Halloween is not so far away but that's the least of my worries

in #blog6 years ago


20101031-IMG_4404 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Halloween is in about a month and its a big deal where I live. Not as big a deal as it is in America, but compared to other places in the UK it is.

We have a parade on halloween night every year in the city centre. This shot is from one of those parades many years ago (I don't often get to go to it as i work most halloweens).

This is a do-over

Now, this is the second time I am writing this post. I initially wrote it on friday afternoon and scheduled it through steempeak whilst singing its praises because I was supposed to be away travelling this weekend. Unfortunately my trip got cancelled due to illness. It is the second trip in a row to london that I have had to cancel this year because I have been to ill to travel. So the fact that steempeak failed to post this post as it was meant to isn't so bad as I am home and able to re-write it.. though now the text of this post is me whining about being sick again.

Another health scare?

Its very strange because the doctors can't seem to tell me what is wrong with me and they also don't seem to concerned with finding out! I guess my symptoms are just too generic? They just keep saying.. oh you have a viral infection or some such nonesense.. and there is nothing you can do about that except maybe ride it out.


medical-logo.jpg

Well there is one thing I will be doing. I am changing my lifestyle and I started the change this weekend. I'm not drinking anymore ... for a while anyway. I used to drink half a bottle of wine a night on a regular basis .. sometimes more. I am going to bed earlier now.. I used to average a 1:30am bedtime with a 7am wakeup for work.. Now its a 10pm bedtime. I'm also making improvements to my diet, more vegetables and such in my meals and no more skipping meals because 'im too busy to eat'.

I was speaking to my sister about it and she suggested I take time off work for a while to get myself sorted out. I don't know how things work at her company but I don't think I can just go to my boss and say, "i'd like to take a couple months off work to figure out my health problems thanks." Though maybe that's precisely what I should do.. the only problem is that it would no doubt be unpaid leave, and my steemit income is nowhere near where I need it to be to do that!

This whole experience has given me some choice words to express my disdain at the medical system in the UK, but the reality is that its still free healthcare and without it I would have nothing!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Take it one day at a time and be forgiving of yourself. That's a lot of change all at once. Celebrate the little victories and move past the times when you get back into old habits. You got this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :) luckily I have some supportive friends and family helping me :)

May you soon get well.
Hope for the best.
God bless you.

Sorry to hear you a not well, it can be difficult to know what causes random illness - certainly taking a break from working would help but like you so not many business take Kindly to extended leave unless it is sick leave given by the doctor.

Hopefully you will be better again soon, I'm sure the extra rest will help.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank mate, it is really tough and frustrating sometimes.. especially since I normally never get sick.. but suddenly this year I am getting sick a lot. My colleagues re quire supportive though and I normally dont take time off without a doctor's note .. i just wish I knew what is causing it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I love Halloween, but here in Slovenia, it's not a big deal at all.

I hope your health will improve. These are some nice changes that you made and I am sure that you will be better. Best wishes.

its a shame its not a big deal in Slovenia, it is a lot of fun.

Thank you for the kind words of encouragement.. This week has been a big struggle with my health, and though I was getting better, last night was a bad night for me.

Sorry to hear that. :( I hope you'll be feeling better soon. Best wishes once again. Take care of yourself.

Thank you, I am trying.. its a long slow recovery this time. :/

SOOOOOOO SALLY CAN WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77