A shift on the ambulance

in #blog6 years ago

Hey everyone, quick post from the computer at the station. My friend @janton asked if I was on duty today, and as it happens I am! I arrived at 6 AM this morning. Here is a picture I snapped on the drive in of some fog over a farm.

morning fog.png

Six hours later, and we have not received a single call. I suppose that's a good thing, since it means no one needed to call 911 (in our town anyway). But at the same time, you do kind of wish for a call to break the monotony. When that doesn't happen, you inventory the ambulance, eat breakfast, watch some TV, chat with your partners, and then post to Steemit! We can hear our dispatcher on the radio talking with other towns in the region. There is a fair amount of activity today, just not in our zone. A couple more interesting calls that I've heard come in: one for an unresponsive person in the drivers seat of a car on the side of the road. Another for an unconscious person after a pretty far fall. When we heard that come in my partner said "I wouldn't want to be conscious either!" EMT's tend to have a morbid sense of humor like that.

In case your curious about what the station looks like, here is a picture I took from the chair I am writing in. This is the "command center" room of the building, with the radios, computers, and the call board.

command room.png

Here's the kitchen we have in the building. Nicely equipped for anything you'd need. We took the truck to a diner to pickup some breakfast, but you could cook or prepare food here if you wanted. The all-important coffee pot lives here too.

kitchen.png

Here is the break room. The couches are comfy and the TV has cable. Good place to relax or nap.

crew room.png

And here is the view from the garage looking out into the driveway. From the time a call comes it, it'll take us no more than 2 minutes to get into the ambulance and out this door and on our way.

garage.png

That's all for now - there is more to the building but I need to save that for another slow day. It is beautiful outside! Enjoying the weather before it heats up. Even New England can get hot! Hope you all are enjoying the weekend wherever you happen to be.

P.S., as I was wrapping this post up, another ambulance called in over the radio to report they were "back in the saddle" after clearing a scene. Everyone here groaned and rolled their eyes. Don't be cheeky on the radio.

P.P.S., as I was doing some editing and formatting, we finally got a call! It wasn't too exciting, just someone who had a scare with a toxic substance. They are probably going to be fine, but we transported them for monitoring and evaluation anyway.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Very cool insight into a day in the life! I'm sure it gets boring when there are no calls, so i can imagine how hard it is to say you wouldn't mind a call lol I've had the unfortunate experience to be in the back of an ambulance going down a windy mountain road that was unpaved. Let's just say I couldn't feel anything and they made sure of that haha

Wow. That site is so much more spacey than the one where I'm having my ambulance internship. And that look into nature ... huge! I'm pretty jealous!
Zero event shifts suck.

Yeah my wife saw the pictures and was like “that’s way nicer than I pictured!”

The view is great but the smell of manure really hits you 😂

Everyone has to deal with some BS at work.

🤣 you are two for two! Literally laughed out loud at that one.

Very insightful! Funny that I see this post as I have been contemplating life and what it is I wish to do, bla bla bla lol! I currently work in a nursing home and know that I want to be in the medical profession, and was just talking about the emergency services! How's that for coincidence! Lovely views and totally get the sense of humour lol! :)

Cool coincidence! And for my part, I have also been contemplating much of the exact same things you are (assuming I translated bla bla bla correctly). I still haven't figured out "what I want to be when I grow up", but volunteering as an EMT is helping me to get there! I wrote about it on here earlier, you might enjoy that piece as well.

howdy there @dollarsandsense! I love this post, it is so educational to see what it's like where you work, the office and lounge, the view! lol, the view into town! what size is that town anyway, it's like Mayberry or something?
I think if you did a post everyday about work and what's going on that would be interesting to alot of people, especially the strange or unusual cases that you have, although you probably don't call them cases.
great job sir!

Cool! Thanks for the "look inside." It does remind me still a little bit of the old T.V. Show from the 70s I loved so much..."Johnny Gage" and "Roy DeSoto"...in "Emergency." Ever seen re-runs of it?

"D5W with ringers lactate...Hang that now." (Is that a real thing?)

Can’t say I’ve seen it or heard any of those terms. My favorite term is “ETOH”... means a drunk person 😆

That's what they say every time they start an I.V....lol....I never knew if it was legit, or just made up nonsense.

Oh OK. I don’t think so anymore. Also, I.V.s can only be done by a paramedic, not an EMT. As a rule of thumb I can’t do anything that breaks the skin.

How much schooling/experience on top of what you have would it take to be a paramedic? Would it be a lot more bread?

Yeah that’s the crazy thing. You can get your EMT cert going to class part time for 3 months, or full time for one month. A paramedic course generally takes two years, basically an Associates Degree at a community college. You do make a good bit more money, though. Around here a full time EMT is probably $30k a year, paramedic is $40-50k, depending on agency and experience.

Very interesting. Thanks for that explanation. Any thought of going for your paramedic's?

I have thought about it. The course closest to me requires more time as an EMT first (I have not been doing it that long). We’ll see what the future holds

What does ETOH stand for....?

Oh...lol...OK.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64993.01
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38