You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How a Steemian Brightened my Valentines Day

in #blog7 years ago

I just found out about #steembasicincome today because I stumbled on one of those "most helpful Steemian" posts, and of course I responded that you were the most helpful Steemian that I encountered in my first few days here. And then I saw that like five other people had said the same thing, which shouldn't have surprised me at all. It looks like you've made a really positive impact on a ton of people around here!

Sort:  

Hey @malloryblythe. Happy to see you! Thanks for the kind words. Everyone is too sweet. I try to help when I can but I don’t always get to make my rounds. I stopped by your blog and saw the latest post. Cool! You always make me sit down, read, and think. Which is great because you spend time writing it. Hope you continue to write great posts!

If you ever want to get involved with a community, we have a great one with ours. Just let me know!

Thank you so much! I really do put a ton of time and work into my articles, so I appreciate that you enjoy reading them. I think that I'm going to have to branch out into other genres that aren't so research-based if I want to post more than once a week, because currently it takes me something like 20 hours to write one post. I would love to get involved in the community. How can I do that?

That really is a lot of work @malloryblythe. I don’t think talent alone will bring you the audience. At least not in the beginning. It’s important to meet people as you are starting out. Build relationships and get to know them. These are the ones that you will support and they too will support you.

You also have a niche interest in history. Your audience is even smaller. Just check out the trending page and you will see the popular topics are crypto, memes, and other less intense topics. I’m not saying to give up on those topics. But like you said, you can’t be expected to spend 20 hours researching and writing to not get an audience. Add some light posts in there and start from there. Meet people and build your audience. Stop by their blog and they will do the same if they know you are genuine. Once you have the audience, then shoot out those great articles.

We’re always happy to have a new member. Our community is fairly new. All are just volunteering to help out newbies as they come aboard. Everyone has different talents and their own way of ‘contributing’. Some choose to resteem, others write a weekly blog on our newbies posts, others find new talent so we can help with what we can. We now have the @newbieresteemday for curation and @newbiegames for contests. Dave has a great post on it .

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@davemccoy/asked-and-answered-best-newbie-question-of-the-month-february-2018

If you scroll a few posts back on my blog, I wrote the weekly recap of where we are. Here is our Discord link. I’m in there sometimes but others are there. You can always DM too.

https://discord.gg/49JKzvp

Thanks as always for the great advice! Fortunately for me, history research and writing are labors of love. I’ve rarely been paid for any history-related writing (the exception being a couple of freelance gigs, like History Buff), so even making a few cents here and there is a novel development. Would be awesome if I did eventually find that niche audience, though.

The last couple posts I’ve made probably have broader appeal. The one I wrote today is a history article but it’s about crypto. Yesterday, I posted a short article about how I got into photography and writing as an outlet when I began struggling with mental illness as a teenager. Maybe the latter is a little more along the lines of the sort of stuff that curie looks for. I write a lot of poetry and memoir-type stuff on my own so maybe I’ll start posting that, and I have a big trunk full of photos and art. I’ve just always been super self conscious so it’s a lot easier to share things that come more from the brain than from the heart, so to speak.

Also, I swear I’m capable of writing things that aren’t super dark, hah. I’ll take your advice and write something a little more light next time. :)

Thanks for the invite! I just joined the Discord group.

I’ve just always been super self conscious so it’s a lot easier to share things that come more from the brain than from the heart, so to speak.

I completely understand. I'm not a blogger and very limited on what I share on here. So I write and share what inspires me that day.

I've noticed a lot of posts selected by curie are of a personal nature. It is difficult for individuals if they are used to writing from a third-party narrative perspective (as you do with your history piece) to a more personal 'I' perspective.

As for:

Also, I swear I’m capable of writing things that aren’t super dark, hah. I’ll take your advice and write something a little more light next time. :)

I didn't mean the tone of your posts. I meant the intensity and commitment you put into the post. Perhaps for now, save the 20-hour investment time into a post and maybe only do light topics that take 2-4 hours? ;)

It's all a learning experience. Who I am to say what works or doesn't. My posts barely make anything.

I did see you on Discord. Will say hi when I have a chance to chat in there. You can DM if you have any questions or want to reach me directly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55