Perception and the ego [blog] + thanks giving challenge

in #blog6 years ago

Everything that happens to us should be seen as positive — because we have the opportunity to learn and grow from it.


5C89FAC8-3DC0-4A3D-8509-5BA6AE8FE30C.jpeg


We have to first realize what the thing is that we have the opportunity to learn from in all situations. Once we figure that out, we can use the new knowledge to grow as a person.

I’m still trying to figure out how to be better at this myself.

The “ego” is the most difficult obstacle to overcome when encountering something that presents a challenge or simply when we encounter something that appears to be different than what we’re used to.

The “ego” is basically just how we internalize things — the way we perceive the world, and what our mind subconsciously sees, without trying to fully understand it, from more than just our own point of view.

does this apply to STEEMit?

Similar issues on Steemit can be attributed to the fact that it is a seemingly decentralized community (the “representative” STEEM blockchain is for another post). There are basically no rules because anything can be posted and upvoted and at the same time anything can be flagged or downvoted.

And then, since the attainment of reputation and SP is also unregulated, based on the parameters noted in the previous paragraph, whoever is at the top of the food chain is in control. So there is a bit of localized centralization in a decentralized (unregulated) environment.

If you’re a T-Rex, and I step into your territory you will most likely eat me, unless you’re non-canibalistic and I’m also a T-Rex. So as the saying goes: when in Rome... do as the Romans. Right?

Ok enough analogies.

What that essentially means is that if you’re posting about a certain topic, and behaving/posting in a certain way while doing it, and there is a pre-existing community related to that topic — you will be subject to the rules of the most powerful and/or the most popular in that community. The latter of the two, the popular, may be easier to be overcome (converted, if you will) than the more powerful (reputation/SP). Simply because you can rely more on your words than your power (since in this scenario we assume that it is lacking). And depending on how stubborn and ignorant that powerful user is, you may be able to convince a lot of no-ones who are more like you instead...

So if you don’t agree with the behavior or values that are creating a rule or structure in a certain community you can either try to gain power to attract and convert the plebeians or try to convince them through enlightenment. Or both. All the while trying to avoid direct conflict with a more powerful user and risk being flagged and a toll on your reputation.

Or

You could just not fight it. Because, sometimes you may be the one who is wrong and needs enlightenment. Refer to my opening statement.


8F525AA1-D41C-43D8-BF9B-E3BA1FDCD676.jpeg


communities 101

Then there is the most basic level of community, an individual’s blog, or post, or comment. If you are commenting on someone else’s post, they have every right to subjectively respond and react to your comment (whether you think they did it justly, ethnically, etc., or not). This is more geared toward the “spammers” of the platform. I put that word in quotes because my idea of spamming could be totally different than someone else’s. But it could also be an innocent non-malicious intent-ed user who just wants to voice their opinion.

I’ve recently encountered this, albeit in a slightly different and perhaps reciprocal scenario, after flagging someone’s post because it mentioned my username in a list of A LOT of other usernames. It wasn’t saying anything bad about those listed. And of course the reason for all these usernames being listed in that post eludes me now... but it’s safe to say that I didn’t agree with the “mention-spamming” regardless. The definition of which, I understand as: mentioning the user names of more than twenty (I’m being generous here) Steemians [for no “good” reason].

So... Was I quick to react in flagging something that perhaps I could have tried to understand better before reacting...? Yes. Would the possible outcome still have been the same? Yes. Will I try to be more: think at least nine times before emotionally-reflexively responding/reacting to something? Maybe. But I think you get the point if there even is one.

conclusion

Read this again from the beginning if you don’t get it. Ask me a question. Try to not understand it at first pass. Tell me what you think is the meaning. And then maybe we’ll both be speaking the same language, dialect, accent, etc.


This was inspired by conversations with various STEEMians and scenarios that I was both directly and indirectly involved in somehow.


thanks-giving challenge


E9EF639A-BCB4-42A9-83CF-50F600BC8672.jpeg


My first thanks will be to the person that nominated me: @doris-adioha (see here)

My second thanks will be to all of the users that continuously interact with me and thus support me.

My third thanks is to god, Thor, Zeus, Odin, and my parents for making me.

Ok so maybe that was four or more? I dunno but what I do know is that I make the rules here:

I nominate: everyone — to include things they are thankful for in their next seven posts and/or as an individual post. You’re supposed to nominate someone specifically in each post so I’ll try to do that in my next “thanks-giving” post. But first I’d like to see if anyone takes up the challenge on their own. Checking for balls and heart.

Sort:  

This is a nice one. I like it. I used to keep a gratitude log in my calendar for a couple of months a while ago, in which you were supposed to list 3 things each evening for which you were grateful that day. A good cup of coffee, a smile on the subway, a conversation with grandparents. Whatever. That you're alive. It did cure my negativity a little bit, because it's a change in perception and attitude: At first I was forced to fish for stuff I enjoyed that day, then I would do stuff that would make me feel grateful and in the end the change in my attitude started to naturally happen and be visible in my behavior, and it started to be very easy. It would be good to start doing it again. I will take up this challenge - a post like that is a good start. Thanks!

As for the steemit part - you know what I think. Good post.

Good comment. Thank you ma’am. Bless you.

Amazing photography

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 37 phrases considered to be spam. You've received 4 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 84.00% and Bot: 2.30%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Thanks :)

Hehehe.... E be like say these spammers like your blog 😂😂

Okay, so I had to read the first part of your post twice to be able to understand it to a reasonable extent.
About the paragraph before the sub-title "conclusion"... Please correct me if I am mistaken, but are you trying to say that you have the right to react in whatever way you want (fair or not) whenever your name is mentioned or whenever a comment is made on your blog?
Also, thanks for the mention, I feel honoured 😁

but are you trying to say that you have the right to react in whatever way you want (fair or not) whenever your name is mentioned

No, not exactly. Another problem is that everyone has a different opinion of right and wrong. Every scenario is different. How I reacted in my situation was correct (in my opinion).

are you trying to say that you have the right to react in whatever way you want (fair or not)....whenever a comment is made on your blog?

Again, not exactly but we mustn’t think that the same applies for everyone else we interact with.

The point here, is to understand another person’s point of view again and, that when we go to someone else’s page (or a different community) we cannot expect to be treated a certain way.

The main point overall is to have an open mind in general. And that we shouldn’t expect others to behave based on the way we would behave. I’ll talk more about (false/unreal) expectations in another post. And so if you are a “good” and open minded person doesn’t mean that the person you’re interacting with is too. And of course “good” is subjective. Just take nature for example. If a lion needs to eat a Buffalo is he evil for doing so? The buffalo thinks so but not the lion.

The secondary point is that Steemit (despite its claim of decentralization) works very much like the real world. Power and popularity rule. Regardless of the good/evilness of that ruling person. And when that person gives things out they seem to be good because people need to survive and they see reward as survival and survival is good. But if that person ruling is killing or stealing to provide, is that good or evil (for you or for the one’s being harmed).

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49