I HAVE NOTHING TO LOSE

in #blog6 years ago

I'M GONNA GET REAL WITH Y'ALL FOR A MINUTE

I'm a 33 year old actor/musician from Birmingham, AL. I've been grateful enough to work in the musical theatre industry for the past 6 years, and it's been a blessing to have that pay the bills.

BUT NOW I'M LOOKING TO DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT

I'm sick of pretending to be someone else. I want to be me. Being an actor is great because you get pretend to live life as someone else. In many ways it's cathartic because I can let myself disappear into another person, and for those 2 hours I don't have to deal with my own bullshit. I'll admit: It's extremely satisfying to receive instant gratification from the audience; to have women of all ages wanting you just because you stood on stage and played guitar. It's wild, and if you're not careful, it'll send you down a road of depressing cliches. I completely understand how the "27 Club" came to be.

Having said that: I'm older now. I don't drink or do drugs anymore, and I'm looking for a life that's more meaningful. I want to get paid to be ME. KURT JENKINS, or SKYWAY SPIRIT as I'm known on other parts of the internet.

SO WHAT'S MY MASTER PLAN?

Over the next 2 years I'm going to work my way into the recording industry and become a EDM/HipHop artist who sings, raps and plays guitar solos.

WTF?!

Look at these stats:

  • 33 years old
  • White
  • Politically Centrist (Right-leaning)
  • Never released a record on a major label
  • ZERO major label connections
  • Limited knowledge of current industry techniques.

Uphill battle, right? Maybe, but honestly it's just crazy enough work.

I know that I'm going to get pushback from just about every person in my social sphere. My family, my close friends, my secondary and tertiary friends who'll criticize me on Facebook. Not to mention haters who will inevitably call me a white-privileged old man fuck-boi who has no right to try. I don't give a fuck. EDM/HipHop is the present and the future, so if I want to enter the market this is where I'm going to have to live. Once again,

I DON'T GIVE A FUCK

SO, HOW AM I GONNA PULL THIS OFF?

The main differentiating factor between winners and losers is work. Not just "work," but being a calculated practitioner who's not above taking short term losses in order to restructure their lives for the sake of the long term.

I've been hiding my desire to do this for a while, but it's getting to a point where I can't deny it any longer. If I continue to keep this dream inside, I'm going to have a complete mental breakdown.

I have a hard fucking mountain to climb. I see the dragon at the top guarding a beautiful virgin, sitting on an eon's worth of gold.

It's going to take every gene in my DNA to overcome any FUD I have, but it's worth it 100%.

I'm going to die one day, so what other choice do I have?

-kJ

IF YOU LIKE THIS POST AND WANT TO SEE MORE, FOLLOW ME!

I'M ALSO ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/skywayspirit/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you nice hours with steemit.com! :)

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

Hey man, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and I started making videos when I was ten and now I'm 33 like you and I tried a few times to become famous, in Hollywood, but like you said, pretending to be others can be counterproductive or much worse in the long-run.

Totally. Living without authenticity is cancerous. I've thought about moving to LA several times, but I'm more of a NYC man myself.

I'm from Oregon, was in NYC once and it seems cooler than LAX. Was teaching English in Vietnam for 5 years. Now, I'm near Seattle in a small city which is great for the fresh air. It can be better to live in a big city for networking. Some say NYC is the best metropolis in the world. Some would say that on How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM) for example. Great show, maybe better than Friends in some ways.

Congratulations @kurtjenkins! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow😍
This is a very beautiful introduction. :) I can honestly say I feel like I know you alittle bit just by reading this.

Let me be among the first to welcome you to this amazing community.
I know it can be very difficult to get started on here without guidance, so I am extending an invite to you to our discord channel.

DynamicSteemians;
https://discord.gg/CZNYq2t
We are a group of highly passionate & motivated content creators & we are constantly looking for like minded people who'd like to share their journey. We support & learn from one another.If you would like to connect & make some friends then feel free to join our discord :) Here you can connect with people from your country as well.
Be sure to go to the #introduce-yourself section of the discord channel and introduce yourself by following this order;

i. Name ii. Nationality iii.Specialty v. Who invited you on here. (elsiekjay)
vi. Steemit account link/user name(for others to follow)

You can also promote your post in the #post-promotionchannel..

I'll be looking forward to knowing you more on the inside:)

Keep On Steeming....Xoxo

Hi @kurtjenkins Welcome to Steemit!!!

good luck on your way into the music industry and mixing edm and hip hop is still new so you have plenty of room to grow as an artist that combines the two. Just a tip of advice for steemit posts I'm pretty sure you did no take the images in you posts yourself so you may want to post a link to the sources of copyright photos your posting to Steemit so you dont get flagged for plagiarism. Feel free to post a link to your music on a comment on any of my future posts and I will give you a listen.

I wasn't aware. Thank you for this. Will do.

Hi brother, welcome to Steemit. This is the unique chance to grab it!

If you wish to join the biggest challenge ever on Steemit, feel free to check my post
https://steemit.com/steemschools/@whack.science/steem-schools-ultimate-challenge-or-5000-sbd-prize-or-biggest-challenge-on-steemit

If you need help, join our Discord channel
https://discord.gg/5RJMdDh

Have a great day! Much love, Luka. YO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46