Open Road Journal | Salt Lake City | 8,200 miles traveled

in #blog6 years ago

Picture- Richfield, Utah

The road is long and winding. The nights are short and cozy. Whether it is car camping or tent camping, the days and nights go by too fast.

We have been on the road now for just over 8,200 miles. We are currently in Salt Lake City,Utah. Not that we have taken in many sights, we are only doing laundry.

Our time on the road is also paired with our challenge to spend as little money as possible. There is a very strong pull to live like a tourist, but we are trying to live like a local in each place we visit.

The goal is to be able to see and experience God's creation. To get the wheels turning and some road behind us. Not so much spend every dollar we have on knick knackery.

The experience as it is, it is blowing our minds. To see the lay of the land. To enjoy the views, and digging our bare toes into soil and sand is enough for is.

Some might say that there is an easier way to do what we are doing. I am positive that there is. I am also positive that how you endure a challenge is reflected in your personality when it is over.

We are just about to begin our trek further west. To walk in the pacific sands, and float in it's waters. To take in new cultures, and share a bit of ours.


To some it may seem that we are on vacation. It may look like we are living fast and loose. Negative about the first, very correct about the second. We don't call it fast and loose, we say we are living radical.

Radical compared to everything that we have ever been taught. Radical compared to what we thought we understood. Radical compared to most people that you have met.

626 is what we say. Not to live in the past, but to be shaped by it, we remember 6/26/14. We were in a terrible car crash. We all made it through with little more than scratches. But the vision of our 1 ton truck laying totaled and flipped over will be with us forever.

Each day that I wake up, I have an opportunity to make something happen. I am choosing to live consciously. Making intentional decisions toward every aspect of my life.

As a full time Steemit user I make time everyday to work. By work I mean to gratefully share my life and entertain others online. I am very blessed to be able to earn for my ideas.

Currently, I am stretching my mind to learn new ways to earn. I feel that God has led my family to the road, and I know He will provide. I am seeing endless possibilities, and I am determined to make them happen.

Life is amazing, and too often we aren't actually living. I understand that my current situation doesn't make sense. The balance between quality of life and comfort doesn't line up. I know that if my hours were spent just clocking in somewhere...the balance would be shifted the other way.

I am determined to dig into the reason we are here. I know there is something on the other side of it all, and that is the purpose of the adventure.

This journey is going to go forward whether I understand it or not. Sometimes that is the point. To be called, to be obedient, to follow through.

My veins are filled with excitement for the outcome. We are doing and seeing things we could only dream of. God is so good.

I hope you all enjoy watching our journey unfold! Be well.

https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb
.

If you wish to donate to our adventure, we accept crypto and PayPal!

Sort:  

Wow, you are both so brave for doing what you decided to go through with. I think it can be much more challenging, but also you'll come across many more adventures if you travel the way you do. (I did this in Asia and it shaped who I am forever).
Experiencing a serious car crash like you did can be a big eye opener for you to see what's really important in life... I guess that was what happened to you both back then. I'm glad you got away with just scratches!

Hi there! Yeah, just scratches. Praise Jesus...man that could have been bad. This adventure is amazing!

I think this is just the best. You two are doing exactly what you should be <3 the memories you are making, things and people you are seeing....this is life! Thank you for sharing and for being so inspiring. This post has gotten me thinking.....peace to you both <3<3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

A long term travel I see...What you're doing right now is actually good. Not only you get the chance to travel into places, but you also get to see and discover different life situations of other people.

Good for you mate! Hope you'll have more fun filled adventures. I wish I could do the same in the future. :)

Thank you! I hope you get a chance to have an adventure!

Congratulations @freedompoint! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for this wonderful post :) I will like and share this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28