Building A Microhouse And The Tiny House Movement

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5408.JPGWe are in the process of building a micro-house at our farm. Our reasoning is that we have a small farm house that our family lives. We have made it work for us, but when people come to visit, there is nowhere for them to stay. My parents like to come visit, my Mom comes from across the country and she likes to stay for a long time and it’s very hard for all of us to coexist. So we started reading about the tiny house movement and think this might be the perfect solution for us.

The tiny house movement, What is it?

Essentially it’s living smaller. Keeping only the important things, having less things, and focusing more on living. Here is a pretty interesting infographic that I found at www.thetinylife.com:
TinyHouses-Infographic-1000wlogo.jpg

So while we are not necessarily going from our large house into a smaller house, I would like to think of this as a test run. I want to build this house and see if it is possible to make it work. Maybe we could relocate it somewhere else after it serves the purpose of guest living for us?

We had an old spring house (pictured below) that we tore down. Spring houses used to serve two purposes. First, to keep spring water clean by filtering out fallen leaves, animals (I read this part online, gross?), and other debris from getting into the water. Second, the enclosing structure could be used before refrigeration to maintain a constant and cool temperature. We no longer need the spring house for the second purpose, so the structure will be coming down.

In order to keep with the mindset of the tiny house movement we have saved as many of the materials from the spring house that we can and we will reuse and re-purpose them in the construction of the new house. We were able to salvage a lot of the slate roof. We also saved as much of the wood that we could and are thinking about using it on the inside floor or maybe on the walls. At the base of the spring house are very large barn stones. They will stay in place and we will level them and build the structure on top of them. The spring house has natural gas heating, electric is in place, and there is also a water source.

Right now we are working with a space that will be 12 x 15 for the house with a deck going out on either side of the house to add some extra space for sitting or eating when the weather is nice. We are looking at some different ideas for what kind of house we will build. It will be simple and the inside will be one large room with maybe a loft.

IMG_5047.jpg
The springhouse before we started

IMG_5073 (1).JPG
Springhouse demo

IMG_5410.JPG
The deck and flooring going over the barn stone
IMG_5408.JPG
Another shot of the flooring

This is as far as we are in this process. My husband has ordered rough cut lumber that should be delivered today. He will be putting on the deck to go out on both of the long sides of the deck. We are in the design phase of the house, using an ipad app. I have been busy scouring pinterest to find ideas for inexpensive or recycled materials.

RIght now materials at the top of my list for the floor, the walls, and the ceiling are:

Corrugated Metal
corrug.jpg
I found this image here, and a bunch more ideas of how to use corrugated metal inside your home.

Plywood
plywood-open-kitchen-johannes-norlander-arkitektur.jpg
Plywood is super inexpensive and can be used for floors, walls, ceilings, and furniture. Click here for more ideas.

Reclaimed barn wood
IMG_5063.JPG
We just happen to have a barn with extra barn wood laying around. We are hoping we can re-purpose it on the floor or walls. There are tons of good ideas online. I am excited to figure it out.

I will update periodically on our progress. I would love to hear suggestions from my fellow creative Steemers! If you want to learn how a former city girl ended up on this farm, click here https://steemit.com/life/@jodiegolier/former-city-girl-living-on-a-farm

Sort:  

This is going to be so exciting! Following you for sure. I just want to build an outdoor shower! I got the shower head yesterday. My solar panels pump the water!

I asked for an outdoor shower too. I would love to hear how you have it set up. We have a water source. Do your panels heat the water? Or are you going al fresco?

I forgot to mention. I'm in Texas. Leaving a bucket out for a few hours makes it hot enough to shower in. I could used a black bucket twice as tall for my final set up. Some privacy would also be very nice.

I hope it's appropriate to post a link. I showed my new outdoor shower equipment off on my YouTube channel yesterday. It's so far not a super classy set up. but I think the machine itself is pretty sweet.

awesome! thank you.

MAKE A HOUSE FOR THOSE CUTIE DOGGIES

The tiny house movement fascinates me. I totally get it for an extra living space and I even get it for people that want to use it for temporary housing - like camping or something similar. But I think it's funny that people are talking about it like it's a brand new idea. Isn't that what trailers have always been? A less expensive way of owning a home???

I love that you are using reclaimed products from around the farm. What a clever way to have more space for family! Very cool!

I blame the hipsters @ekpickle! Next thing you know there will be trailer courts in Brooklyn.

Awesome.
I love tiny houses.

Really nice. When I'm finished with the bathroom in our "normal"( what some people call small already) house. I'm thinking of building a tiny house too. But that's only a maybe,
I follow you, so I can see how it's done ;)

Would love to build my own tiny home one day - I had an idea for a b&b and all the rooms where just these tiny little homes people could sleep in. Was gonna call it the bird house B&B and make all the houses look somewhat like giant bird feeders on the outside.

Keep up! I'm waiting for next posts/images.
best
m.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44