Finding time when there is none - Micro business update

in #blog7 years ago

Time, it is such a headache sometimes. How come some people seem to have 27 hours in a day when I only get 20? I know we all get the same time, but it just doesn't feel like it always, does it?

A plan for finding time

I've spent the last few days running a fever - I struggle with my immune system, which is why I love my business because it's somewhat passive.
Well, the people upstairs had a leak which meant that I have had carpenters, plumbers and more carpenters in my home while running this fever, so instead of sleeping, I've had plenty of time to think.

I want to not only run a successful business but to serve people well. I have dreams I want to realise to do so, more dreams than time in fact. I've been trying to work at night after tucking in my little one, but I'm a complete type A and after 5 pm (okay, who am I trying to kid, 3 pm) all my creative juice is gone and I just want to relax and do things that don't require my brain to function on a high level.

It just wasn't working. I wasn't progressing at the speed I would have liked to. When I see something that isn't working I course correct as soon as possible. So I've come up with a new plan to find the time to make progress.

You've probably guessed it. Evenings aren't working for me so I'm going to try mornings. I want to work on the ministry side of my business in the morning when my brain is fresh(er).

Like a boss.jpg
Source

Accountability

I need some accountability to make it work so for the next 12 workdays (Sun-Fri, so for the rest of February) I'll be popping into Steemit saying good morning and telling you
a) What time it is.
b) What I'm planning to work on.
c) What I got done in my morning time the day before.

I'm planning on setting out everything I need the night before and basically roll out of bed and get to it after my short quiet time routine.

Will you please check in on me every day and cheer me on or give me a gentle kick in the behind if I need it?

As always, you can support my business easily by upvoting this post,
following me on Pinterest or simply by clicking here.

Until next time, keep your hands busy and your hearts quiet.

Sort:  

I am self employed and work from home. My biggest problem is getting distracted - hence why I am on Steemit when I should be working!. I also get friends and family popping in for a coffee without calling me first to check if I am busy, that really irritates me!

I get that. It's like they don't respect the fact that you are actually working. They wouldn't stop by an office to have coffee with you unannounced, would they? I wish you focus and fewer interruptions.

thank-you and yes, because I am at home, they assume I actually do nothing all day - not sure how they think my work gets done. The thing is I do find it hard to get motivated sometimes, and they usually pop round just when I have got my act together and stuck into serious work mode! This is one of the drawbacks to working from home, but I accept it will happen

Can you set up office hours? Like telling them you are not available between x and y unless it's an emergency?
Most people don't realise how much other people work unless they are present to observe it.

no I think they are past listening, and I do tend to work in short bursts throughout the day and evening as I can't work for long periods of time due to the fact I get fatigued very easily and I have a short attention span (from past medical treatment). I have asked that they phone before they come several times, but that falls on deaf ears!. If I knew they were coming I could at least plan my day a bit better.

Wishing you the best of luck in getting focused and staying on task!

I find isolation (whether physical or virtual) from distractions to be a great help. Virtual would be a good set of headphones and limiting what is in your field of view to just the business topics.

I’m like you, too. My most creative and best productive times are in the mornings. By the time I’m home from the office, I’m useless even for manual labor!

Yes, I need isolation too. I love the quiet of the morning. Before we had children I would rather get up at 4 am to study than study at 8 pm if I was in a pinch.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts once again. It's giving me renewed ideas on how to plan my own days better. Of course I already knew what I should be doing, but reading it from someone else is kind of helping to motivate me too.

That makes me so happy to hear. it's the very reason I share and I get so much good from others in this way too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43