The Stark Difference Between Success and Mediocrity

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


The Starks | Image Source: We Know Awesome - Unknown

No, we're not gonna talk about Iron Man nor Game of Thrones characters (however awesome those fictional personas may be). We're going to talk about the big difference between being a successful Steemian and a mediocre one today

Let Me Tell You My Story

I was introduced to this platform by my former boss @dreamiely. It happened when she shared a post in Facebook about Bitcoin. I was already a Bitcoin enthusiast by that time and have been earning constantly for months by using Bitcoin faucets, answering surveys, playing games, etc. I added a comment on her post saying that it seems that BTC is going up so it's best to hold it for good (BTC was less than $1000 by that time - I should've held my BTCs!!!) - she acknowledged my comment and she shared her personal knowledge in the world of cryptocurrency via Messenger.

She has already been investing a lot (at least to my perspective) into multiple ICOs (Intiial Coin Offerings) and has been getting good gains for it. I was pretty amazed (no wonder she was my boss).

Then, she also introduced Steem to be later on. She explained how the cryptocurrency works in a nutshell. I didn't need too much explanation for it. She got me when she mentioned money. Haha.

Here's the first point:

Patience equates to success. Doing the opposite is mediocrity.

I waited around 10 days for my account to be approved. I didn't question the process - I figured there was a queue and creating accounts may be limited. It does say BETA on the site itself. So, I waited - patiently - pre-occupying myself with other works. Diverting my attention away from the wallets and posts I'm seeing that earns more than I do (because I don't have an account yet!).


Waiting for my turn | Image Source: Drunktiki

Then, I got the email (at last!) saying that my registration has been approved and they're giving me my password. So, I started my oh so amazing journey as a Steemian! Not!

Second point:

Persistence and perseverance should eventually give you success. Giving up, obviously, doesn't.


Persevere even when you're at the limit. | Image Source: Animages

I didn't earn anything in the first few days. I made a wonderful tutorial for setting up VPN on mobile. I posted my best artworks - tons of them. There are realistic portraits & amazing drawings. The highest I got was $0.00. What an over-achiever, I say!

Turns out there are 7 days (minus 12 hours) for posts to earn. So I did get earning! Hello dollars, fractions of it. Which is actually good - better than the likes I'm getting in Facebook - cause that's not worth anything of monetary value (not even real recognition most of the time). But is this what I want, cents? Of course not. So I didn’t stop.
I did Steemit more than 12 hrs a day – at home and in the office. Trying to find my place and stuff like that – and within my first month I was able to get a decent amount of cash (more than a minimum wage earner’s monthly compensation) all because of how I contributed into the community. It seems to get something out of Steemit you need put a lot into it as well.

Third point:

Successful people work in packs. Being a lone wolves isn't the way to do it.


A fearsome Wolf Pack to be with. | Image Source: Pinterest

Lone wolves also die of mediocrity (unless they're extremely rich - then they only die of loneliness). I was only able to earn here because I had friends that helped me out.

Shout out to @dreamiely for the support and for introducing me to @minnowsupport head by @aggroed where I met good friends and family. Without them I'm just a lone wolf with no one as audience.

Engagement is the key - if you do not engage other Steemians you won't get their attention. Without their attention you won't get support (resteems and upvotes). There are lots of communities inside Steemit that will really help you grow. I've learned how to grow my circle organically. That's why I'm part of multiple families, communities, and groups. Right now I'm with @steemph, @curie, & @bayanihan. If I had more available time in my hands I will strive for more.

Fourth Point:

Organic growth is important for success. Manipulation and begging don't go far.

Don't be a GMO, @bearone doesn't like those. Be organic. Be yourself. As Terry @surpassinggoogle said "be the best YOU".


Evolution is Growth! | Image Source: FungYung

So, what does it mean to be organic? Simply, do everything else by heart - naturally. If you're going to post then post knowledgeably . If you're going to comment - do it sincerely. If you're going to resteem - do it efficiently. There are things you need to avoid - like manipulating people and begging. Those 2 are nasty things. Manipulating people into believing your flowerful but fake words. Begging for upvotes and resteems or follows - that's spam my friend.

Organic means true and honest. Organic means quality and of high value. That's what Steemians need to strive for.

Fifth Point:

Successful people make quality posts. Mediocre ones get zeroes.

Have you seen what the whales post? Have you gone through the trending page recently. In general, they are getting a lot - not just because they have the wallet and the support - they provide value and they post only those of high quality (most of them). Not all their posts are of value? Think of compound interest - they have built their accounts overtime - starting from scratch and they had time to grow. I'm sure they didn't earn a lot when they started. Why are they earning a lot now?


Quote | Image Source: Pinterest

It's a fair exchange, much like Alchemy rules (from Full Metal Alchemist lol). Provide quality and get rewarded for it.

Learn Quality with Curation:

As a curator in @curie I've been hunting posts of high value only and I've been training myself to know what are the highest standards for curation so that I can apply it on my own posts. As a @bayanihan curator, I learn how to sort out posts that didn't contain enough effort and possibly plagiarized before I upvote and resteem it - and I avoid providing the same quality on my own posts.

Learn Quality through Accepting Criticism

When you make a post, you will surely get tons of good comments from people saying they appreciate your work and have enjoyed reading your blog, etc. There are some though that will correct you and provide negative input on your writings - which proves very helpful especially if it's constructive and properly worded and is not offensive. If ever you came across someone who gave you suggestions of 'dos' and 'don'ts', tell them you appreciate it, tell them thank you for helping your grow.

Learn Quality through Reading

Read other Steemit posts: the whales', the big guy's, the communities', the little guys' - so long as it's of good quality - read it. Don't limit yourself on searching in the website alone - go outside - see the whole world wide web - ideas are running amock everywhere. All you have to do is catch them. Go outside the online space - grab a book, a magazine, a newspaper, even a comicbook or a manga. Reading will help expand your vocabulary and understanding. This will improve lots of aspects of your blogging and it helps in the long run.

Learn Quality by Being Honest

Never plagiarize. Never do copy-paste post - I don't care if it's not detected by @cheetah or if @originalworks didn't find your reference/source. No matter how much you rephrase other people's ideas and words - it's still their brainchild - their work, you're still plagiarizing them. Make your own mind bleed with thoughts and use them to paint things in your articles. You have a mind superior of others however you look at it - use it wisely. Be honest about it. Never steal. It's worthy of a Steemit death (see reputation zero).

Learn Quality by Learning from Your Mistakes

None of us are perfect - not even good, to begin with. We all had a starting point and we all made mistakes. It doesn't matter. See your mistakes as stepping stones of learning and use them to your advantage. Deal with them, not just shrug them. If you need to improve on something, try making it first, see where you went wrong - get good advise for it - then make the best out of it.

Sixth Point:

Enjoy your time here even if you're successful or not. Just don't settle for mediocrity.


Image Source: Giphy

Always enjoy your time here - making posts, making friends, making money. Do not look at your wallets first. I think that's the hierarchy you need to follow: Your Posts > Friends/Community > Earnings/Money. As long as you make sure you do good on your posts, you will always get support from your friends, followers and the community; the rewards will follow naturally.


I hope you learned something from what I wrote.

All images used above are properly sourced. All ideas and text parts are originals of mine. Thanks for reading!


Maraming Salamat!

Thank you so much!

3333333333.jpg

Sort:  

You hit those important points that a Steemian will need to gain success in this platform. If you have been quite sometime in Steemit, you will be aware that bots are allowed so, it can imply that it is not that strict on here. But it is a mortal sin here to "plagiarized" and reputation is valuable. Having that in mind, you should really know the importance of putting references on your posts if it is not solely your idea, whether it is ideas or images.

So true that through reading high quality post, you can earn how to provide your readers a high quality post as well. It is a kind of being "envy" which is healthy cause you would want to be that kind of writer as well and therefore will strive to attain it. As @surpassinggoogle mentioned in his post, "Create Something That Nations Of The World Seek To Copy/Paste".

Another point that I think could help a Steemian attain success is by "Reciprocating" to others who upvoted, resteemed and/or commented your posts. It will be better if there is a give and take relationship and not just "take and take" specially for those who are really helping you reach your goals in Steemit. More especially if you are already on "top" and your supporters were already looking up to you. Might not be in the form of "upvote for upvote or resteem for resteem" but through sharing your knowledge or providing useful tips/ideas on the comments to help them grow.

Also by sharing your talents could make you successful in Steemit. Just by simply browsing the contests posts, you will clearly know how artists and talented writers were valued on this platform. Just be original and you will later be recognized with all your honesty and hard work. Offering free services as well with your talent like free footers from @bearone could give you the sense of having something achieved already in this platform. Also by sharing what you have learned already in Steemit to your fellow Steemians to attain success can help you get "real" followers/supporters. :)

Agree on this- Reciprocating, because after all, a healthy community does give and take. And this is what steemit is, a healthy community.

Thanks sa agree. :D
Yes, give and take para healthy relationship. :)

Awesome inputs there @zararina. Thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts to us.

Thanks for sharing as well and for the motivation. :)

Walang anuman!

Loading...


One thing i learn in our community. Always treasure the one that helped you and do what you learn from them to others, dahil isa ako sa natulungan ng community na ito gagawin ko ang best ko para makatulong hindi man sa mga whale na sa group kundi sa mga bagong pausbong at uusbong palang. since umuuhay palang ang unang dahon ko marami ang tumulong saken sa community na ito. I'm a person that treasure camaraderie. we must appreciate every single drop of help we receive from others.

We must always look our self and guard this.

  1. our attitude.
    our attitude is the mirror of our souls and true being. kahit hindi tayo mabait na tao. dapat lagi tayong nakabantay sa ating attitude. para sakin totoo ang kasabihang first impression last. kaya mag iwan ka lagi ng magandang impression sa bawat na eencounter na tao. dito man sa steemit or sa labas.
  2. belief.
    we have our own beliefs. support one another on what they believe. and give them advise if you think that what they believe will harm them lalo na sa mga bago pang mga minnows na lalabas tulad ko.
  3. Courage. we must be courageous but dont think na dun nayun nag tatapos. we must help other to be courageous too by showing our courage to them.
    show them good works and they will follow you. always support minnow for oneday if you incourage them, and they will be successful one day. they will be a help for you too.

Clap clap clap! Those are very meaningful words Sir @ruah. I appreciate you taking the time to comment. I'm sure you can make a post out of your comment to - try expounding it a bit more (maybe do a full filipino then an english translation I'm sure @surpassinggoogle will notice this, yo terry tagging you haha).

magandang idea nga sir @deveerei. try ko mas gawin pa syang encouraging then i po post. ko :) thanks sa idea.

Walang anuman!

I think i can say that i'm one of those steemians who are really grateful esp to @deveerei and @dreamiely. Guys you are so welcoming thank you sa mga tips and advices niyo. 🙌🙌🙌

Thank you. Nakakataba ng puso!

Awww, you are too sweet @ishteldalosa!

Let us build a web of happy-helping-hands and help out those new in the platform now :)

Yes @deveerei I think all those who read this will learn from what you just wrote. Cheers! 🍻 Resteemed. So others can read this!❤

Thank you so much I really appreciate that. :)

Agree! This is a very good platform. walang katulad. tyaga lang. be creative and original. it will be fruitful afterwards. and grabe ang epekto sa akin honestly. 2 days na akong maikli lang tulog thinking of the next post to create hahahahahahaha! sa mga newbies like me, "what doesn't kill will make you strongerer" hahahaha

Agree on that too. Actually when I started wala halos tulog talagang sobrang focus dito - haha up till now the same lang wala pa ring tulog - need kumayod.

either newbie or pioneers testify for platform of being worth it of our time.

Yes, I see lots of posts like this so I thought, why not post my own.

Patience is a virtue. I have been building my self in steemit quite a while and wondered how to gain the attention of people, later I realized I should just be ‘Me’. Do not pretend to be anyone just to gain anything. It’s just not right. And it will not feel good. Effort: I have been struggling to manage my time because Im currently doing my thesis, but even though I don’t post a lot, reading and engaging here will be a great practice to widen our pool of knowledge. And stumbling upon this post, I just simply appreciate it. There are people out there who needs this kind of motivation. Thank you for sharing your wisdom with us. :)

That's good to hear - focus on your studies. Take time to know @jassennessaj and @themanualbot - bot are students as well. I think they're also doing their thesis now same as you and they've been really busy with community efforts yet they're doing amazing in the platform, maybe they can give you advice on what to do. Thanks for reading and for commenting!

Fantastic work Thank you :)

Thanks and welcome.

Yes, learned from your post. Thanks for sharing.
Upvoted.
Joe
@joe.nobel
fantasy, science fiction, erotica on my blog.

Thanks as well for commenting.

I actually dropped by thinking to add some insights but your post @deveerei, coupled with all the amazingly well-thought of comments, captured it all! Super happy to see you sparkle in the platform Dev :)

Thank you so much @dreamiely! I need you to comment on the image choices too haha - sorry I can't stray away from anime-cartoon-drawings-art. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55