Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode D

in #blog7 years ago

500th Episode!!! That's right 500 episodes which means 500+ items from my bar. That's a lot of crap and even more photo's of it.

For this special episode I picked something not from my bar but part of it. If you have been following you have probably hear me talk about my NASCAR cars being built into my wall. Well here is the wall full of cars. This was originally a counter top between the kitchen and bar. The bottom on the kitchen side is some cabinets. On the bar side it was open bookshelves. The top between the 2 had some round posts (about 1 1/2") and between some of those posts were narrow shelves. 6 of varying lengths if I remember correctly. They were maybe 6" wide. Just wide enough that a car it in's plastic case could sit on one. The shelves were old and not at all level which meant putting cars on them wasn't the best idea. When my bought display cases became too full I came up with an idea to build some new shelves for the cars. My main goals were to be able to see the cars and protect them. Secondary goal was to never have to dust them. Having seen a doorway turned into a display case for some sports memorabilia at a bar I used to go to I came up with the idea of enclosing the cars in plexiglass. So I took apart the old shelves, played around with how things could fit, and eventually hired a contractor to put it all together. Using my idea and his carpentry this is the result. The book shelves at the bottom were replaced with glass ones. The top was divided into 3 sections to support the head board covering the beam above the case. The wood was covered in mirror. LED light strips installed in the top of each of the 6 sections. Glass shelves added to the top. This worked great for all but the top most shelves. Couldn't see the hoods. That was fixed with some scraps of plexiglass and small wooden blocks. The back ends of the cars were boosted with the plexiglass with the small wooden blocks keeping the plexiglass vertical. The whole thing was then enclosed in plexiglass on both sides. Protected, lit, and dust free.








Unfortunately LED strips lead to bad pictures due to the glare from them but pics still came out decent. Some of those cars at the top you have seen in previous episodes. None of the stuff at the bottom has been featured yet.

First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap |
Fourth 100 Episode Recap | Follow Me | Witness Proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47