Instatnt Gratification

in #blog4 years ago (edited)


Observe. How often do you expect immediate success, recognition, appreciation for the work, the effort you've put in. The energy, the time you've spent on something.

Not everything can be banged into place. Some things need the time to sprout, grow and eventually flourish. Plants teach us great lessons in patience and determination.

The fact that something is not an immediate viral success, does not mean it is of no value or that it won't pick up its own momentum. Maybe even a sturdier one.

You got to ask yourself this - if you got what you wanted right now, no, in fact, if you just got all that you wanted about a day ago, a week ago.. would you feel any different from how you feel now? Could you sustain the initial excitement? Would it still even be relevant? How would you feel differently from now, knowing you got what you wanted? Or would you just revert/default back to your pathetic self, or worse, sabotage your own success, because of how unfamiliar it feels?

Sure, the moment you fulfill your dreams it's going to be a hype, a high, but then what? If you're not fundamentally changed by that experience, you'll only ever want the next fix, a bigger dosage. Congrats, you're an addict now.

Whenever newage self-help gurus tell you to imagine how you would feel when you get it, I'd go as far as to say - imagine, how would you feel after everything is achieved, received, done, and you're settling back into the new normal. How does THAT feel? How is it different from the now normal? And focus on feeling the new normal instead of the "now" normal as often as possible. No need to focus on hype emotions, because you'll have to come down from them eventually anyway and the contrast of that will just mess you up anyway. Focus on the new normal baseline energy.

Have you done your homework and are you prepared for your success? Yes, I know you think you want it, but are you ready? Everyone presumes they know what they would do, but in fact, they are completely unprepared.

If you sit down with yourself and really think it through, what can you do now be just so slightly more prepared for your success than your yesterday self? What are the next logical steps to take towards being prepared?

Falling asleep is the perfect time to practice the new now baseline energy because you'll still have to fall asleep when you have achieved everything, and in that state when you're left with no other sensory input than just your own energy, who is to say you can't feel exactly how you want to feel? What do you owe to the "reality" at that point?

Whenever you feel like your focus is slipping up.. instead of "gently taking it back.." ask yourself, what? Is that it? You're giving up this easily? If you can't focus on this for more than just a few seconds, I guess you just don't really want it after all..



Am I prepared?
Of course not, who do you think I'm writing this for?

To my estimation, I have roughly about 133 days to get comfortable with a certain idea/concept that I have been working on with varied results. But by then I have to ground myself so that I'm unshakeably certain that I can sustain this longterm.

I've done some great strides, but that is not nearly enough. My focus is still not quite locked in. If I blow this opportunity, sure there will be others, but I'm already unnecessarily stretching this timeline.



Sort:  

Heya @josie2214,

I loved when you said;

"If you can't focus on this for more than just a few seconds, I guess you just don't really want it after all.."

It resonated with my own belief that; You can have anything you want if you want it enough! While I do constantly get distracted from achieving goals, it doesn't mean that I should shelve them when I don't get immediate feedback.

This is probably why video games flourished, as people want instant gratification and feedback for their inputs, effort, and action.

You've done an interesting take on LoA (law of attraction) in finding a new base line normal, that supports the reality where your goals are being met. Your post gives me some food for thought when I become discouraged from following through!

Stay blessed,
@shello

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33