26 years and counting

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

According to some, falling in love is one of the most greatest feeling, but I beg to disagree. For me, the greatest feeling is to be in love and have it returned more than what you have given. I am currently recovering from a heartbreak but that does not mean I should be talking about it all the time. Hence, at this moment I will to share to you one of the sweetest love story I ever heard, this is the love story The title of this blog entry should have been Road to Forever but it sounds a bit mushy. Meanwhile, while typing I am listening to different wonderful love songs. Yay!

If it was not fate, then I do not know what this is.

Dahlia, my mom, originally come from down south of Mindanao. Her father Jose, was a Spanish mestizo. Her mother Cristina is a native of Ozamis. Because of work, my grandparents transferred from one place to another until they decided to settle in Cagayan de Oro where my mom took her college degree. Alfredo Jr., my dad, meanwhile is from Macabalan, a small town of Cagayan de Oro. It has been said that people from his area are known to have bad reputation.

It was in the university where my parents met. My dad was a transferee while my mom has been studying there before him creating a good reputation on her teachers. Alfredo was very notorious in his class because most of the time he gets into an argument with his professors. My parents at that time were so different.

There were times that my dad would go to class drunk. There were also times my dad would try to snap the strap of my mom's bra and tell her bra bagol. Or her undergarment was made up of coconut shells. My mom hated him a lot then.

It was just so sudden when the wind change its course.

It was after their class that my mom waited for a jeepney that would take her home when my dad suddenly took her attention and pushing her to be courted by him. Of course, my mom was taken aback. She never liked him in the first place. It has been minutes since he was pursuing her when a jeepney came with my grandpa on it. Dahlia, sakay (Dahlia ride on). My mother has no choice but to say yes to my dad then.

After that encounter, my dad tried his best to change. He became so nice to her. They started dating too. My dad made some of her paper works and even her thesis. They became so close that one of their teachers asked my mom what happened. They never liked my dad because of his brute attitude before. She smiled upon remembering those moments.

My father also got so close with my mom's family. He spent holidays with them most of the time. He was just lucky that he was not chased with itak by my grandpa, just like what my lolo did to my uncle when he was courting my aunt . My grandfather did not like him at first since he is from Macabalan. He thought of my dad as a bad person but my dad came back with a news that he is now a barangay councilor. Way to go dad!

When they started working in a private school, they were an item in their school. My dad was notorious again for being strict. Since he was a civics teacher in a chinese school, he would condult a quick. The first class who took the quiz would inform the second section of the topics that would be covered. Because my dad know such tactics, he would change the set of questions making the students so frustrated. Haha! Talking about leakage, that will never work with a non-traditional teacher.

Some things do not end up the way we want it to.

Few years after of being together, they both decided to get married. They saved for a simple wedding but someone from my dad's side used their money for their reconstruction of their house. I felt sad upon hearing this story. My mom got pregnant then so they decided to get married as soon as possible. They ended up having a loan for their wedding.

When my sister was born, she became a source of happiness. My sister was not a year old when my mom got pregnant of me. At that time, dad was taking up law. My dad went back to his vices. He became a constant headache for mom. When I was born, my dad was the one taking care of me at night. Instead of studying, he would end up putting me to sleep as he would also end up sleeping. Good bye oral exams! Bad timing! Dad decided to leave law school.

We were living in a simple life. My parents were both public school teachers while they send us to public school too. I never dreamed of having a grandeur life, all we wanted to have is a simple but healthy life. But then it was my sister's death that shocked us all.

It was the lowest point of my parents' lives. But instead of being shaken, I saw them building up each other. There are little misunderstandings once a while but they have went through over it.

Last 2014, we experienced an accident. We had a car crash. We almost fell off a cliff, but luckily we hit a post. I really shouted when I saw my mom bleeding and unconscious. I was being hysterical, but my dad remained calm and compose. He carried my mom and asked for a help around. We were just thankful that a taxi passed over. We were taken to the hospital. I could see on my dad's eyes that he was scared for what has happened. I wanted to argue with him that it was his fault that it happened to us. But my mom was just thankful that we were all alive.

Now that they are already in their twenty sixth year of their marriage, all I hope is the best for them. There would become more loving and understanding with each other. There are no questions of loyalty and faithfulness. I wish to find the same love that they have with each other. Happy 26th! I am so proud to be one of the labors of your love. I love you both.

Photo taken using Samsung J5 phone.


Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gailbelga to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Hi @gailbelga! Your post is really awesome. I am also a Filipina and just a newbie here on steemit. Please follow back! Thanks!

hello @teeheecakesph! How are you. Thank you for following me by the way. Are you enjoying it a lot? <3

Ohh Gail.. 💗

So many things about this blog so I'm just sending you and your beautiful family heaps of hugs and love 💗

Thank you ms. @bearone hugs

Oh, I'm sorry for had happened to you guys. That was kinda tragic. I know the feeling, been there too. The bus I was in almost fell off the cliff (Going down from Baguio City). Anyway, your story breaks my heart and at the same time, gave me goosies. Thank God for His mercy. Wishing your parents more years together - happy and forever in love with each other <3

I am glad you were safe @bloghound. Thank you so much. hugs

i am touched amazing story !
@gailbelga can we talk personally ?

Yes sure why

Thank you by the way =)

i have excellent ideas by following we can create a great opportunity for both of us :)

yes? such as what?

should i just disclose the idea which can be really effective

Hello @gailbelga

You have been determined by a human @st3llar to be possessing of special gem. Do join the #untalented family!

Abolishing the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum, average and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!

So e.g if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, arent we both genius? Oh, we both are! Showcase your talents regardless of its nature freely with us in #untalented. Relegate all reservations as flaws are allowed and we sift even the so-called nonsense to find sense therein.

#untalented is an ongoing historical curriculum with initiatives/contests, where each participant wins something. No losers! It is also a core branch of #steemgigs, so please join the SteemGigs community on discord already containing around 700 gifted steemian family members. See this URL for more info

https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

and also this URL for the discord community

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

If you want to vote a witness, you can vote steemgigs too. Simply go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs into the first search box. Stay awesome!

Awesome a really touching story.. This post caught my eye and I completely agree heart breaks ups are worst ,seems I am in the same boat ...

But there also nice lessons from heart breaks too. Thank you by the way.

Completely agreed :-) ...
Can you please follow me so that we stay connected

Happy 26th anniversary to your parents. :)

thank you bebe zar <3

Wonderful story about your parents. though all relationship doesn't click but most of them do. I am hoping my marriage life will be same.

Hoping for yours to be positive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57