Former City Girl Living on A Farm

in #life7 years ago

When I was 25, I was working for a bank in NYC. Almost a year later, I was living on a farm in Western Pennsylvania. Very few things would cause someone to make such a drastic life change. I met my husband over the 4th of July weekend on the farm where I now reside about 14 years ago. Some friends invited me to a party and I had nothing better to do. Little did I know that someday that farm would be where I would be raising our 3 kids, 2 dogs, 1 cat, and 5 chickens. Scratch that, we are down to 2 chickens after a fox invaded our chicken coop last night.

Country life is so much different than city life. It took me a very long time to adjust. When I first moved here I kept wanting to order food, or go out to dinner, or go shopping. Nobody delivers food to our farm. There are very few restaurants. I do not consider Denny's a restaurant. Wal Mart is the only place to shop. People even buy their groceries there. Luckily my family still lives in Pittsburgh so I get to overdose on shopping when I visit. We now have an Aldi about 20 minutes away, so that is also pretty exciting. So, if you can do without the access you have in a big city, here is the tradeoff: fresh air, no traffic, and a sense of community.

In order to keep ourselves busy, we spend a lot of time outside. We got rid of TV nearly 12 years ago (before NETFLIX... GASP!) When my kids get restless, we go outside. We take long walks almost every day. We go to the creek and build dams. We pick strawberries at the local farm and can jam. In the winter, we go outside. We still take walks. We sled ride and build snow men.

I can't imagine raising my kids any other way. Here are some pics of our farm:

610farm.jpg
This photo was taken at sunrise on top of our hill

FJL09 010.jpg
This photo was taken at sunset in front of the barn

610Farm6.jpg
This is a photo of our barn, built in 1885

firework.jpg
Firework in front of the barn

Sort:  

living the dream. Beautiful. I still work in Finance in NYC. One day i hope to be your neighbor.

Wow what a gorgeous place to raise kids. I am a bit out in the country too in my state... Great story and photos..
2017-23-6--11-13-40.jpeg

Thanks @deadgrlsuppastar. Where do you live?

Florida.. Almost in dead center in a place that is supposed to be considered the horse capital of the world...

Thank you @dioneaguiar! Have a great weekend!

I want to be able to move to a place like this one day. I hope working from home will be possible for me. Stunning pics followed.

Thank you! You could work from your porch in the fresh air.

these look like paintings... beautiful <3

thank you @jodiegolier :*

That first pic, my husband took. It is one of my favorites. You would never catch me up that early :-)

haha! ya, same...

living the dream, you made the right choice.

I think so too! Thanks @bdl1165

This place looks amazing! I am curently living in China but i am originally from Sweden. The first thing I do when I go back to Sweden is to just breath, enjoy
The air and the quiet landscape. Then I take my fish rod and go to the lake. I want to switch to country life sometime soon, I need time to slow down a bit. I envy you :)

It's such a trade! I miss the city and envy you. Maybe we should switch places!!

Good post, very well written. Loved the photos as well! Thanks for sharing :) Keep on Steeming.

Can never complain about living with those views. Great photos.

I try not to complain, until I want sushi! 😜😜😜

What a beautiful nature! You are a happy person that you can observe this beauty every day. Upvote and follow you.

It does make me smile to see the beauty around us. I will follow you too! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43