I Needed A Change ~ Escape The Routine

in #blog7 years ago

A Day Out On The Town or Free All Your Money!!


After a bad day yesterday and weeks of helping support the renovations, I felt like I needed a change.

This morning I packed up my Daughter and Mother in the car and went for a drive into town.
My Daughter usually takes the bus into the university campus, a three hour round trip so a 45 min ride in the car was much appreciated.

After that my Mother and I went for a cuppa at a local cafe and then off to the haberdashery to choose curtains and matching quilt cover set for the new room we've all been building. As you can imagine this took far longer than expected especially when you add in getting distracted looking around for a dress pattern that we couldn't find.....

Seemingly moments later and it was lunch time, we loaded our haul into the car and went over to the burger joint for a meal. It was not a nice as @wholesomeroots One Pot Chili that I read about while eating, but still a not bad burger! Mum had a very generous chicken and maple bacon salad that looked delicious.

After lunch was off to Bunnings for a roller blind and a quick look in the gardening section. I think we have a little trace element issue, so I just looked at some options for when I'm back into the garden project. Ended up with a 180 x 210 silver block out blind which was fun getting in my car with all the other stuff.

Next stop Car Wash. There is something divine about driving into a building in a dirty dusty car and coming out the other side shiny and clean. I LOVE it!! When she was little my Daughter would request a trip to the car wash and the zoo, and that was her idea of a great day's adventure! We had one secret mission to do while in town today which was completed discretely and you can't know about it until Sunday, if anyone even reads this far in....

All tasks completed and monies returned to the great system our overlords designed for us to cycle endlessly through. We rolled on over to the Uni and picked up the kido for the trip home. Given the size of the day already it was decided that cold meat and some mashed vegetables would suffice for dinner.

All in all a nice relaxing day away from the house, which I haven't had for a few weeks now, was just what I needed. Tomorrow begins the next part of the mission which is moving into my new room and setting up all my gear down there, I'm looking forward to getting established and ending this frustrating half moved half packed temporary oblivion that we've all been in since march.

* * *


Morning Sun.jpg


Thoughts About My Blog
And A Question For You

I've also had some time to think about how I interact with steemit, and what I want to do with it in the future. As in posting frequency, content, design and timing. There's a huge amount of things I want to achieve here and lots of great reasons to use this platform. But... there's always a but. There are just a couple of things that I'm struggling with. This is for another post perhaps?

I'd like some feed back on what you use steemit for. A more specific question about my content is how to get the most out of it for me.
I want to:

  • Post everyday.
  • Post Garden Updates.
  • Sometimes How To or How I Did It posts.
  • Plant feature posts like this and this
  • Food Creating Posts
  • Fun or Inspiring Photographs
  • My random poetry and Prose.
  • Costuming, Crafting and Steampunk, Mr Pemsby Content
  • And these blog Posts with just the ramblings of my day or a memory or a funny story.

I've been feeling like my posts are disorganised and sometimes the pressure to post after the a big day of renovation / cooking / cleaning is daunting. Even the garden is suffering from a lack of loving. So now Today I can see the end of this job and my mind turns back to normal activities, I wanted to talk about these things with you.

  • How to fit all these things into a week?
  • Should I have a one day a week for each thing?
  • Can my love of art and culture even fit in with my gardening and food loving blog?

They are very different topics and yet in some ways they are all the same. They are some of the bits of the things that make me into me.
You don't actually have to answer all these questions hahah, but thank you if you answer one or some!

* * *

Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post

All words and images are 100% original work by @overthewait

Take a look at Yesterday's Awesome Make A Minnow Nomination Post 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

Hi Bryan, as always an interesting read.

Dealing with a diversity of topics is difficult to work through. Maybe have one theme for each day of the week, for example : Monday for gardening, Tuesday for poetry, Wednesday for cooking etc.

And just allow oddballs in for random photos etc as and when you fancy just to keep everyone guessing...

I think you may have a good idea there. I try to use my tags to delineate topics as much as I can. Setting days might be the go.

I think @pennsif has a brilliant idea that will allow for some definition among the chaos.

Yes, as I'm shifting things about today I've had it in the back of my mind. It takes me a long time to think a really good think :-)

Hi, @overthewait! I am relatively new here to steemit, and there are days when I seem to be overwhelmed with choices. But for now, I'm just slowly slogging along trying to get a feel for the lay of the land. I too have a lot of things I would like to post about but right now life seems to be getting in the way:) I am trying to orgnize what I am going to post and I think @pennsif has the right idea.

@aggrod says to serialize posts to establish a continued stream of content for your readers. To keep them coming back and knowing what they are going to get when they do. Setting days for the various genres is a good idea. And/Or being specific with Titles could be another helpful method.

Sounds like a great day! Sometimes you just got to get away for the day to reset! I am glad you enjoyed my chili post! It was delicious!
As far as the blog goes I really can't believe the synchronicity of your thoughts and mine! I was just pondering all this last night! I too want to talk about all the things! My main focus on all my other social media endeavors has always been homesteading. I have not wanted to stray into other topics on those in fear of alienating my follower's. BUT! Here on Steemit, I feel like I can absolutely write about whatever my heart desires! It's so simple to use a different set of tags that takes me to a whole new audience! So, many more followers are able to enjoy what they have an interest in and never even see the stuff they are not! Brilliant! So write about whatever you are in the spirit to write! Your posts are always entertaining! Create a schedule if it helps you but not necessary if it is too confining. Because of the openness of this platform you are free to be creative without constraint! So go be creative!

What a great comment thank you so much! Have an awesome day and welcome to the Minnow Pool ;-)

There are so many areas I can response to in this post, but first things first, I had to look up what a haberdashery was. I have never heard the term and have fallen head over heels in love with it. It sounds so regal.

I wish I had your skill for production. It is one I'm working on and slowly I am seeing an improvement. I'll stop by and upvote after I power back up because this post has really spurred me into thought. What do I want to use Steemit for? I don't have a solid answer.

It is a fun word isn't it! The production and formatting is a mission on its own, there are lots of helpful articles about markdown and html to help or ask in the steemit-talk channel over in slack for specific information. :-)

Thanks for the tips. I've got a few articles lined up to read and I need to check in over at slack more often.

I like these kind of posts, just telling about things that are going on, or have happened lately. In the context of the rest of your posts this rounds off the picture of you and your life.
As for posting every day, it is a noble goal, but in my experience a quickly thrown together post after a hard day is not as much fun (to write or to read) as a well designed one, even after a few days of absence. I know, I have some examples of these myself. What I do like, is having a topic for each day: Monday plants, Wednesday food, Friday art, etc. I was actually thinking about something similar. But even in this I'd maintain a healthy flexibility. There is always some exciting news you'd want to share that could throw off the plan, and why not? Keep your audience on our toes!

Well rounded comment, I'm feeling somewhere between themed days or specific titles like Feature Plant # 3 ~ [plantname] or set some days for topics and leave others open to random life blogs. Thanks for taking time to offer some ideas. See you on the slack!

Your brain sounds a bit like mine at the moment! I'm trying to put priorities in order and decide exactly how I want to use my Steemit account. Initially I thought I'd go more formal with how to articles, but I think reading about the ups and downs of people's days on the homestead can be just as informational. I like the recipes too.

Have you thought of a separate account for the art and cultural side? While I think it is great to see the whole person you are following, the odd post about art and culture in a homestead based blog might get a bit lost for someone who is more passionate about that side of things. Even if you just posted once a week on that other blog and had that day off from this blog, you might have a completely different engagement audience for it, if that makes any sense.

A second account might be an idea. Lots of fiddling about though. Food for thought!
Thank you for the suggestion.

Do and write about what turns you on. Life is too short not to be in touch with your passions and play; otherwise, it will all seem like work.

We both know that there is nothing like playing in the soil.

You are very right. I'm of very similar belief, live while there's living to be done. Take the serious stuff seriously and take everything else with a dose of fun. Thanks for stopping in and leaving a good comment. Peace.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dingo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86