[Blog] Thoughts from the Front Lines: Fortitude

in #blog7 years ago

It was late May of 2016 and I was just about a week into recovering from the birth of our third baby when I discovered I was also the proud possessor of a fairly large kidney stone.

Having given unmedicated birth three times (so far), I can now safely say that anyone who experiences a run-in with these nasty little stones suffers far worse pain. I have yet to shed any tears while giving birth. This particular stone had me in tears multiple days during the week it took to finally work itself out.

At one point, I found myself curled in a ball on the bathroom floor (because kidney stone pain makes you feel like you're about to throw up) with my newborn crying in the other room and my three- and nearly-two-year-old hovering over me asking questions, crying and generally trying to get Mom to respond.

It was not a particularly high point in life. But it brought strongly to the forefront something that's been growing in importance the more children I have: the necessity of having fortitude.

Strength of Mind

Fortitude is an old word you don't hear much these days. The Miriam-Webster dictionary defines it as the "strength of mind that enables a person to encounter danger or bear pain or adversity with courage".

Over the past five years I've done things I wouldn't have thought possible before I had children. Illness is often one of the biggest challenges, personally. During an epic bout of whooping cough which coincided with the first trimester of one pregnancy, I spent my nights getting up every hour or so to help a frantic child try to stop coughing (did you know that cough medicine does nothing for a pertussis cough?) while feeling pretty generally miserable myself. I wouldn't have thought I could actually do that. Turns out...I could. I had to keep telling myself I could, but in the end we got through.

It's amazing what you can actually do when you might've thought all you could manage was to lie around on the couch in your pajamas. A person can accomplish some unbelievable things so long as they don't allow themselves to simply check out and give up.

The key is the mindset: do you believe you have it in you to do what needs to be done or do you think everything is just too hard and you can't possibly do more than you are?

Our Forebears Had More Fortitude Than We Do

Perhaps one of the worst things we're losing as we go further and further from our pioneer roots is the fortitude which allowed families to accomplish almost super-human feats by simply knowing they had to meet great challenges or die. We've softened to the point that I'm watching young mothers insist on having someone watch their new babies so they can go to the grocery store because taking the baby with them is just "too hard". What?! Just a few generations ago, mothers were carrying babies the same age on their backs while planting giant gardens and washing family laundry by hand. Are we just weaker today...or are we no longer convinced we need to have courage in the face of adversity?

In the case of that kidney stone run-in, I managed to get up, reassure two little girls that Mama was not dying, crawl into bed and nurse the newborn. Why? Because I did not allow myself to just give up and say it was too hard. I convinced myself I had the strength to speak kindly to my children and attend to the needs of the baby. Because my mind was convinced, I had the courage to carry through. People have the ability to rise to these occasions. And most peoples' capability to do so is probably way higher than they imagine. I know mine is.

In a world filled with news of everyone taking offense at everyone else and being unable to handle the least little hint of adversity, something we desperately need to rediscover is the value of Fortitude. It's a vastly underrated character quality, something even more elemental than Courage because without Fortitude there won't be Courage. "Fortitude is the guard and support of the other virtues," John Locke once wrote. Cultivate fortitude today. I promise it's worth it. There is strength hiding in most of us we never bother to tap unless we're really convinced it's important. Our families, our neighbors and our world need us to have it. Besides, you never know when you might be hit with that kidney stone and need to get up and nurse a baby anyway.

Lauren Turner, Wife, Mother, Chief Cook and Bottle Washer, Blogger and Caretaker of Civilization
Sort:  

What a wonderful post, Lauren, thank you! I have not yet dealt with a kidney stone (yikes!) but I have given birth to my own four little souls and your description of needing to 'buck up' in the face of adversity is right on. It's what makes us stronger for the next time, we can't let the smaller uncomfortable difficulties get us down when there are larger and harder things to come. Thank you!

Thank you so much for the kind words, Bethany! I didn't realize you had four kids - you're a busy girl over there, with all the other work you're doing besides!

You're absolutely right: if we don't handle the smaller stuff gracefully, it can be real trouble when something big comes down the road and you have no practice "bucking up" and pushing through. I remember when I was a teenager I used to challenge myself to do things that were uncomfortable like get my wisdom teeth out with local instead of general anesthetic because I thought, "Hey, I want to have kids someday and this is good practice handling stuff without being overwhelmed."

Turns out nothing really fully prepares you, but I am glad I practiced. Now if I'd only known to practice talking on the phone, juggleing, baking a cake and writing a novel at the same time, I would REALLY have been practicing for keeping track of small children.

I am sorry you had to deal with a kidney stone, especially so close after giving birth! Your story is a good reminder to me to stay positive and calm in any circumstance.

Thank you! I remind myself that the circumstances can actually get so much worse that this kind of thing is good practice. Who knows what the future holds? Maybe it'll all be easier or maybe there will be something that will make me glad for the opportunity to learn these lessons on a smaller scale first.

You are an inspiration to be certain!! I would love to say I made it through childbirth med free, but sadly had to be induced both times and medications ensued. I couldn't imagine being fresh from L&D and having kidney stones.... what a mess! I'm so glad you found the will power to keep moving and to take care of your littles.
You said it best, our generation is lazy and lacks self confidence. I find myself sweating and doubting myself every time I take on a new project. (twas foretold there would be one who doubts) I'm glad I have the will power and motivation to push through and take on things I am not familiar with and learn from mistakes.

Very happy you were able to make it through that week of pain. I'm sorry you had to :( Are kidney stones a regular problem for you, or did something bring it on in this case? It's okay not to answer if I'm asking too much. Sometimes I don't know my limits when it comes to personal questions.
Thanks for sharing your encouraging words!

Heh, while I did make it through childbirth med-free, I did not make it through kidney stones med-free. I was on the highest dose of ibuprofen I could take every four hours for that whole week. Although one reason I didn't go to the ER was because I knew they would just prescribe stuff I couldn't take while nursing and I wasn't going to give up nursing right in the beginning like that. So no morphine or vicodin or anything so powerful.

Personally, I think any woman giving birth in a hospital has tremendously massive will-power to get through a birth without any meds because they are so highly encouraged at a time when you're pretty much overwhelmed by what's going on and not in a good place to resist. I don't have to maintain as much will-power because I'm at home and no one's offering, so I don't even have to think about it. It's not a badge of courage on my part, I guess is what I'm saying. More of a comparison to point out that the kidney stones were WAY worse!

I had kidney stones twice before, but both times were in my teens so it'd been almost twenty years and those ones were very small and resolved quickly (within an hour). As near as I can tell, I had trouble because of not drinking enough water and taking large amounts of calcium while my PH levels were high. I didn't have enough acid present in my body to dissolve the stone, plus pregnancy causes all internal organs to move around and not necessarily function as efficiently as usual (one reason some women end up with severe gallbladder problems during pregnancy). It wasn't until after the birth when everything was coming back down into it's proper spot that the stone dislodged and had to come out.

I am concerned for this time around as well since I already had some signs of another stone that did resolve but warned me this might just be an ongoing issue, so I'm drinking lemon juice and apple cider vinegar and unsweetened cranberry juice every day, which is usually pretty successful at flushing stones. I'm also taking hydrolyzed collagen or gelatin for the calcium instead of high doses of calcium through tablets. And drinking a lot more water than last pregnancy. We'll see how it goes!

It sounds like you have a good plan of action! It's interesting all the things a body goes through during it's pregnancy. It makes sense that it would happen after labor. I'm glad you knew better than to try to get medication that would affect baby, that's something a lot of people would never think of. With my first child, I wasn't thinking about anything other than drinking when it came to breastfeeding. I had my teeth worked on several times and took the pain medicines they gave me and continued to bf even though it should have been obvious.... Guess that's something I didn't think to tell the dentist either.

I'm glad you have it figured out and I hope this one goes really well for you!

It's definitely interesting - I saw a diagram recently of where all the internal organs go by the end when the baby is full term and it was a little bit startling. It's amazing everything still works at all!

Well, the good news is that our kids tend to survive and thrive in spite of a lot of things we realize later we probably shouldn't have done. I took ibuprofen a couple of days toward the end of my first pregnancy because I was so sore and found out later that ibuprofen can seriously compromise a newborn's heart from being able to switch over to independent function at birth, so it's absolutely not recommended in third trimester even though it's safe to take after the baby is born. Thankfully, my oldest had no trouble with her heart!

Here's hoping on the plan of action...I've been praying not to do that particular bit of recovery again...but I suppose if it's a problem again I'll know we can get through it. You know, ironically the reason I was taking high doses of calcium (and magnesium) was because I was trying to head off the after pains that get more severe with each baby and I found a lot of advice from older moms suggesting CalMag as a good way to help your muscles not spasm so much. My thought process was that it would be better to take high doses of calcium and magnesium instead of ibuprofen or acetaminophen for the couple days after the baby was born. And then I ended up taking massive doses of ibuprofen for a solid week. Sometimes solutions just don't go as planned...

haha i saw a video similar to that diagram you are talking about, it's crazy how much space that little 7 pound baby will need!! I can feel my organs now after having children, before i had no idea where my bladder was, now i can tell you how big it is at the moment lol

It's a good thing he made us so resistant to the products this world has to offer us. I had no idea about the ibuprofen during the third trimester, glad to know now.

That is ironic that you were trying to be proactive and wound up making it worse... i pray this combo works perfectly for you this go around, but like you said, you can do it!!

This post has received a 0.76 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ironshield. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thanks for this beautiful post I upvoteded you and follow both you and your husband this morning. Blessings and fortitude always you're a beautiful strong woman

Thank you very much! I'll have to check out your page - I'm always listening for Elijah.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48