Creative Confession: I am a Force-sensitive person with imaginary friends

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

laser-sword-2106883_1920.jpg

After ten years of writing and publishing, I don’t dare to call myself a writer. And when I see how people around me easily do that – I doubt I ever will. Now don’t get me wrong. If you think that a couple of published short stories and even one or two novels qualify you for that, then I don’t mind.

Only one thing is certain. Before you decided to take this glorious title, you heard the call. You felt the indescribable urge to write your ideas and discover new worlds that will shape the future of modern literature. As every untrained Force user, you started to ride on the emotions triggered by the unbounded power of creation.

And boy, there were so many words, sentences, paragraphs, chapters...

But Force can kill you. Did you know that?

This is a story about my fall on the Dark side of creativity.

oie_tlUSAYgTqaOW.png

In the beginning was the Word – says one of the most popular bestsellers. And then, another one came. I won’t do the math, but after several thousand words my first story was accepted and published in the collection along with some of the well-known Serbian SF/H writers. My head was in clouds. I decided that I won’t waste my time and I wrote one more. It was rejected.

But I didn’t learn anything from that. Years have passed, and I continue to write with mixed success. For me, the act of writing is a deep individual process that I like to take alone. Well, almost alone. You can usually choose your imaginary friends (instead of rare cases of demonic possession), and my companions represent two sides of my inner creative voice. For the purpose of this article, let’s call them Hidden-Write Wannabe and Darth Rush.

And here we are in 2011, sitting and discussing our potential for the very first standalone collection of short stories.

Me: Should I write ten or more stories in two months, so I can publish the collection before the Belgrade Book Fair?

Hidden-Write Wannabe: Beware my child. You are not prepared for that battle. Wait and learn, you will know when you are ready.

Darth Rush: Skill is a lie. There is only writing. Through writing, you gain fame. Trough fame you gain money. Trough money you get laid. OK?

Wohoooo…OK man!

So it happened. My book received mixed reviews, and it wasn’t so bad at all. Serbian fandom started to recognize me, I was still miles away from success but it was OK.

And once again - I didn’t learn anything from that.

Source

Instead of improving my position in the domestic market, I decided it was a time for an international carrier. I am not a native English speaker (as you can notice), so I had to find a way to translate my story with a limited budget.

Hidden-Write Wannabe: Don’t lie…

Ok. Without any budget.

Darth Rush: What’s a big deal? Ask some of your friends…

Me: But I don’t have professional translators among my friends

Darth Rush: Oh come on. Anyone can help you with that…trough translation you gain…

Ok man. You won!

And it happened again. One of my friends was kind enough to do the work for me, and it was a good piece. Actually, the translation wasn’t a problem at all. It was my story. It was a well-received story in Serbia, but it was too much local to be recognized and accepted in the international market. So, after it hit Amazon bookstore I received one of the first comments

honest.png

I didn’t like two stars. I wanted more. And my friends proposed the solutions.

Hidden-Write Wannabe: Let it go. Respect your reviewer and learn from the mistake.

Darth Rush: Learning is a lie. Call Stormtroopers!

And I fell on the dark side again. I alarmed my friends and got my stars. But it didn’t help me at all. A bad story is a bad story. You should never fake reviews because you can’t trick your audience – you will only screw yourself.

fake.png

Now I would lie if I tell you that this was the moment of my awakening. Actually, that happened when I saw my Goodreads score and realized that I seriously broke my future chances because I choose to follow my Sith companion. I had a dozen of published and well-received stories on Serbian market, but I decided to rush and skip some important steps. While I was focused on recycling and publishing the old materials I completely stop to write new things.

goodreads.png

I thought I know how to use the Force, but it almost killed me.

oie_0hG82d9pFyrG.png

So why am I writing this? I want to give you a few simple advices that you probably won’t follow. But anyway, here they are:

  • The act of writing is important, but so is an act of publishing. Find the editor or beta reader. If they tell you that your work isn’t good enough, there is a chance that they have right. And don’t forget – if you have a feeling that you shouldn’t publish something – then you probably shouldn’t (most writers have a great intuition).

  • Don’t write more than you can take. You can’t become Jedi overnight. Even the Song of Ice and Fire has started as a short story. Try to master this technique before you move to your epic fantasy saga. It is harder than it looks.

  • If you translate – do it well, or don’t do it at all. Only one wrong word can start the war, and poor translation can be your way to the Dark Oblivion.

  • And above all – don’t hesitate to kill your ideas if you feel they are bad. If you don’t do it – your readers will. And that is the worst scenario.

Dear Steemians, thank you for reading this. Since I started my light side path I learned to enjoy the whole process without thinking about its outcome (more than it is normal, of course). I would love to see your comments and I will continue to share many different stories about other mistakes (and a few good things) that I did in my so-called career.

Good luck and May the Steem be with you!

Image sources:
Lightsaber cover image and lightsaber separators: www.pixabay.com
Screenshots: Taken from my Amazon and Goodreads page, and edited after that.
Sort:  

Hi

I don't know whether you remember me...so many months gone by since we last chatted.

I wanted to say hello, but without interrupting a current post which is still being visited. Then I saw this post and next thing I knew I was reading it.

You give very good advice, though, there are times, I think, when I must go against my instincts. For instance, when I write a poem, I never feel any of them are good enough for me to share with others.

Of course, Steemit is a great platform for proving anything I write is not good, if the lack of readers means anything, but I have had a few who gave me the kind of reaction I was dreaming of. I even had a poet tell me (after I upvoted and gave him advice, despite him being far better a poet than I), that he went searching through my blog and was stunned by the one poem and feels it is the best ever on Steemit.

Okay, I'm human, I was flattered, but I also kept my head and it soon became obvious he was only being nice, as he never returned to read another
:)

Such is life. Luckily though, I am still posting Book 01 of 13 books and when not on-line, I'm writing Book 14.

I guess it is likely nobody will ever read them, but it no longer matters, I am writing for an 'audience' of one - myself. It helps me focus and sometimes I have a lucid dream and I am with my characters and my next day is a day of beautiful feelings - and, strange as it may sound, memories.

Most of your posts now are not in English, so I cannot follow what you are doing, but, are you still writing SF?

Hey Arthur, great to hear from you again! Sorry for late answer – there is so much work these days and I haven't checked my profile. Actually, I was reading Little Cherine, but then I missed few chapters and decided to read it (with a couple of other books) during my summer vacation. I learned that there are many readers who are not posting comments, and we have very similar experience. My latest posts are on Serbian, it is Dark Fantasy book which I decided to share only with Steemit audience (it was never published in hard copy, only as ebook translation on Amazon Italian bookstore). I will start to write in English again these days, but It won't be fiction...I hope you are doing well and I am glad that you are writing the new book – that feeling of creation has no price. Now, it would be great if we all could earn some money beside the creative satisfaction...:-)

What about the Chinese? I thought you said there is a good market for SF there?

I was thinking that once I have finished posting Little Cherine here, which is useful in that it means I am doing anothing proofreading, I can then prepare it for submitting to the people you suggested. My only problem is in preparing an interesting cover, but I'll worry about it later.

I have one reader, as a regular, only problem is his English is not good and cannot manage more than 2 or 3 pages a day, so it will be a while before I am finished. I guess I will just have to insist on living long enough to make it happen
:)

What about the Chinese? I thought you said there is a good market for SF there?

I was thinking that once I have finished posting Little Cherine here, which is useful in that it means I am doing anothing proofreading, I can then prepare it for submitting to the people you suggested. My only problem is in preparing an interesting cover, but I'll worry about it later.

I have one reader, as a regular, only problem is his English is not good and cannot manage more than 2 or 3 pages a day, so it will be a while before I am finished. I guess I will just have to insist on living long enough to make it happen
:)

I had experience with Fiberead (I wrote about it some time ago) and it was something I never achieved on other mainstream services of this type. But my story was a short one (10 minutes read), and I still didn't fill the needed threshold for payment – it costs only 0.99 RMB. I just checked my dashboard after your comment and saw that there are some purchases every month – without any marketing or other activities. And more than 10 different comments on Amazon page. That is great. So, with full book translated, I am sure there must be some revenues. My only problem is lack of basic English translation – one which could be passed on to Chinese translation team...so if you have a polished and proofread manuscript of Little Cherine, you could try...you cant lose anything after all...and about the cover, don't worry – they are doing it and you only provide basic photo, or art...I was surprised with final results in my case :-) Check it out on this link

Well,honestly speaking, I have never seen anything as creative as this before.Totally mind blown!!

Thank you! There are many great posts out there, trust me...:-)

You just planted 0.88 tree(s)!


Thanks to @hidden84

We have planted already 5698.53 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20712.93
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hidden84 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36