Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode CDLXIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Not sure if this is today's episode or the book they are referencing to program steemit. Guess we will find out if this post saves within 5 tries. Anyway off to the episode.

This is an old one I still have laying around. Goes back ot my college days. Back when we had to watch out for the wondering T-Rex on the way to classes. It's an old IBM assembly textbook. Why I still have this around I have no clue. It was in storage with most of my useless textbooks for a long time but I pulled it out about 20 years ago to try to figure out some conversions between float data types stored on VMS that needed converted to DOS. Turned out almost nothing in this book was relevant even back then. Never did get that to work due to the company that made the program that stored the data wrote bad data to the files. Eventually got the bright idea to just read the data from the reports which were stored in plain text. So this has been sitting around gathering dust ever since. Big book. Nearly all text. Closest thing to a picture is the occasional flow chart which is mostly more text just in diagram form. Wonder if they even teach anything close to this these days? And no never did I use anything learned from this book for anything practical. Don't think I ever even saw assembly outside of this class. Maybe in driver examples in old printer manuals but that's about it. $100+ useless paperweight.







First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap |
Fourth 100 Episode Recap | Follow Me | Witness Proposal

Sort:  

Wow, I was transported back to my college days, too. Assembly language was so cool as a student and it was way more cool when I had to teach it to my students. I get to control the computer at the hardware level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68