"The Definition of Achievement is Being Able to Win Under All Circumstances”

in #blog6 years ago

I’m not the kind of person who spends an obnoxious amount of time scrolling through social feeds. The majority of time that I spend on other peoples’ content is focused heavily on a select few who I know produce great content on a regular basis.

These same people are practitioners of what they do - they are world-class at the craft they have chosen. Gary Vaynerchuk is someone I’ve mentioned frequently in my posts because he is the embodiment of the type of person that I look up to and follow.

You won’t catch me scrolling through my Instagram feed 15x a day like the average user, but you will find me checking my feed 1-3x a day which is heavily focused on just a handful of users.

This, I think, is the key to using social media effectively and not wasting time. Too many people are subscribed to, following, or otherwise dumping content into their brain via too many channels and too many people.

As Gary would say, going deep is better than going wide when it comes to social media. It’s better to learn as much as you can about a few particularly extraordinary people than learning a little bit about 1,000 randoms.

With that said, I checked my IG feed (I’m following about 10 people) and I saw Gary’s recent post from yesterday.

This is the essence of what I’m talking about. The reason why following a handful of people can actually be beneficial to your life. This advice that Gary gives is so relevant and so practical to my life that I just had to share it and write about it.

Here’s the post:

IMG_0566.jpg

IMG_0567.jpg

If you are good enough - that is, if you have purposefully spent time and energy honing your craft and becoming good at what you dream of doing - then nothing is stopping you from achieving your dreams.

No matter how bold and no matter how audacious, you can achieve any dream you have as long as you put in the work to be world-class. Talent and the work speak for themselves.


The Defeated Mindset

A lot of people carry this defeated mindset. This mindset and inner voice that tells them that circumstances outside of their control are what contribute to whether or not they are successful in life.

This mindset is terrible. It’s the worst mindset that anyone who’s trying to accomplish anything could have.

It’s a mindset that causes you to fail before you even begin.

How do you know if you have a defeated mindset?

If you ever catch yourself complaining about your circumstances and say that X, Y or Z reasons are out of your control and are preventing you from achieving G (your goal), then you have a defeated mindset and you need to reverse your thinking.

Reverse your thinking so that you don’t list reasons why you can’t achieve G, list your own points of failure - the reasons and the shortcomings that are within your control and that are actually the root causes for not achieving your dreams.


“Assess the Situation and Execute Within the Opportunities"

This is my favorite part. It’s so true and so practical and so immediately implementable into your life. No matter what circumstances or situation you find yourself in.

There are opportunities any way you slice the onion. The world is so multi-layered and multi-faceted. There are endless ways to achieve G.

Blaming your failures and shortcomings on external circumstance is the equivalent of putting a blindfold on.

When you blame external circumstance, you’re blocking your own mind form coming up with solutions and spotting the ultimate opportunities for growth in your life. The opportunities that will ultimately land you your dream life.

It pains me to see so many people blaming circumstance for their own shortcomings.

If only they could see that nothing and no one is stopping them from achieving their dreams. If only they could realize that opening their mind to the world of infinite opportunities will allow them to find solutions rather than problems.


Start your search for solutions. Don’t wait until tomorrow. Don’t wait for an external circumstance. Don’t wait for the weather to change.

A warrior does not worry about what is outside of their control.


Question(s) of The Day

What have you been blaming for your shortcomings and will you start blaming yourself and holding yourself accountable for your own actions?

Will you make the decision to be responsible and do what it takes to achieve your dream?

Will you decide that nobody is stopping you but you? Let me know in the comments what dreams you are chasing and what opportunities you can see in front of you. Think outside the box and spend some real time thinking about it!

Sort:  

lovely click.... interesting msg

I could not agree more. I wish we could have more people like you who have this kind of mindset. No excuse under anycircumstance. Nothing could stop us if we believe in ourself putting more times and efforts to achieve each goal.

Posted using Partiko Android

yes i am agree woth you

My dream is to own a family cottage on a small lake.

Actually my dream is to achieve that while maintaining a level of freedom. Meaning, I am not willing to give up my life while I am achieving that and unplugging from family, physical and social endeavours while I work hard.

Slow and steady wins the race and I try constantly to be aware of how much we fool ourselves and stop doing that every chance I get.

Blame is focusing on the problem. I would rather focus on the solution and get it done.

You are all over the trending page with this one so you should get some great feedback.

Thanks man!

Great post, thank you.

"Slow and steady wins the race"

That´s the point of course it´s sometimes hard to keep your focus on the target. But that´s part of the game.
I try to get my financial freedom in gaining a part of my income through trading. It´s not, that I want to live 100% from trading. That´s too much. But for the first step it´s a good goal to keep my focus on gaining small but constant profits.

I love your idea of the family cottage at a small lake.
We are about to get to point buying a small house in Sardinia.
That´s what I´m draming of, too.

Cheers mate, have a good time and a lot of success!

@gentlebot
thank you for your precious upvote!!
really appreciate it!

I follow you :-)

Hey @zekepickleman!! That's a fantastic dream and your approach is even better. Some (myself included) sacrifice precious years of our lives by keeping our heads completely down and pursuing our goals with an unwavering intensity and all-consuming lifestyle - if you can even consider it a lifestyle!

I'm hard-wired to go all-in or go find something else to go all-in on. It's the way I've grown up and it's the way that I learned how to strive for achievement. That was the reality of the social circumstances that shaped me into who I am.

I am trying to get better at balancing out my life and enjoying some of the small things while also pursuing my goals at the same time. My upcoming trip to Europe is a great example of me trying to strike that balance, we'll see if I can tear away from my office without having a breakdown haha

Yah you can do it.

I probably just have had more of my life pass me by (in the sense of time) and I exchanged a good number of years for money and lessons.

I tend to sneak up on things rather than just go all in so there are changes I can make to my commitment and dedication to make the most out of the effort I put into projects.

Fantastic post!

You've made the Steemit Minute for today! Congrats!

Check out the Video Here: https://steemit.com/news/@reseller/6ivf05yr

Thanks my man, just watched the vid! Keep up the good work ;)

Agreed! Falling on your face and having the courage to get back up and pursue your dreams is the truest path to success!

As Gary would say, going deep is better than going wide when it comes to social media. It’s better to learn as much as you can about a few particularly extraordinary people than learning a little bit about 1,000 randoms.

That is so true! In this digital world many FB friends, many likes, many followers, many "hearts" are the G for so many people that just forget how to interact and have a "Real Life".

(https://www.huffingtonpost.com.mx/entry/smartphones-are-hideous-and-sad-kind-of_n_5234216) Photo: Getty

This is only a wierd example of how many things we are missing and it is so true... we only get lost in the sea of feeds of people that sometimes we doesn't even know.

Now going to the core of your post...
We are the only ones that can change our own situation and the ones to be blamed if things doesn't change. External things bring only opportunities even if they are disguised as a wall maybe it's just life telling you that you have to take other way!!!

The Defeated Mindset- Before someone defeats them they defeat by there inner thoughts and overthinking over the consequences or the result.

i was reading your post on Homo Sapiens and Homo Deus books by Harari
I am inspired too, though Deus didn't attracted me as much as Sapiens did. maybe better translation or maybe I liked the facts in Sapiens, while in Deus we have more predictions than facts... after all it's about future!

Great blog, I follow you. goodluck

La verdad muy agradecido por tu escrito... para revertir las cosas debemos dejar la mentalidad de derrotado..

Complety agree with you......Nonone can stop hiden talent of somebody when it comeout through his proper mindset,Never give up attitude, hardwork and dedication.If you have all of these then the dream will chase us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01