Let’s Make Some Lotion!

in #blog5 years ago (edited)



8A513A7B-7AE3-4F50-B556-A6342E7CD34C.jpeg
Well technically it’s a body butter, but lotion seems to be a much more simple word no?

Ok, so I have been super busy trying to get everything ready for the upcoming trip and realized today I am almost out of lotion 😱

Now, I know what you are thinking.. Whats the big deal? Just go buy some..

But you see.. I don’t buy my lotion, I make it. That’s right.. for those of you who haven’t been following me long.. I make all sorts of cool stuff (I promise my content use to be good!!) And the truth of the matter is that I haven’t bought lotion in years.

I came up with this recipe and have been making it for myself as well as others .. and I love it.

So, since I had to make some for myself I thought I would show you how I do it!



It’s extremely easy to make and you can customize it with the ingredients that you have available.


The Recipe

35g. Local Beeswax
212g. Raw Organic Shea Butter
106g. Organic Unrefined Cocnut Oil
45g. Herbal Infused Olive Oil
3tsp. Arrowroot Powder
1 Tbsp Ground Calendula Flowers
Essential Oils of Choice


The first thing you will do is add the beeswax, shea butter and coconut oil to a bowl and place it over a pan of water on the stove (making a double boiler).

898B10D9-433C-49F0-B729-3C8698CF10E0.jpeg

Over medium heat, Stir the mixture until melted (about 5 mins)

102DF0D1-BC23-4CAD-B309-91E6556E83B5.jpeg

Remove from heat and stir in your infused olive oil. The one I’m using today is an organic olive oil I infused with Calendula, Lavender, Nettle, Yarrow and Chamomile. You could just use olive oil here, I just really enjoy adding herbs for their healing benefits.

5D298EDC-67FB-4CCB-AB1C-FAECE965505F.jpeg

I then grind up some calendula flowers in a spice grinder and add them to the mixture (again, optional but I can never have enough herbs). Then add in your arrowroot powder and stir until combined.

69520D12-3CC4-40CB-9FAC-EC3055EDA3B9.jpeg

Let the mixture cool until firm...

F6C2B950-3C97-4650-878C-DCAB939A0D72.jpeg

And then whip it... whip it good. (This is the point where I add in my essential oils for fragrance. My favorite combination is Sweet Orange and Vanilla).

771483EB-6C61-4876-A748-A63EA994EFAE.jpeg

Then just simply spoon mixture into container of choice and there you go.. lotion!

4A199446-649C-43E0-8CE4-33BACA94A795.jpeg

This recipe is very rich, moisturizing and smells amazing. Best part is the ingredients are so much better than the store bought stuff while costing a fraction of the price.

I’m now set on lotion for another 6mths and even had some extras to bring with me on my travels for gifts 🙌🏼

What are you waiting for? Go make some lotion!

Much Love,

💕 Justine

Sort:  

I don't like lotion but that is an impressive ingredients list.

I don't ever remember even seeing beeswax for sale.

This looks edible, mmmmmmmmmm

Fair play though, some lotions can cost a crazy amount, and this way you know exactly what has gone in there :)

Love how all the boys thought mmmmmm 🤔 lol.

I mean, technically you can eat it...

Yes lotions are expensive! This one has such better ingredients and cost next to nothing to something comparable in a store.

Thank you!

hahaha this was my first thought up until arrowroot spoiled it! :)

arrowroot powder is similar to cornstarch. It helps the lotion absorb into the skin. You can eat it too 😉

best way to describe it.....mmmmmm @abh12345 ! :) looks amazing...and i can almost smell it from here! i love that you use mountain rose. safe travels....to krakow sister!!!!!

Thank you!! Yes I LOVE mountain rose herbs..I will be a customer for life ❤️ Thanks so much and I will keep you updated on the Kraków fun 🤗

So much aromatic stuff in there, and everything is natural and organic - how can you not love it?! I can even smell some vanilla scent over photos :)

How long did you infuse herbs into olive oil?

Ah, forgot to mention top notch post!

Hey thank you!! Well to infuse the olive oil you can do it the fast or slow way.

The fast way you heat the oil up over low heat and then pour over herbs and let sit for a couple hours.. it works but the oil won’t be as potent.

The slow way you just cover your herbs with oil, cover with lid and let them sit for at least two weeks. I normally just have oils going all the time with different herb combinations. When I use a bit for a recipe, I add more oil over the herbs and put the jar back on the shelf. That way I always have some ready. The oil will not go bad, so they can sit infusing indefinitely.

The name body butter has always made me laugh. I don't know why, maybe because it sounds a little dodgy. Like something a food fetishist would want on their Christmas list.

Lotion is a much more pleasant word :-) I have dry skin, seriously, it is like something my bloke 'brit' conditioning is screaming at me not to talk about... but... I do have some dream cream which I use sometimes when I remember.

IMG_20181104_114020758.jpg

Your recipe looks much better and maybe cheaper to make too. I might look into this lotion making malarkey ;-)

Great post @llfarms and behind all my joking I really am probably going to try making my own skin lotion so thanks for the knowledge :)

It’s true.. I find men hear the word body butter and they aren’t quite sure what they hell you are talking about hahah. The real difference is lotion contains water and body butter just contains butter/oils etc.. no water. For that reason it’s normally a more intense moisturizer.

The reason I personally prefer the body butter is anytime you add oil and water together you need a preservative (which I don’t want to use) to make it last more than a week before going bad. I do have an amazing lotion recipe but it has to be kept in the fridge and that only extends its shelf life to 2 weeks... I find that to be a pain.

So with this recipe.. no water means it lasts a long time (about 6mth shelf life). That is way more up my alley than making lotion every week and keeping it in the fridge.

Hey dry skin happens to all of us! I hope you do try this, it’s so easy to make and I think your skin will thank you!

Thank you!

So with this recipe.. no water means it lasts a long time (about 6mth shelf life). That is way more up my alley than making lotion every week and keeping it in the fridge.

Ha ha, that is good because I hardly ever remember to use lotion. Apart from when I go to a hot climate where my Irish ancestry means I'm like a two applications of sun cream a day kind of guy. No choices on that one otherwise it would be lobster time ;-)

Cool. Great DIY. I did not know its that easy. Huh!! I am going to try your recipie. But with my own flare.
Have a safe and fun trip! If I only knew.😃

Yay so good to hear! It really is incredibly easy and yes make it your own! Let me know how it turns out.

Thank you!

At work 12 hr shift, 13 with time change. Tired and look like crap. Here is 2 thumbs. Cheers. I will try my best. Thanks for the reply.
20181104_105608.jpg
Keep steemin!

Wow it came out sooo smooth!! I used to try to make mine and it always ended up lumpy at best. True I never whipped it though, so that was probably it. I love that you make your own lotion, it's so much healthier that way <3
I've got to try this recipe someday.

Oh no! Lumps are no fun! I make different salves and things and as long as I let everything melt down first I don’t have an issue with lumps. It’s just all my herbs settle at the bottom.. so I found giving everything a good whip when it’s done makes sure those are distributed through the lotion nicely.

I totally agree! I love knowing that what I’m putting on my skin is actually good for it. ❤️ Let me know how you like it!

I like the measurements in grams, much more exact. One of the biggest differences I noticed in Europe is that you can expect things to taste consistent because of the measuring with grams instead of cups. Gotta make our own lotion, far superior to the store stuff!

Yes totally! I realized when making some body products (esp bath bombs) you those measurements to be exact. So I switching to using grams and a scale to just help ensure it’s consistency.

I couldn’t agree more.. way better than anything you can buy ❤️

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.004 which ranks you at #1071 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 1079).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You must smell real good!

You’ll find out soon 😉 haha!

Congratulations @llfarms! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89