Chronicles of my life as an immigrant

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

 


Source



In a certain way throughout my life I can say that I had some comfort in many aspects, I grew up in a family of good principles, my parents gave me an excellent education which helped me to be a good man, to my 15 years of I left my home for reasons of my university studies, the fact of leaving my whole life behind, my parents, brothers, uncles, friends, all my world so to speak I was terrified, I could not stand it but I had to be strong even when I was not prepared to face the reality, little by little I was accepting that I had to face life and that at my young age I had to overcome certain barriers that one as a teenager has, and little by little I separated myself from everything with what I had grown and I even missed everything I had left behind, it was a challenge for me but also new opportunities were also the culmination of my studies, besides being a goal set for me was also an achievement and an immense pride for my parents and that they paid for my entire university career.

I could not go home anymore because I did not feel comfortable with that, I had to start my life and be completely in charge of it, I began to work and pay for everything, in my country everything was easier then and the salary was enough for me I could rent a room and little by little go buy my things for when it was time to have my house already had most of the appliances, I dreamed big as all young, I wanted to have a good job where I earned well to have economic stability , I wanted my car home and even a business, so my life would be resolved, but over time the opportunities in my country to get all that faded, and the jobs were not well paid and because the salary was not enough for you much, but thank God the job where it was everything was easier and I could get the staples, besides that by then I still earned well.

Some time later, the reality of my country was already very different from what we all knew, everything became more difficult, insecurity, lack of food and unemployment as well as inflation consumed us little by little like cancer, no longer There were opportunities and the young man had no way to get ahead and everything was getting worse every day, it was a desperate situation, I felt helpless, because even then I had the benefit of being able to get food that many people could not and in the largest of the cases if they got the cost of them were extremely high and most of those people did not have the ability to afford this type of product because of its value and because of unemployment I heard many people say that their relatives had emigrated which was the best option because if you left the country and went to another to look for a job you had a better quality of life, besides that you could help your family that stayed in your country with So much need, that terrified me, I cried a lot, it was really frustrating, so I made the decision to leave the country to try my luck in another to see how I was doing.

At first I did not want to because I was very scared, I heard many people say it was not easy because in many other countries there were a lot of people from my country who had already emigrated and competition for a job was fierce, but that did not stopped so I decided to leave my country with my heart in my hands full of so many hopes but with many mixed feelings, it is painful to say goodbye to yours and see his face and a look full of pain. It is as if they ripped your soul is a very unpleasant situation, but I fill with courage.

I grabbed my suitcase and my personal documents and without looking back I took some money that I had collected and I went to another country, where a friend was waiting for me, according to who would receive me and help me get a job, he sounded so convincing that I went convinced of what he told me and how he considered him my friend because that most relaxed me so to speak. Upon arrival, the reality was different.

From the first day I noticed it was always strange, it was annoying and because that made me feel uncomfortable, he never told me or left with me to look for a job for me, I had not been able to produce for 2 weeks to pay for my stay and the food And that had me desperate I did not know what to do, I was in a new city and a totally different culture to mine I felt tied arms.

One day he said that he could not be with him anymore, he had to move alone and practically left me in the street, at that moment I became so desperate that many things happened in my mind, until I even thought about taking my life because I did not know what to do, I did not have any guidance or help, but God is great and good, in that time an old friend contacted me to help me, gave me lodging and helped me look for a job, so I started working in a restaurant, never had I worked in a kitchen, it was a challenge for me but I could not afford to waste a job because I did not know anything, much less because I did not have a work permit and as I had said before, the work competition was extremely tough, as it came from a culture where people were very kind and they cared for the welfare of another so they did not know you because that's the way we are in my country, now where I was, it was totally different, besides the work hours there were many more and then I was not used to working so long, but that did not stop me so I took my chances and gave my best.

It feels very bad when you are in a place that is not yours and you have to endure so many humiliations that take advantage of the situation of an immigrant where they do not pay you what they should if not for the simple fact that they know your need they exploit you and they do not remunerate your work as it should be, endure many humiliations every day, at times I wanted to leave all that and return to my house, but as things were that was not an option and I could not afford that because I felt like a failure , so I endured all that I kept giving the best of me, every day I asked God to help me get something better but without having the documents in rules the chances of that happening were scarce, so for now I had to put up with it until you get something better.

I'm not talking about a story invented a note of some guy I read on the web, I speak a little of the reality in which at this moment I am, the life of an immigrant is not easy, there are many hits that you gives life, but I am a very optimistic person and I know that from all those experiences I had a great learning to help me grow as a person, I still hope at some time not too far my country can get out of all the oppression that Right now he is being flogged and at that time each and every one of the immigrants who one day like me decided to go and look for a better future will be able to return to their land and be able to reunite with their loved ones, I have faith that this will be the case.
Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes it is very useful.
Yhanks

Really heart-touching article.

My two children emigrated, I appreciate your chronicle because it is a way to penetrate their feelings, beyond what they manifest ... sad situation ...

Someday I will have to leave my country, and reading this you just shared, it is heartbreaking, it makes me think a lot and meditate. I'm sorry about what happened to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99