World of Warcraft artbook review - Part 1

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Today I finally begin the WoW artbook review series. I thought it will be only one post, but when I opened the book I understood that it's not the way to go. It's too awesome to fit in only one post! So I yet don't know how many there will be, but I think at least three. It's too hard to stop myself from sharing all the pages with you.

So, let's start! 

The artbook I'll be talking about today is a collection of art from all the updates. May be you know that WoWhas a separate artbook for each update, earier I even made reviews about "Wrath of the Lich King" and "Cataclysm". Long time ago, and now it's already too hard to find them. And this collection is the newest edition exist, a few from every updaye, a general WoW history.

The book has a hard cover and super high print quality. It's such a pleasure to hold it in hands. Both hands, cause it's really heavy:)

The contents contains nine chapters:

  • 1. Foreword
  • 2. Introduction
  • 3. World of Warcraft
  • 4. The Burning Crusade
  • 5. Wrath of the Lich King
  • 6. Cataclysm
  • 7. Mists of Pandaria
  • 8. Warlords of Draenor
  • 9. Artists Index

We will go through seven of them.

One of the reasons I love World of Warcraft so much is it's graphic. For me the word "Blizzard" is the same as the word "truthly awesome digital art". The world created by Blizzard artists are kind of worlds I'd love to live in.

In the game while I wander the imaginary world I try to view all the small details, it's really a great work has been done there. Every corner consists something spectacular. And the colors - the palette is natural bright. Well, may be natural for my inner artist. I have two reasons to love on-line games: the graphic and the plot. Wow has both. Well, talking about the game play process I would give number one to SWtoR, but when it comes to graphic and color palette - Wow is mu winner.

An environment concept art from the book. How cool is that? Every detail worths long viewing. The stone face covered with grass, and the beam bridge - awesome solution for this kind of world. Sure, in the game it looks different, but concepts... Concepts are everything. The place where artists imagination lives.

And what about this one? Don't you whish to visit such place? In this part of review there's alsomt no "classic WoW blue glow", but you know what I mean, right?

The first part of the artbook includes a quick review of the races that exist in the world. I will not l=place here all of them, only a few. As always, I can't pass be goblinoid creatures:

Well, orks, OK. By the way when the WoW movie came out I was first in the line. And it was gorgeous, I must say. I'd love to see the next part, hope it wll be filmed one day. WoW orks if a separate passion for me. I hope you're OK with the fact that I'd love to put here my own fan art of Guldan? OK?:)

I didn't finish it, too many details, too impatient I am. But I hope tomorrow I finally will recieve my graphic tablet and will create another one:)

But back to the artbook, and races:

I love the way how elves are shown. Here they're not that classicly refined creatures. Still gorgeous, yep, but at least something brutal takes place. Not protecting anything armor... It's all about boobs after all:)

OK, OK, the last race sheet to show:) Dwarfes also are my secret passion. Usually I play for wargen in WoW, but if there was no "werewolfs" - I definitely would be a dwarf.

This post already becomes too long, so I'll stop on this picture. Creature concepts is something I can look through for hours. The ones with almost grisaillecolor solutions - especially. OK, I can't go on. I just have to take pencial and make some sketches right now!

See you in the next review!

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Woot! great post, can't wait for the next part :D
I do hope as well they make another Warcraft film :3

I think I'll post the next one next monday of tuesday:)

I haven't watched the movie yet :O was it good?

Yeah, videogame bigscreen adaptations don't have a really good record, but this one is actually quite good!

Good post, Gul'dan is best girl!

Ha-ha:) Thanks:)

XD just kidding, not going back to that haha

Memories:)

This is a great review.

Thank you so much!:)

Good Story.... but film is not good :)

The plot is poor, but I just love to look at orks:)

you are welcome :))

Wow, you were already one of my favorite steemians from your amazing artwork but you love WoW and SWtoR too? My hearts aflutter...

I adore them:) The games AND the graphic!:)

Yes and I totally agree that SWtoR has the better game play but WoW has the best graphics but both are awesome on both.

You should join the whaleshares logo contest. The details are here and here is a post I made explaining what whaleshares is.

Thank you for the information! To bad I hardly can understand how it works. Sometimes my english is not enogh

It's easy... just make a logo design that uses the steem logo and this logo and makes sure there's a whale in it.

I see:) Thanks!:)

genial muy intersante gracias por publicar

You're welcome:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51