Panning for gold vs. buying gold from Goldmoney + a unicornsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

This post will determine once and for all whether it is faster and easier to pan for gold, or purchase it from Goldmoney.

If you think you already know the outcome of this experiment, and would like to try the new and improved onboarding, that makes it considerably easier to open a Goldmoney Holding than ever before to buy some gold, start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

Like many gold enthusiasts, I enjoy watching the show Gold Rush, on the Discovery Channel, in which amateur gold miners quickly discover just how difficult and expensive it is to get gold out of the ground.

I decided to purchase a gold panning kit branded by Gold Rush and give it a try myself to see if this process would be quicker than buying gold from Goldmoney.

IMG_2985.JPG

This kit contains a gold pan and some other supplies necessary to do some panning, including some pay dirt from active gold mines!

IMG_2996.JPG

The instructions in the kit recommend that you watch a video to learn the basics of gold panning put on by Parker Schnabel, one of the stars of Gold Rush.

IMG_2991.JPG

Note the Chiweenie dog standing watch. Learn more about the Goldmoney Chiweenie here: https://steemit.com/money/@goldmatters/chiweenie-dog-joins-goldmoney-t-shirt-tour

IMG_3002.JPG

The gold panning process requires a lot of patience, as the pan must be shaken many times and the dirt and rocks washed out. It is a methodical process that old time goldminers have been doing for a couple hundred years or so.

IMG_3013.JPG

While I have casually panned a few times before I would by no means consider myself an expert.

IMG_3018.JPG

IMG_3020.JPG

IMG_3022.JPG

Even the Chiweenie dog was getting bored of watching me washing rocks.

IMG_3024.JPG

Little by little the lighter rocks are eliminated from the pan, and the heavier black sand and gold (hopefully) sink to the bottom.

IMG_3026.JPG

IMG_3031.JPG

IMG_3032.JPG

Gold panning is a little like fishing. Patience is needed, with no guaranteed results.

IMG_3033.JPG

IMG_3034.JPG

Finally after some vigorous shaking......

IMG_0311.JPG

Just kidding.

IMG_3041.JPG

BUT

IMG_3044.JPG

IMG_3049.JPG

I did end up with a few flakes!!

The process took 45 minutes or so. Allowing time for some pictures :)

Lets compare to purchasing some gold using Goldmoney:

After funding my account via PayPal....

IMG_0296.PNG

Selected order to buy $20 USD worth of gold.

IMG_0297.PNG

Chose vault.

IMG_0298.PNG

Reviewed order.

IMG_0308.JPG

Placed order and received confirmation of order.

IMG_0309.JPG

With my extra time, I sent a friend some gold (this was from my Personal account, but gold payments can be send from a Holding as well).

This process took considerably less time than panning for gold, cost less than the $25 + I paid for the kit, I experienced no hand cramping, and I ended up with more gold.

IMG_3053.JPG

Next time I pan for gold, maybe Ill use my lucky gold hat! In the meantime, I will stick with the convenience of Goldmoney.

-Goldmatters

PS. As I was composing this blog, a friend sent me this picture, its just random enough to include.

IMG_0312.JPG

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

I am on a personal mission to spread the world about Goldmoney through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows indivuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

Read more:

https://steemit.com/money/@goldmatters/game-of-thrones-and-goldmoney

https://steemit.com/blog/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-goldmoney-friday-night-at-home-goods-joe-rogan-meets-goldmoney-18k-gold-card

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@goldmatters/buy-bitcoin-use-goldmoney-and-a-call-to-action

Sort:  

As i say gold is the new gold.

I like that. I might use that later :)

Maybe you could also take a STEEM power ranger suit and let them experience goldmoney. https://steemit.com/steemfest/@rival/rival-introducing-steem-power-ranger-costume #GOLDMONEYISEVERYWHERE

Let me know when STEEM Power ranger have to come to the rescue..

Yes! One day I will have a beard like that

I'm terrible at panning for gold. I've tried on numerous occasions and personally I don't think it is worth the effort. You are probably better off just buying gold with goldmoney as you said @goldmatters haha

Lol yeah im pretty bad at it too. I need more practice to be a good gold planner.... but I agree Ill just buy it from Goldmoney for reals :)

Pretty cool, i like that show too. I like when they clean out at the end and weight it up. Seems easier to order from gold money. The shot with the dog was cute too!

Thanks man! It's so satisfying watching them pour gold and count it EVERY time oz by oz. What an awesome show!

I have bought a gold bar about 2 years ago and I think that will be a good save . Welcome back to the crypto world.

Ps- THANKYOU FOR RHE HAT

Fantastic! I bet that gold bar helps you sleep at night :)

Helps me feel a little secure :) cheers 🍻

The grandfather from Parker did pan a lot pay dirt. Nice to see you bought the kit and try it yourself, including the pay dirt. I See some business in it; sell pan with paydirt for $30, and in average there is only for $2 gold in the kit. BUT; in several cases there will be more gold, maybe up to $10.000. That could make it more fun to pan.
Otherwise; just follow your instructions how to become some GOLD MONEY.

Thanks for reading about gold panning and Goldmoney! Yeah I had a lot of fun doing it really :) enjoyed the process

I agree with

That looks great!

I would love to be able to go out into my back yard and pan for gold!

You can! Just order a kit :)

Haha, the unicorn came out of nowhere... lol. As for gold panning, I've tried it a few times, it really takes patience and often has very little reward I think your totally doing it the right way.

Lol totally! The unicorn kinda freaks me out honestly..... i agree, buying gold through Goldmoney = much easier:)

I am ready for the next "goldmoney was here" contest since I missed the last one (I will reveal the secret backround city in the contest-

clickthespoon.gif

Awesome! Great picture of the Goldmoney card!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53