You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog] Thoughts from the Front Lines: Fortitude

in #blog7 years ago

What a wonderful post, Lauren, thank you! I have not yet dealt with a kidney stone (yikes!) but I have given birth to my own four little souls and your description of needing to 'buck up' in the face of adversity is right on. It's what makes us stronger for the next time, we can't let the smaller uncomfortable difficulties get us down when there are larger and harder things to come. Thank you!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the kind words, Bethany! I didn't realize you had four kids - you're a busy girl over there, with all the other work you're doing besides!

You're absolutely right: if we don't handle the smaller stuff gracefully, it can be real trouble when something big comes down the road and you have no practice "bucking up" and pushing through. I remember when I was a teenager I used to challenge myself to do things that were uncomfortable like get my wisdom teeth out with local instead of general anesthetic because I thought, "Hey, I want to have kids someday and this is good practice handling stuff without being overwhelmed."

Turns out nothing really fully prepares you, but I am glad I practiced. Now if I'd only known to practice talking on the phone, juggleing, baking a cake and writing a novel at the same time, I would REALLY have been practicing for keeping track of small children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69