Random Ramble on a friday (roll cake Depression)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I saw a documentary on Netflix  fat sick and nearly dead   The titles describe movies but are also about  juicing

I thought I would write about my food challenges



when a had my depression a Called it by name is was a: Rulle kake Depression

or "Swiss roll" the cake comes from central Europe. around 1900

was popular in Norway 1950-1990.  very good super fast to make  almost like a sponge cake



anyway.

I have always been a thin man, but a got s  small stomach (beer belly or Swiss Roll belly) 

I had a depression for many years had different solutions to tackle my feelings over the years but the one a always fell back on is the Swiss Rull cake. 


So back in 2014 a normal day for me was go to work 8am.

 then so stress and angry and sad a good mix whit all of them.

 so did not eat any food before going home then 7 pm 

going to the store on the way home, but a was worn down so did not know where I was. so a just got a swiss cake or something like it. eat all of it alone the next day and do the same. 

a think food and mental health go hand in hand its the same as drugs and other destructive self-medication addictions. 

 semlor Swedish wheat buns with marzipan content 

not relevant but lacking a picture. btw this is very good one if u can find one its  "fastelaven"

7 weeks before Easter in most of Scandinavia Norway has a bit more boring one.. anyway.



am not depressed longer. but am still comfort eating 

 when something "old feelings or just a  day bad" 

a going back to eating a lot of wrong food here in canada a like one box of orios or 

7 leaf of  bread whit Peanut butter and jams. 

but if a had a god bike ride or a good day am making good food. 


when a was depressed there was no way out. I remember at work my colleagues start comment on my stomach

it was like getting  hit me in the face its not like a  was not aware that I gain weight. 

I see eating as a form of self harm. its just it's slower way of doing it. 

I expect that most people realize that many  people  do not choose to over eating.  It is true that there is a choice but it is in the same category as stop and smoke or drugs. its super hard. 

making good food it super hard when u are hate yourself.

and if u live a alone nobody is there to stop you.


Kvæfjord Cake voted Norway's best cake 


In my journey I have been 1000 times better then  2 years ago.

but this one is a hard one to stop.  last year back in norway a did a lot of good work I lost weight.

I had a deal to not eat sugar when I was home but a  could eat something at work.

I had a list of what I ate.  if a  i ate something  wrong 

source


It was a very hard job. but a managed it for about 6 months 

a did easy off whit the shame part. am bean doing  vegetable smoothie  every day  fore 1 year or "almost"

 am pre making them in bags frozen. 

if u dont like  pulp in the smoothie this is not fore u. 

 am a barke atm  but a hope when stuff is settling down here more a can go back to my shame list. lol.  a Ned the rest of my life to work before a can do it 100%.  

my smoothie I have tried many combinations. this one the best I think

I make about 10-12 stk

about 200-250 grams 

zipper lock bags is the best

About 1 kg of carrots

3 oranges  or 1 mango

1 broccoli

200-300 grams of pea

ca 500 grams of spinach

3 bananas

100-200 grams blueberry

 a small ginger just a small snippet like half cm brick


cut the carrots small and. put about the same amount in each bag and freezer it

take one out to put 2-3 dl apple juice 

'I have found that a handblender is the best. 


ready for freezing

this is one of the best way to get some green in u without a lot of work.



Sort:  

This is a great blog....lots of ideas and help. You might want to change your psykhology tag though and change it to phsychology (you made a spelling error) I want people to read this.

you said

food and mental health go hand in hand its the same as drugs and other destructive self-medication addictions.

That's so important - eating well balanced food is as important to the body for any illness, depression or diabetes or heart problems.

Sugar is a terrible addiction - I know!!!

I'm a smoothie person too. I like how you've bagged yours up for the freezer - great idea.

Here's to healthy living @norwegianbikeman!

Me with the tag here puu. thanks have fixed it now.
and thanks to the comment. sugar is one of the worse.
What is a little fun is that in the old days when it was hot weather I took a beer or something, now I make me a smoothie instead, and its so tastes better and feels better

That's great that you enjoy the smoothies more than the beer or something. I'm with you on that one!! Keep going! I'll think of you tomorrow when I have my morning smoothie. Have a nice weekend!

Thank you to @whatamidoing for tagging me on this post so I know what to read!
I am in similar journey (again) trying a prep meal and in a journey for a better me.
I am with you on this

making good food it super hard when u are hate yourself.
and if u live a alone nobody is there to stop you.

I've been whaling myself and I regretted it. I guess loosing it would be a lot of work, but it's worth trying. But like I don't have a fridge so I have to constantly do groceries which is like ugh

and thank u @macchiata
a yes then is a bit hardere . but can do it occasionally (fresh juice) Instead, of a frozen smoothie. like once a week or something. and start a habit. overtime is going to be natural do it.
It's not all about and lose weight either, but a more healthy lifestyle so weight loss is a side effect of it.

@guyfawkes4-20, @macchiata and I had a sugarless month challenge last month. I slipped up when i went travelling on the third week, but when I got home, I started over and I've almost made it to a full month without sugar!

Glad you aren't depressed anymore!

Thanks. I have to try that with a special goal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44