Good Times and Horsey Kisses Ahead

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

We're finally getting somewhat settled in our new house. We have the option of taking a hot shower after a day of tearing things down, nailing them in place or dragging them around.

No longer do I kneel in the shower with a little tub of hot water and a cup so I can wash my hair with water warm enough to not give me a headache.

But why did we even embark on this adventure? What made us move this far away from home? Visiting our family means at least two hours in the car. I know some of you might think, "What? That's practically next door!"

But when you live in a country that you can drive through in 3 hours or less, one hour feels like a huge journey.

There's one big reason though. This is a very rural region, with little or no industry. Jobs are not as easy to come by and that has a very interesting effect on real estate prices. For my job, the location is not as problematic as it is for many other people. My husband is in a similar situation. You see, hospitals and army bases are located all over the country.


We bought a place with some land attached to it, so we'd be able to provide my two horses with a new home, and have a bigger yard for the dogs to run around in.

Up until now, my parents had a sizable homestead where they were pastured, but the upkeep on their place, as well as the daily care for the horses, was getting to be a bit much for my Mum. After some long and hard thinking and talking, my parents decided to sell, and we started looking out for a piece of property large enough for the largest of my furry children.


 

I mean, how could I resist? They've both reached a respectable age, though they're not ready to admit that yet. But they can be so, so sweet. This is Sati. Twenty three and still young at heart. He's been my baby since he came to me at the age of six months.

We've been friends for so many years now that I can hardly remember not having him around.

Want to meet his buddy?

Meet Nelle. He's a retired race horse, who came to us at the age of fourteen, after a life of hard work and not enough love and cuddles.

We finally got to move about a month ago, but there was a lot of work to do to get the house in some semblance of order. The only running water we had, those first days, came from a garden hose. The entire place had eight power outlets. No more.

So it took us a while to get those things straightened out first. Two days ago, we finally got to move the horses. We have this amazing neighbour, who keeps horses as well, and he offered us a piece of pasture for temporary use until we get our own properly fenced. His awesomeness doesn't even stop there. He also offered to drive his truck over to my parents' old place--where they were still pastured--and bring them home for us.

Thank Goddess for good neighbours, right? Sati has been away from home only once in over twenty years. Nelle hadn't left his home pasture since his previous owner dropped him off on my parents' property fifteen years ago. While he was used to frequent transports during his racing career, he was also used to being treated none too gently during those transports.

But both my boys walked up the ramp and onto the truck like champs. I was so proud of them. I'm sorry I don't have any photos of the truck ride but I sort of had my hands full.

At first they were a bit unsettled and insecure about being in a strange environment, next to a loud and scary freeway but it's only been two days and they've already settled down and are grazing placidly and peacefully.

 

 

When the weather allows it, we keep each other company over breakfast before I leave for work. I get to see them again when I come home from work, and I don't have to go a single day without my daily dose of horsey kisses.

The house will be a work in progress for a few years yet and it is going to be exhausting. But I finally have my boys at home with me and that will make it all worth while.

Hugs

Tiny


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/06/20/good-times-and-horsey-kisses-ahead/


If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by pointing your pointy thingie at the animation below and clicking.







The STEEM Engine


Witness banner.png

Sort:  

The land of hope and glory on Belgian soil. I think it is a good call madame!
Ps..new account?

Hello, i'm @fearlesspeter i really like this post. I'm new hear and i need your support and votes to help me grow in this platform thanks.

Since you are new, I'll give you a break. But here is some advice: Spam comments like this are frowned upon by the community and they're likely to get flagged. With your rep at 25, you want to avoid that.

Instead, make a meaningful comment that clearly shows that you actually bothered to read the post. Engage people in conversation.

It's called networking. Do it.

Secondly, find a community where you fit in and be active in it. MSP is a good starting place.

That's great. I'm glad you guys are starting to settle in. Nice to have the 'family' together and have good neighbors to boot. Your house will always be a work in progress. Fixing it up and adding your touch is what's fun. Love the star patch on Nelle.. good lookin horses... They look happy.

Those horses are the happiest of all, now that they can live right next to mom. Congrats on getting settled in; the house projects will be never ending, though, I'm sure. Lots of fodder for future posts!

Hi @jasminearch! I missed this post prior to payout, but now I have you in "Steemify" so I won't miss any of your posts. (The tool would never let me add your Tiny account for some reason.)

It's so neat to meet Sati and Nelle! What beautiful children you have. And your property is gorgeous.

Good luck with your continued settling in.

Congratulations @jasminearch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62382.95
ETH 2427.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58