Chapter 2 : How to don't get a nervous breakdown playing Jenga under a melting sun?

in #blog7 years ago

Good Morning!! I finally found a moment to sit down and take some time to write the next episode after the Chapter 1 : When trying to start a new life can be more painful than a birth...

!

So, after preparing the kit of the dome, the foundations and the floor, all was ready for the big

Instant of Truth!!!


Is the dome going to stand up or fall apart like a giant Jenga game??!! Are the triangles going to fit nicely together? or am I going to be stuck in an impossible Tetris for days and days...?
SOOO scary moment was this one. I thought, "That's it. No money left. I can't make mistakes. All depends now on those calculations, abstracts number taken somewhere on internet... Who knows how accurate they are? Who have tried them?" No clue... If it becomes a mess, I'm not sure I am capable to adjust it, find solutions and tricks.. I'm not a carpenter at all!!

Luckily, my boyfriend was here. He might have magical solutions if everything goes wrong!?? This should have reassured me.... but it didn't. My fear to end with a useless wobbly stack of wood (and without a home) was so enormous, nothing could relax me. Building the cupola was a stressful moment for me, and for sure, for my gorgeous lover who had to share it with me, too. Upss... Sorry.

By the way...He helped me to carry the kit of triangles to the land through the mountain.

And I just found a picture that makes me laugh everytime. That's the way we carried the triangles 2 at a time, tight to our back :


20160526_192438_opt.jpg

It felt like having a kite ready to base jump from the edge of the mountain!!

decorative-2773446_640_opt.png
And here we are now, starting to put the Cupola together with the relief of a cooling down evening... Just to remind you, that was July in Andalucia...
First ring, Easy (apart that I didn't have the scheme with me that day, so we put them in the wrong sense... little detail 😊, but I was sure it was right... yeahh)



Next day we did it again from the beginning, with the full-on heat this time. The second ring was still a little bit flexible, so we could join the triangles one by one without too much difficulty...
The third one started to lock the cupola, everything became tighter, and it was no much room left to manoeuvre. When few pieces didn't match well, it became harder to correct their position. From now, even if sometimes we started to get some shade from the raising walls, we also began to enclose the heat inside the dome.
Each triangles side measured more than a meter, so meanwhile my partner held one side of the triangle, I held the other. When we thought the piece was in its right place, one would try to put some clamps to help us and the other will have the screw-driver ready to fix all together. I remember many times, from the top of the ladder, to hold a triangle in a sort of balance with my forehead till I could grab the clamps and put them in place. The heat and the exhaustion was so heavy, drops of sweat were running along our faces non-stop.

We started the fourth ring, and I was impressed by the precision of the fitting. I could see that it might not be perfect but it was Very Well I could say. And it felt so strong already!

Photo0017_opt.jpg

Our legs was tired, going up and down the ladders every few minutes and holding difficult positions up there (the next day my legs was covered with bruises). We was litteraly melting with the heat, but seeing the end coming soon...

20160711_094300_opt(1).jpg

The last ring : 5 triangles to fit! Everything was fine... till the last one!
I believe we spent 1h30 only to fit the last piece. It just wouldn't make it, the hole was smaller than the triangle. All the tiny and invisible positioning errors from the previous triangles would have built up in one pretty big difference at the last piece!
And we couldn't put this one from inside. This only piece had to be fitted from outside (so, my partner climbed the dome : proof the cupola was very strong already to take the weight without moving!), and I was inside trying to get the piece in place and holding it in the case the triangle would pass through. But in reallity, it was so not accurate, that we had to go down tens of times to cut few millimeters of the triangle's side to make it finally fit!

Halleluyah!!!!

Sort:  

Wow ! way to go and I'm glad it all worked well for you! THat is some serious business! Reminds me a bit of putting the yurt together and the cupola! A balancing act :)

It has been such a challenge for me... I have to say it wasn't fun at all.. because I was a novice, full of fear.. Now, I believe in myself. If I had to do it again, I would enjoy it a lot!

That's very sweet from you! Thanks for your support!!

Awesome. I like that much more than the barn we lived it. Probably easier to keep warm in the winter too. Thanks

Yes, if you have a good burner, no problem at all!!

Wow! I loved seeing the pictures of how you pieced the dome together, and I'm happy it didn't fall apart like jenga!

Your vision was right! And you pulled it off!

Very inspiring for people with little money and no previous experience! You are proof it can work!

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for your enthousiasm @markwhittam!
I'm amazed how strong is the dome, I couldn't expect better when the storm comes along...

The reason I do this blog is actually to inspire some people who like me have not much money, not much knowledge about building, and yes, a lot of doubt about their capacities... I want to show them that if they really want something, they can get it taking responsability of themselves, moving their ass.
I wish I had self-confidence, but whatever! now building my dome, I am building my confidence anyway. I feel empowered finally!!

Congratulations @elzheimer! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @elzheimer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78