Sort:  

I haven't read anything of Joe Abercrombie yet! Yeah, I read Patrick Rothfuss's books, but he still hasn't released part 3 yet :-(

I am sure it's meant to be coming this year. He had probably gotten himself into a bind because it was meant to be a trilogy and is nowhere near done!!

I love Joe's stuff. Dead gritty but really well written

Maybe! I hope it will get released soon. By now, I'll have to re-read the last book, because I can't remember much anymore :D

I actually just noticed I have one of Joe's books in my Amazon wishlist. I'm sure I'll get to that one! Thanks for the suggestion!

Which Abercrombie book do you have on your wish list?

The Blade Itself, I think I found it after I read the Ryria Revelations and Night Angel series and was looking for books that might be a bit like those :-)

Alright, thats a good starting point. It is the first book in the first law trilogy.

I was just concerned it might be one of the 3 novels set after that trilogy and you miss out on a bit if you read any of those before reading the First Law.

Thanks for checking! Yeah, it's really hard to pick the right starting point sometimes. I do try to check out an author's bibliography when I notice a book is part of a series (which many fantasy books are). Though it gets a bit annoying when the prequels are written at a later date, because then I have to pick between chronologically for the story or for when they were written.

Snap, I can't go into reading the third without remembering the second!

Snap, I can't go into reading the third without rendering the second!

Just started in the Name of the wind.
Just Tolkien when i was younger and gamebooks, love Fantasygames, pc etc.

Dune?

I think Dune is a short series too, right?

Oohps, stopped categorising the genres, throw most fantasy stuff, horror, Sci-Fi etc on my escapism shell.
It's a Sci-Fi classic novel, a whole series attached to it by Frank Herbert.

Very fond of Lovecraft, but that also isn't pure fantasy.

I will look into Dune, I have been meaning to for a while but stuff got in the way... just, you know... stuff. I don't really know what!

I'll check Lovecraft!

If you don't know him,
a must,
many shortstories, easy to read full of mythos(Cthulhu), inbreadings etc
:) :)

Alright, sounds good, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45