EASY One Pot Chili!

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20170830_200513718.jpg

It's Chili Time!


So even though it's still in the 70's/80's in Georgia, that is a considerable cooling off from our HOT summer weather! Time to make my famous chili! This time I'm adding in fresh organic turmeric and ginger because we need anti-inflammatory right now from all our hard work on our homestead!

A great chili always starts off with quality ingredients! For our veggies, we choose organic, local and/or homegrown! For our family of 6, we do a big pot of chili! I use one Sweet Pepper, two small Vidalia onions, a crap ton of fresh garlic, a handful of ginger and turmeric all chopped up accordingly!

IMG_20170830_145556259.jpg

I heat my cast iron skillet (this time I'm using my big enameled one so I can just keep it all in here) up real good on medium heat and coat it generously with extra virgin olive oil. Then I add my peppers and onions and a good sprinkling of salt to help them release their juices.

IMG_20170830_162637743.jpg

Sautee a little while to get them started and then add the turmeric, ginger, and garlic and stir thoroughly. You may need to add a little more oil if it begins to stick.

IMG_20170830_163116983.jpg

Stir and cook just a little more then push all the veggies to the edge opening up room in the center for your meat.

IMG_20170830_163434860.jpg

I use one pound of grass fed beef and one pound of natural ground pork. I really like using two different kinds of meat if I can. Sometimes venison or turkey and cook until browned.

IMG_20170830_164446091.jpg

Next, we add the tomatoes, this is where I kick myself for neglecting our garden and having no home canned ones to use. So store bought will have to do. I got one large can diced and one crushed for varied texture.

IMG_20170830_164908921.jpg

Then come the seasonings, this is the fun part! Feel free to be creative here and use as little or as much as you want! It's a good thing this blog is full of pictures because I don't measure anything, just guesstimate from the photo. I use a ton of ancho chili powder. About half as much, or less, of Hungarian paprika. Some Cumin, Oregano, red pepper flakes and/or cayenne powder, and my TOP SECRET INGREDIENT!

IMG_20170830_165033949.jpg

Even though us older kids like it really spicy I have to be careful about the two little ones. They like a little spice though so I can add my Sweet Heat! A little sugar to cut the heat and acidity and I can add some lemon pepper and Jalapeno from our garden!

IMG_20170830_165414130.jpg

Then I cook it for as long as I can stand it with the lid on on low to really pull all these amazing flavors together! When I am putting my cornbread in the oven I add a can of beans to the chili to finish it off!

IMG_20170830_192333610.jpg

Best served with Cheddar Cheese Please!

IMG_20170830_200220127.jpg

Oh, and don't forget the sour cream on top!

IMG_20170830_200244587.jpg

Thats it! Dig In and Enjoy!

It will all be gone before you blink!


Thank you for reading and watching Wholesome Roots!


wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg

Please Upvote, Resteem, and Reply down below! Thank you!

Find Us ALL Over!
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRFL-VU0wM9JZDCulQPDp4g
E-mail [email protected]
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/PassionatePlants/
Steemit https://steemit.com/@wholesomeroots
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/wholesomeroots/
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/wholesomeroots?alert=2
Twitter https://www.instagram.com/wholesomeroots/
Blog https://www.wholesomeroots.org
Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/wholesomeroots/
Google+ https://plus.google.com/+WholesomerootsOrg
Slack SteemitHomesteaders https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community
We have a new Group on Facebook now too! Homesteading on Steemit https://www.facebook.com/groups/348897942197243/?ref=bookmarks

Sort:  

nice recipe

Congratulations @wholesomeroots! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks delish. I love me some chilli the hotter the better. Of course my huge ass would probably put it on top of fried which I just did. lol

I like it hot too! That sounds yummy! I may have added like 3 pieces of cornbread by the time I was done

Wow! I really want to make this chili! yum!

You should! It is really easy and good!

Looks delicious!

It was thank you!

Awesome, been meaning to get back to one pot meals. Thanks for the inspiration with good photos.

It makes it so much easier I think! And less to clean! Yum!

Looks so good. I'm out at a burger joint and your chilli with LocalFood looks way more inviting and comforting....
Have an awesome day :-)

I thought of you the entire time I was writing this! Thanks for the inspiration my friend!

you are very welcome!

That looks delicious.

You've only missed one bit in the post... I can't find the BUY NOW button for home delivery. I'll have chili for six please, with sides and ginger beer 😊

lol, yes! now that would be a great feature for steemit to add!

I am drooling right now. We love chilli any time of the year. I like cooking in the iron skillet too. Somehow it just tastes better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39