Random Thoughts Before I Go

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Our epic road trip from Victoria to Toronto begins tomorrow morning, and I will be offline for a while.

Before leaving, I have some completely random and unrelated thoughts and images to share. To be honest, I'm a little nervous about the whole trip.

9jdc35qfpf.jpg

Under a blood-red sun. Smoke from the forest fires has blown into the area. There may be highway closures. It's a very bad year for fires.

ks76gr32ha.jpg

For some reason, I am reminded of lanterns and a fiery dragon.

zjofo1e0gc.jpg

We aim to catch the 6:30 AM ferry to the mainland tomorrow. You can save a $20 by taking the first ferry of the morning. It fills up quickly so you need to reserve a spot.

0nighutlpx.jpg

Of course, there is a $21 fee to reserve... Do they think up this stuff just to mess with us? Maybe we'll just take the 7:30 instead...

8tpk1q3v87.jpg

We're leaving behind such a beautiful place. For example - I cannot come anywhere near this bridge without taking a photo. On the other hand, if I have to take one more photo of this damn bridge I may scream! New horizons please!!!

3s23pkcogs.jpg

Increasing randomness... Why did the greengrocer scream at me? Invasion of privacy he yelled. Also - I don't mind you take pictures, but you ask first! Over and over. That was his favourite line, and he must have repeated it about ten times.

rnea9tofxv.jpg

My mind wanders. I have no intention of making sense now. What on earth is Princess Leia doing here? Is she inside, outside... what exactly is going on here?

fiv79q1196.jpg

Here's something new... I'm leaving the full-frame Nikon behind for this trip. My camera gear will consist of the Olympus EM-5 Mk II and kit lens. That's it. I think I can use that camera for everything except wildlife. In case the little camera can't handle it, you better have an eagle in advance.

0xm81dtutr.jpg

Have a mountain goat as well. Just in case.

r49az8yfe3.jpg

And off we go into the Rocky mountains. We plan on doing a lot of camping, and I doubt I will get on Steemit much. I know I won't be answering comments - due to lack of connectivity and time while travelling. I do hope to check in and cast a few votes however. See you soon!

By the way, if it's not too much trouble... could someone please fix the price of Steem while I'm away? Anything above $3.00 will be fine. :)


Please check out my recent posts, thank you!
* SublimeSunday Needs A "New" Car
* Shadow Photo Contest Round 31- Creature Feature ~ Shadow Of The Drake
* Friday Night On Cannon Beach #Monomad
* Market Friday - I just want a coffee!
* Houseboats for Monomad

Sort:  

Enjoy your trip.

Lovely selection of photographs @keithboone.

I cannot come anywhere near this bridge without taking a photo. On the other hand, if I have to take one more photo of this damn bridge I may scream!

I feel the same way about the West Pier and the Band Stand and the Regency Architecture. I think I need a holiday too! 😂

I'll try and raise the price of Steem before you get back but for now i'm happy where it is so I can buy a bit more. 😁

Have a wonderful trip!

Thank you very much, Gillian!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

We will work on that price fix! Enjoy every minute of your travels and check in when you can so that we know everything is going well! Oh! The things you will see and the photos you will takes!

Thank you, Melinda. We are booked into campgrounds the first three nights. I'm sure they'll have wifi but I might just stay offline. Saturday night we're in a hotel and I'll be checking in during at some point during our stay! :)

Just have fun and take lots of pictures!!

Haha...so many laugh out loud moments in there.

Firstly, yes I think they're messing with us. A $21 reservation fee is ridiculous.

Secondly, I have no idea what Princess Leia is doing there. I'm confused.

Thirdly, I'll work on getting that price up. Or really really low...I haven't decided yet.

Have the most amazing time in the Rockies. Insanely jealous. And enjoy that little Oly beauty. I find it a lot of fun.

Hey Jessica, thanks a lot :) Today we will driving across Manitoba and into Ontario. We've crossed two time zones, and we spent 4 days in awful smoke... clear skies yesterday and today!

@keithboone I can feel the excitement within you.Wish you happy jouney on your trip.Hope on returning we might see amazing experince and pictures you share.

Hi Rohit - I have a wifi connection today so I'm checking in :)

How exciting! I can relate to that kind-of-want-to-go, but kind-of-nervous feeling - I get it every time I go on vacation. The grass is always greener on the other side, even if it happens to be at home. Happy travels!

Have a safe and wonderful trip. I will pray that the fires bow away from you and yours.

Thank you, I believe our route is clear of fires through BC. Not sure about Alberta yet! :)

I see where you are having massive fires in B.C. on the news. Good you are getting away from the smoke. Great shots. Love the eagle. Have a wonderful journey and be safe. 😊 ❤️

Thank you! It's been a rough trip so far. Four days of horrible smoke and I got very sick. Leaving Manitoba today and into northwest Ontario. No smoke!

have a wonderful trip dear friend ! =))

Thank you Luigi & human :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94