The not so happy feet

in #blog6 years ago

I’m sure that the guy who first thought of high heels hated women so bad. He must have been repressed by his mother or by his girlfriends and he decided to take revenge by repressing our feet in these nasty shoes.

IMG_4772.JPG

photo

To start with, as you can see above, the shape of our foot has nothing to do with the shape of the shoe. It is like trying to fit a cube into a triangle hole. However since high heels are feminine and chic, we suffer the distortion in order to look cool.

You look cool but you don’t act cool. The tricky part or the real challenge of walking like a lady, has nothing to do with the height of the heel. It has to do with the shape of the shoe. You cannot be in pain and still, be able to walk.

Whenever I wear high heels it feels like an endless torture after the first hour. For one bloody hour probably the poor toes are in shock. They must be thinking This can’t be happening, she is crazy, she will realise the abnormality of the situation and she will set us free again. And they cuddle with each other scared, hoping for the big escape. But no. You keep them battered in there for hours till they faint.

Your brain has no other option but consider them dead and cut down circulation to your toes. This is the part when from unbearable pain you end up feeling nothing at all. However, this is not a normal state of feeling nothing at all as if you wear sneakers. You feel like you have no toes. Something numb and cold down there exists but with no identity anymore.

The toes’ plan worked. You get your shoe off for a while to check if your fellas turned blue and tadaaa they’re out. Once they’re out there is no turning back. They refuse to get back in this prison. The feet are swollen and a size bigger and you cannot fit that cube in this tiny triangle hole anymore.

They won, they took their revenge and you lost. Just like Cinderella, your feet turned into pumpkins and you get back home barefoot and humiliated.

And they lived happily ever after.

Sort:  

"guy who first thought of high heels"

I hope that you have at least considered the possibility that it was a woman who first thought of the idea. Think about it!

Well, in that case she must have been a short idiot!

Hahah you see? I guess she agrees with me.. Beautiful shoes, aching feet :P

It wasn't a man that chose those shoes for her, at least I don't think so. They appealed to her eye, right? Perhaps because she thought they would appeal to a man's eye, I don't know. My first thought when I saw them was "brutal", as I said to her.

It would be interesting to research the history of the most notorious of brutality to women's feet, the foot binding of China, in order to see if it was enforced by the male or female lineage of a young victim.

My guess is that it was mothers and grandmothers who did that to their daughters thinking that no man would ever marry a woman with big, ungainly feet. But the origin?

Since they hurt so bad and we still wear them, I guess it's either a masochistic thing or a way to look more appealing to ourselves or to others.. It has become a "beauty standard" and I guess that's what the case was in China as well back then..

I have read about the Chinese foot binding and I find it cruel.. You are right, mothers used to do that to their daughters.. This process was originated among upper class court dancers. Still I have no clue on who had first this idea.. Maybe an emperor :P

Greeks on the other hand didn't suffer at all foot-wise. They used to wear sandals and Cothornus (platfrom sandals). I guess that's why ancient statues have the most incredibly aligned toes :)

I guess I agree that it is a "beauty standard" just as foot binding in China was. But what I am trying to get at is that it is not necessarily a standard that was first imposed by men on women. It may have been imposed by women on themselves and each other (competing to attract the attention of male eyes?). That is at least a possibility.

And how to end the standard (if that is what we desire) should be perhaps a focus of attention. But remember, often great suffering is willingly endured to achieve "beauty" in other areas (for one example most musicians and dancers must undergo years of suffering to achieve the standard of beauty in their field).

And wasn't the European Catholic Church known for creating the "castrati" for singers in their cathedrals? How does being a castrati compare with squished toes? Favourably?

That's true and I guess it's hard to find from whom it all began.. What I see is that humans are willing to sacrifice a lot for beauty.. In greek we use the expression "no pain no gain" for beauty purposes as well (μπρος στα κάλλη τι είναι ο πόνος). That actually means a lot..

Castrati is an other cruel case.. I guess among the worst ones..

There are also the giraffe-like long neck women in Thailand, where they believe that the longer the neck, the more beautiful the woman..

After all these, I started feeling a bit better for just having to deal with high heels :P

Well I definitely didn't choose those shoes. :P

That Chinese tradition is simply disgusting I never understood it. The female human foot is so beautiful as is 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

It was definitely a woman !!! Only a woman can come up with such a cruel revenge)))
There is nothing more terrible than women's revenge)))

Oh you think so?? Maybe I should browse for some more information on that!! Whoever it was had an evil mind!!

This case definitely requires additional investigation and facts)))))))

Actually high heels and peep toes and pumps and ALL of those types of shoes hail back in the years of Renaissance!!!
King Louis XIV wore heels to impart status.

Members of high society began donning high heels, elite members ordered their heels to be made even higher to distinguish themselves from lower classes.
Authorities even began regulating the length of a high heel’s point according to social rank.

As women took to appropriating this style, the heels’ width changed in another fundamental way.
Men wore thick heels, while women wore skinny ones.

Then, when Enlightenment ideals such as science, nature, and logic took hold of many European societies, men gradually stopped wearing heels.
After the French Revolution in the late 1780s, heels, femininity, and superficiality all became intertwined.
In this way, heels became much more associated with a woman’s sense of impracticality and extravagance.

So as you can see men invented them really but we, Women got them into the shape they are today!!!!

Another invention that women have stolen from men? LOL

Hahaha yes!!!!!
Clever little devils, aren't we? And imagine all this, for the sake of Vanity !!!

I foto mou thimise anekdoto... xaxaxaxa...

Κι όμως είναι η πικρή αλήθεια! :P

The image itself it pretty funny.Like your toes are giving you the finger for all the tortures they've been through :P

hahah Exactly! And I don't blame them for that :P

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Ohh the things we have to go through to look taller and sexier. I have been in so many bathrooms handing out band aids, Vasoline and tissue (for crying), because we have been on so much pain wearing shoes that looked amazing but felt like death. I am so happy that we moved to more comfortable shoes. I now carry bigger purses and always keep a comfortable pair in it if I am forced to wear some uncomfortable shoes. Also a lot of women have back and leg problems from the unnatural angle our bodies get put in.
If we could only switch with men for a day, they would understand. Thank you sister. And by the way, it had to be a man who invented them.

Hahah same story over here!! I have literally cried because of that pain! Like you said, I always carry a second, more comfortable pair of shoes with me in the car in order to limit the time of torture as much as I can.. I guess men have to taste the feeling themselves in order to understand! :P

Yes but men will never do it because we are the stronger sex and they will never admit it. We should launch a campaign that says for every day we have to wear high heels they have to wear them for one day. I wonder what would happen then? :)

hahah That would be fun! :P

Next do a post on make up , it’s cool and all but what a lot of things for a woman to buy to apply to her face lol

Oh I plan a post on that as well! Stay tuned :P

Hahaha this was a great rant! I always wonder why women even wear heels, I (male) personally don't find them attractive on a woman (not that any woman out there is enduring the pain for me.)

btw, this would've made an epic entry to the Comedy Open Mic contest. Good entries like this one get epic upvotes and rewards, so hope you do check it out! :D

Keep being funny~

Thanks a lot!! :) You really don't find them attractive?? That's so kind of you actually :P

Thanks for letting me know about the Comedy Open Mic contest! I will have that in mind! :))

Hahaha no probs! And looking forward to your entries~ :D

I believe the million dollar question is ''Do you wear them'' ?

And the answer is "Yes I do"! Whenever "I have to" :P

I am curious to see your facial expression and body language whenever you are obligated to wear them...haha

I had the same thought: how do you know it was a man?

I love heels btw... as long as they are the right size and have a thick sole I can walk on. But nothing compares to the good old sneakers!!!!! Oh! and slippers!!!!! :P

Just don't let @reinhard-schmidt read his rant, he'd be disappointed...

I just guess so.. There is no accurate knowledge behind.. :P

You really love them?? I don't love them that much.. :/ I wear them whenever I have to.. I prefer flat shoes.. Sneakers and slippers are by far my favourite! :P Oh and Ugg boots (ugly but sooo comfortable and cosy)

I love how they look but not how they feel, that's why I wear them only on special occasions ;)

Ugg boots, yes! So comfortable but so not waterproof. I have my foot locker boots to wear everyday ;)

Ah ok the same here! :P

I agree with you, they are not that waterproof! Once, I have been drying them with the hair dryer for one hour! Since then I avoid wearing them in rainy days.. :P

Congratulations @eliakon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61