Messi the Conductor.

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20180501_062455_9.jpg


During one of my outings in Lagos recently, I stumbled on a conductor who calls himself Messi.
Okay, let me break it down so you get the gist.
I boarded this 'danfo' from Iyana Ipaja heading to Oshodi. On entering the bus, I noticed the hostility between the driver and the conductor.

The driver was busy shouting at the conductor about him coming to work late, and not calling out passengers on time(this happens a lot). The conductor wouldn't take the insults or scolding.
There is something you should know about the drivers and conductors in Lagos is that insults and curses are a way of life for them and there is no bad words they cannot use.


As the vehicle moved, the fight continued with words and the conductor too was reminding the driver that he is a footballer and that he will one day make it as a professional footballer.

The driver laughed and called him "Messi the conductor" in Yoruba language and the boy told him to bet it.
The driver simply laughed him off and called him a wretched dreamer.


I Feel Blessed!


I was enjoying myself

You see, I am a dreamer, have always been and will continually be. The scene between the driver and the conductor is one that reminds me that, we are mostly dished the sour meal when we should be handed the fresh one.

Dreaming is cool and sweet, in fact it helps you see the world in a better light and you wait just to maybe see that dream come through.
I was once "Messi, the conductor" and those days of dreaming wasn't pleasant as, I was a subject of mockery.
Do you know mockery happens to be the dreamer's meat? It is meat and wine.

By the time I got to my bus stop the driver has promised the conductor to make sure he never gets work with another driver after that day.
The Messi the conductor response made my day, "when you are not God".


Yes, no man has the right todecide how you will end up. They cannot determine the outcome of your journey and this is because they are not God. Demi-god's maybe, but not the God the gives lives.
As I alighted, I tapped the conductor and told him to take it easy so he has a great day and as he looked at me, I could genuinely see his pain and frustration and he thanked me and I smiled assuringly at him.


I related with the situation the Messi the conductor was in and wished him well so he proves the driver very wrong.
You cannot move beyond your dreams. Dreaming is what makes us pull out the stops for a better day.
Do not allow the talks of how badly placed you are stop you from moving in the direction of your goal.
You are greatness personified so live it like it is and believe nothing less.


Make the world a better place for someone today!

Sort:  

Messi fans..... :)

Inspiring write up sir @jemai. We have to keep dreaming, it is the meat actually that makes us grow. Thank you for these thoughts and Keep touching lives.

Thanks. We must never stop dreaming, opposition is the meat we must eat to grow.
Stay awesome!

Great Read! Check out my post as well.

This was motivating.
I too dream big and always try to work hard because I know that big dreams require big sacrifices.
Thanks for this piece.

Never stop dreaming and make sure to stay motivated everytime.
Stay awesome!

Thank you , your words are inspiring

Thanks and stay awesome!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Too many Messis out there, most times I wonder if there's a dream-killer out there or that if people give up too soon. I'd go with the latter as I'm optimistic ✌️

I agree with your choice as well. We must be willing to never allow dream killers kill our dreams.
Stay awesome!

@ejemai, thank you and ride on :)

Uhmmm i think there is a third option. In my opinion i think both your dreams and capabilities have to be matched for those dreams to come to reality. The realization of ones gifts should be the starting point of ones dreams. If i am a gifted painter i might not be great with music but if i choose music production then i might not reach my peak in life.

@pinklette, If you have a dream and passion for something, there is no telling how far you can go in achieving it. Some ideas look like pipedreams and later become a reality once the dreamer starts putting things in place for it to happen.

Every dream chaser is "Messi the conductor".

One thing I have learnt so far in life is that, people will not care that much about you when they don't see you carrying something that serve as a threat to them.... Smile

When your dream appear to be bigger than what they think you can achieve, naturally they gather to make life difficult for you instead of them to support your dream.
It is now your duty to gather up every stone thrown at you to build a fence round your dream. Pile up the lemon thrown at you to make for yourself a juice. Never complain of been hit by either the stone or the lemon

You don't need to explain, let your action and dedication towards your dream speak.

Running from oppositions is the same as running from your dream, face the opposition and show them what become of a man who believe in the beauty of his dream.

Thank you for the insight sir.

We have no need to run from opposition because they will always oppose our position at the top. Keep grinding and the win is sure.
Stay awesome!

Smiles...

Lagos is filled with scenes that reminds us about our reality, the truth is everyone is busy living

Lagos is a state of mind and has become that of so many of us.
Stay awesome!

Dreaming is useful only when we didn't mind the haters and when we focus on it and chase it

Dream away and pay no heed to the haters.
Stay awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12