more (added to the wishlist)! If I like it, I'll be sure to check out his other books.

I borrowed The Lies of Locke Lamora from my brother once, but for some reason, I couldn't stay interested. Might have just been tired of reading though. I can always borrow it again some day (he loves English fantasy books aswell!).

yeah the Lies of Locke Lamora is a different breed of fantasy to be sure. For me I couldn't get into The First Law trilogy by Abercrombie. Just remembered, if you happen to be into the Space Opera genre, then I can wholeheartedly recommend the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown as well. Most epic read.

Ooh thanks! I haven't read a lot of space books, but reading the summary, it does sound interesting. I'm not really interested in reading about space ships and space fights and such, but from what I read, that's not really what happens in these books. Am I right in thinking that?

You're totally right. Although it's a mixed bag (you can't have space opera without spaceships and fights) it's mostly about a skewed society and how the protagonist climbs up in it. I never read a trilogy this fast I can tell you.

Sounds good! I've added it to my wishlist, so I won't forget about it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62