Two Beers I've Never Tried Before - Scotch CTS & Achel Trappist

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20190105_160634722.jpg


It's been a while since I've done one of these beer reviews, but since it's Saturday, I thought it was the right time to get a little bit tipsy.

This first beer is called Scotch CTS and it's a dark Scottish Ale with a distinct black color. When I saw this beer in the store, it appealed to me because it came in a 25cl bottle and looked a little bit like a stout.

Well, it definitely wasn't at all like a stout. I must admit that when I first opened it, the smell of pure alcohol put me off just a little bit. After my first taste, my fears were confirmed, it didn't have any real flavour, it also tasted as if I was drinking pure alcohol. Not a really nice feeling, let me tell you that.

I've read some reviews on this beer and people mentioned they could taste malt & coffee, but I didn't get that at all. Certainly not when you compare it to a good stout. At 7.2% ABV, it was quite heavy, but I didn't have to read the label to know that, the smell alone warned me that this beer was quite heavy.

I know that I'm probably not going to try this particular beer again!

IMG_20190105_163800367.jpg

The Achel Trappist is pretty well known here in Belgium, as it is a famous Trappist Beer. I'm pretty embarrassed to say that I haven't tried this beer before, embarrassed because my fellow Belgians here on Steemit might find it a bit weird...

This one I really liked actually, though it has to be said that up until now, I've liked pretty much all Trappist beers. I didn't get too much of an alcohol flavour in this one, it was quite fruity, while still being bitter enough for me to enjoy it. I don't like overly sweet beers.

The Achel Trappist comes in at 8% ABV, so it's heavier than the Scotch CTS, but without the alcoholic taste. These Trappist monks really know what they're doing, they always manage to create very balanced beers.

Overall a very nice beer that's quite refreshing, not too bitter nor too sweet. Right up my alley and will definitely try it again!

Let me know what your favourite beers are!


Sort:  

Wow, that is pretty interesting about the first one. Disappointing too. It is always a little sad when you spend the money on a beer just to find out that you don't like it. In the states the stores here have started to do a "make your own six pack" type thing so you don't have to get all the same type or brand. It is a really nice change. Sadly a lot of the beers that I like you probably can't get over there. If I lived in Europe though, I'd probably have a list for you as long as your arm!

The first one sounds lousy, more akin the Vodka! @meesterboom does some hilarious video reviews of beer... you should look him up :)

Yeah it really was bad! Oh cool, I'll definitely check him out :)

I have two coming tonight!

Looking forward to it! Your name almost sounds Dutch, but after watching your Chocolate Stout video, I reckon you're either Irish or Scottish? (i'm bad with accents)

Btw, that beer looked pretty good :)

Scottish as they come, they do sound quite similar! I had the (mid)fortune to choose a username that is Dutch. It has always caused much confusion :0)

I can imagine, it translates as mastertree
Surprised no-one has claimed @mastertree yet as some sort of parody account, since you've been here pretty long :)

Hehe, that would be quite funny if they did. Maybe there is no-one with a good enough sense of humour, hehe. :0)

I just opened a bottle of Russian stout the other day... I can't drink it... it's terrible! It's the same thing, the stench of high alcohol I think... however, it does make for good stews!

Oh I've had some Russian Imperial Stout a couple of months ago. Didn't like that stuff either, indeed smelled like alcohol. The Irish stouts are a lot better imo. I like the ones that are around 4 to 5% abv.

Posted using Partiko Android

The Irish ones are great... although, if I have to pick something Irish, I usually go for the red ale!

Daar gaan we weer met dat "Duvel" glas. Hahaha
Persoonlijk heb ik liever de Achel donker...

Yup, het enige fatsoenlijk bierglas dat ik in huis heb :P
Moet me misschien toch eens een ander setje aanschaffen :D

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @daan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.894 which ranks you at #4154 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 29 places in the last three days (old rank 4125).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 190 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That Trappist Achel looks delicious! Pretty strong though. I generally prefer dark stouts like Guinness. Though a couple of weeks ago I tried some very nice Franziskaner Hefe Weissbier.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50