Blog Update #3: Striving For Even Higher Quality Content

in #blog6 years ago

Hey, folks.

First of all, thanks to all of you that read my blog regularly. @Jusipassetti, @Spozone, @Byn, @TraciYork, @Abhinavmendhe, @Matbaker, @WilliamWest, @Raymondspeaks, @Goldendawne, @Jaynie... So many of you! I know that I am missing some, so my apologies in advance. I'll be sure to recognize you in the comments.

I have posted once a day for the last 30 days. I wanted to prove to myself that I could produce some form of daily content, and it has been a success. The Daily Meditation series has been well-received, and I am happy with much of what I wrote.

However, it's time to change it up a bit.

Here's what I am thinking:

  1. The "Daily Meditation" Series Becomes The "Meditation" Series: Publishing everyday has been great, and I love this series. But when I publish everyday, these meditations are the only thing I have time to write. By making this a regular, but not daily series, I will be able to do more on Steemit and provide better content.
  2. Write Higher Quality Long Form Content: My writing skills need work, and writing long form content is the solution. I want to craft some high quality posts that I don't have to spit out in 24 hours or less. As an inexperienced writer, it's not realistic to produce something worth reading everyday.
  3. Spend More Time On Other Steemian's Blogs: When I was producing content everyday, I was paying less attention to my Steemit friends' content. Without the pressure of posting every day, I can interact more with other community members and readers like you.

While there won't be a post here everyday (for now), I am aiming to make what is here better. So, if you liked what I've done so far, I hope that this new approach will be even more rewarding for you. And you know what? If I miss posting daily, we'll go right back to doing that.

Feel free to let me know your thoughts. If you disagree with this approach, I want to know why. If you think it's a good idea, I'd also love to hear about that. I want to please the people that already read my work regularly, while improving my writing and bringing more Steemians into my following. I think this approach is best for now, but I am open to feedback.

TL;DR = Shit is about to get epic af.

All the best,

@ChrisMcCron

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me!

Or read more...

Most Of Your Good Luck Goes Unnoticed

Releasing Your Stranglehold On Life

Do You Deserve It?

The Human Predicament, Explained In Under 5 Minutes

Feelings Don't Come With Instructions

Why We Should Stop Saying "Pressure Creates Diamonds"

Connect with me on Twitter!

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit

Sort:  

I think it is worth experimenting with to find your groove, so to speak. My opinion is... well, first, long form writing is great, but I think that it can get to be too much for most people's attention span.

I had a blogger that I was following who wrote amazing content, but he wrote SO much in one post that I seriously just couldn't absorb it all in one read... and then I found myself forgetting to go visit his blog, because I wasn't seeing him regularly.

I think that long form topics/coverage is good, BUT (and I could be WAY off) I think shorter is better in general (this from someone who writes really freaking long posts sometimes, too!) I think that depending on what you're writing about, if its pretty heavy material, or seriously thought provoking (as you tend to be!) then maybe break it up if you can. Like, "5 Things I've Done to Change the Direction of my Life" then write your intro, the reason you're writing on this topic, then maybe even a list of the things you did... ending with, "Tomorrow I'll tell you HOW and WHY I did step #1" or whatever.

But if that's not the type of content you're talking about, then ignore me.

I love your writing style and your wit, how you write such deep things with such a down to earth manner, I always feel like we're sitting across the table from each other talking over coffee. That's hard to find, so regardless, I'll be here reading!

@byn

Hey! This is terrific feedback. I am already really glad that I made this post and that I asked for your opinion.

I am definitely hearing from a couple people that "longer doesn't equal better" and I agree. I think for my own development in writing, I need to be able to do long-form. I think I have books in me, so I need to experiment a bit with that.

Truth be told, I don't have enough time to read long-ass posts either!

I want to keep some of my content short and pithy. I may even start posting more personal things, like just a pic of my gf and I, something interesting I did, etc. that is more like "micro-content" to check in with.

I think I really need to vary the length to see what happens.

Honestly, thank you so much for the feedback. I am going to reread this comment from time-to-time to keep my perspective aligned.

I think breaking things up into a series of posts is a good idea. More people will read it and because you are posting it multiple times more people are likely to see it. I wouldn't be surprised if you also see better rewards as people keep coming back to up-vote the next post.

I think we are in similar positions, you and I. Both of us can write (I am not comparing us directly, you understand, so don't read too much into that!), and both of us (like a lot of people) want to build an audience (and let's be honest, earn a bit of cash).

Did I use enough brackets in that paragraph?

Your meditation series has been great, but the problem I have with developing a "niche" is that it might be hard to keep it interesting. Of course, the other side of that coin is that without one, how do you build an audience?

And the longer blogs...I know how frustrating it is to write something and see it sink without a trace. It's not a quality issue (I am not a talented writer, but I think I am good enough to make it work somewhere like this), but a numbers one. How many blogs are published every minute?

And I think it will be even worse to see something make little impact if you have invested hours and hours into it. And have people got the patience to read a longer piece?

If it is something that you want to do for yourself, then great, but you will have to be happy that it might not make much impact on a site like this.

Hey, maybe it will! What do I know, really?

Hey , @Matbaker! I was hoping I'd see you show up here today.

I hear you about long form content getting lost in the bustle here on Steemit. My plan is to write those articles, but also feature them on Medium or my personal website. That way, if they don't pay off on Steemit, I have them as a piece of a growing writing portfolio. But yeah... I expect to put 8 hours into posts on here that make $1 lol... Such is life!

I think now is the time to experiment with my writing and see what will happen.

Truth be told, those meditations all have a story behind them. They're intellectually stimulating pieces, but how did I learn that nugget of wisdom? There is usually a huge story behind it that I have never shared.

My new stuff needs to be more vulnerable and authentic. That much I know.

Thank you so much for your feedback. It means a lot to me!

People like us need to lean on each other, I think.

You might come up against problems with that Cheetah fella if you use the work elsewhere. I am not sure that you will - it might be worth speaking with someone more clued up than me...

Agreed! Very happy to have you in my corner and vise versa.

Yeah. I'll look into that. Usually I have the same @ChrisMcCron handle, so I believe that most people would figure it out. Also, I own the domain ChrisMcCron.com.

Cheetah is just a bot right? There is no review process?

I refer you to my previous suggestion about speaking with someone who knows more than me!

Hey. @spozone will miss the daily meditation series and I agree with @matbaker reply in that you have already kind of found a nice niche. I have found you daily posting refreshing, thoughtful, and inspirational. I understand you wanting to move on and try new things and I think you should so perhaps you're making the right move.. Maybe a Monday Wednesday Friday motivational blog... I'm anxious to read some other work from you tho but not sure about long postings. I find myself drifting or disengaging longer post because most of them can't hold my attention. Some of your daily post as short as they were contained enough substance to be a book and that's Frikin awesome. Keep up the good work. You'll have my support in whatever you choose. I was hoping to see you take on @traciyork 's photoflashfiction challenge to see what might come out of that brain of yours by glancing at a picture and writing a song. Have a blessed day my friend.

Hey @Spozone!

So glad that you showed up here. I was really hoping to hear from you.

The Daily Meditation series will continue... But just not daily for now. I really like writing those posts, but I need to use some of my time for other forms of writing... And potentially podcasting and the like!

I appreciate all your kind words about my writing. I will be sure to continue to create rewarding content that you can appreciate.

You have a wonderful day!!!

No... You have a wonderful day!!!!
I'm singing the Hi Ho song and heading off to work already.... It's Friday and payday so it's sure to be a good day. Blessings my friend.

Another thing I've noticed about Steemit. It seems if you are not actively posting daily content you get forgotten. This last week was supper busy at work and I was simply to tired to do much in the way of blogging. Now I feel like I'm going to have to start over. This whole thing is bizarre.

thank you for the mention! And I try and stop by your posts as much as I can. You will have a post that provokes thought and I always like to comment.

I LOVE commenting, as you know, and will always support you, and other steemians who post quality content!

Absolutely! I appreciate people that stop by from time-to-time. It makes me happiest when I see people returning.

I feel bad, because I know the list up there is incomplete, but I hope the rest of the familiar faces stop by this post today!

Thanks for your continued support. My intention is to make my content better and better all the time. I need to experiment for a bit to see what that looks like.

Have a wonderful day!

I think if we tried to thank every person in a post... it could possibly be the longest list ever!

And yes, I have certain steemians I look forward to hos or her posts every day and week. I make my rounds as much as I can- some days get a little CRAZY.. but I just take another sip of coffee and keep on going!

I feel you entirely lol there is such a surplus of content these days that its hard to find the time to read everything that we want to read.

I suppose it's a good problem to have ;)

best tldr I've read on steemit. It sounds like you're moving forward with thoughtful consideration—I'm looking forward to what comes from it!

Thanks, Chris! I just realized I didn't throw your name up there in the post. Since you are my IRL friend, I wasn't even thinking about it lol I know you support me in everything I do, so it went without saying.

Can't wait to get together this Sunday to do some improv!

Ah thanks for the mention and all the best with your future plans. I know they'll be awesome 😀 and I'm looking forward to reading them.

Hey! I am so glad you saw today's post, @Jusipassetti! I know you are one of my biggest supporters, so I wanted you to see what was changing.

I appreciate your support so much that I've mentioned you multiple times to my girlfriend hahaha I've said "It's great! She is one of my first fans!" I always smile when I see that you've left me a comment.

Have a great day!

Wow, congrats on an awesome streak!

I think you should post on a schedule that makes you happy. I didn't realize how burned out I was posting on my old WP schedule (ex, saving all my photos to post on Foto Fridays), until I threw it out the window when I got to Steemit. I think the minute posting becomes a chore, it's hard to keep that vibe out of your writing.

Oh, and your TL;DR totally made me lawl!

Thank you!

I think I could have kept going, but I didn't think it was the best long-term play. I think that my writing (and get ready to cringe at what sounds like a brag, because it might be one) is something that can go beyond Steemit, so I didn't want to sell myself short by "posting just to post". I need to chisel time out of my schedule to really learn about writing and the type of content that I do best at. I still want to be here every day, but I may hold my posts back a bit longer to polish. Appreciate the feedback!

Lol glad you liked the TL;DR. It's obviously what I meant ;)

And now that I was able to replenish my tipu reserve... tip!

O0o0o thank you. What is Tipu? Is it magical?

Wicked magical! You give @tipu some loose change (min 0.1SBD) to hold on to, and any time you yell, T1p! (with an i instead of the 1 - I love ya, but my wallet is full of dust at the moment - LOL), he comes running over and does the gratuity thing for you. And you don't even have to say Abracadabra!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@tipu/tipu-quick-guide

Yep, quality over quantity any day of the week.

And who says you shouldn't brag? 😊

Definitely get on some other Steemit platforms! Soon there will be replacements for pretty much every major social media website out there, all linked to this beautiful thing we call Steemit.

The amount of effort and "Design" you put into your Posts is unbelievable.

Thank you! Steemit isn't always easy on the eyes, so I knew I needed some decent formatting.

Personally, I think I should comment more.
I stuck on some other things lately, or I organize something and then I run out of VP, so I opt out of commenting because who wants me running lose with no cash to put on the table ... the truth is that many people I encounter have loads of upvotes but limited audience that actually reads and engages, so why not...

Getting out there and engaging is important. It just feels good to be meaningfully contributing to a project like Steemit.

Thanks for all of your support @aschatria!

No problem, have a wonderful day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27