The Colour Of Rain

in #blog6 years ago

The sun will be back tomorrow, but soon it will be day after day of rain. That's life here in the Pacific Northwest.

cx7up2976a.jpg

At least in Victoria it rarely snows, but the constant rain can really get on your nerves. Every fall I have to make an effort to fight off the blues and get outside.

wk14c6ggzo.jpg

It's not all bad however. I find colours can be quite vivid in the rain. Bad weather photography can be more rewarding than shooting under a bright blue sky.

ui53uxw40t.jpg

While I enjoy the reflected light on the leaves, this might look better with a polarizing filter which would remove some of the glare. I have to remember to give this a try.

c4b4mal5e5.jpg

Wet streets are always interesting. I like shooting with my little Olympus em-5 because it fits in my coat pocket and it's easy to keep it dry.

mkf3pcdr16.jpg

My Nikon DSLR has much better image quality, but that doesn't help if it sits at home on a shelf. The small camera is always with me.

u41n0hiofg.jpg

Just remember... when the clouds roll in and it starts to rain, take some kind of camera, whatever you have, and go take some photos!

Sort:  

Rain is like the formula for a great photo. It creates such a great atmosphere and the droplets looks magnificent. It isn't great being drenched by it though, haha.

Thank you, and I did get pretty wet today! :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I'd love to, but it has been raining cats and dogs here for three days straight! This is really unusual for here. It usually rains hard for a few hours and then the sun comes out. Haven't seen the sun in days either. I am a person that needs the sun...

Hope you get some sunshine soon! You know exactly how I feel... stay dry! :)

Lovely photographs @keithboone. Rain under a blue sky makes for great subjects. it's the grey drizzly days that are tough. I remember a lot of those when I was in Seattle. 😊

Thank you Gillian! We have sunshine tomorrow, then who knows? Seattle and Victoria have basically the same weather so yeah... you understand.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

That's awesome, thanks so much!

Nice photos :)

Thanks very much!

Good advice. It's what I always tell myself about cold freezing winter days, too! But somehow that never really happens. It's so much easier to just stay indoors where it's warm!

Warm is good too... :) I don't do well in freezing temperatures. Fortunately, we avoid most of that here.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks very much, I appreciate your support!

Wow... wonderful photography. You make a rainy day look awesome.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I'm trying because that's how it's going to be for a long while! :)

Lovely photos! I enjoyed this article. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86